214506 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Terre Haute, Indiana (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.36 miles N
15.84 miles NE
17.15 miles SW
17.15 miles SW
22.68 miles NE
23.82 miles SE
25.46 miles S
34.51 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Sheldon Swope Art Museum
0.18 miles SE
Fowler Park Pioneer Log
0.31 miles SW
Runyan'S Black Angus
0.45 miles SW
Indiana State University
0.65 miles SE
Farrington House
0.73 miles S
The Beaver House
1.99 miles SE
Saint Mary-Of-The-Woods
2.18 miles NE
Rea Park
2.78 miles S
Sams Club 4350 S Us Hwy 41 (Located To Block)
3.24 miles S
Rose-Hulman Institute Of
3.41 miles E
Pino'S Il Sonetto
3.53 miles S
Super Wal-Mart
5555 S Us Hwy 41
4.00 miles S
Cancun Mexican Restaurant
4.68 miles S
Hulman Links Golf Course
5.09 miles E
Hulman Regional Airport
5.65 miles E
Welcome Center
I-70 Mm2
6.04 miles SW
Wal-Mart
1795 E State Rd 163
14.45 miles NW
Indiana
Terre Haute
Most Recently Reviewed
Hawthorn County Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-17 02:10:43
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Terre Haute, Indiana
Camp Information
Sites
67
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
This park is a hidden gem. It's run by the Vigo County Park department, so it's run like a park and not a campground. It has 53 sites for RVs and almost all of them are on the lake; you can fish from your campsite. All sites are in trees and shade. Many sites would be difficult in a large motor home, but we had no issues. Park does not take credit cards at this time, we had to find a ATM to pay with cash. The park is locked after 10 PM; they close the gate. They do have someone at the gatehouse if you have a emergency or will returning late. The park is quiet and a great place to relax. The only noise issue is the occasional train, which is about 3/4 of a mile away. The park also has a Pioneer Village, with a working mill and many log homes and buildings and a covered bridge. They are only open to the public on the 3rd weekend of the month. Restrooms are newer and modern and clean. We plan on returning in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
83
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   6   6   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
This is a county park with a lot of beautiful trees. Unfortunately the paved roads are very narrow with sharp turns. We drive a 34 foot motorhome and pull a car behind us. While trying to find a spot we had to unhook our car from the tow dolly to navigate a turn. When we called to make a reservation we asked if they had full hookup (water, electric and sewer). When we got there we were told no sewer, just a dump site. We decided to deal with it. We ended up not staying as the electric and water hook ups were about 100 feet apart and we could hook up to one but not the other. For us it was a very poor layout. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$49
We stayed three nights. Very small spaces, had to go out and move my truck for they could come in with a motor home. Really not a place to park tow truck. Lots are really close together a picnic table can fit in between. Could never get cable to work. WIFI worked for me but not wife's computer. Couldn't put dish up a lot of trees, trees not bad really. The people where nice that checked us, when they finally got to the desk, we arrived at three pm. It took for ever to get checked in. If I was to stay another three nights I'D find another place, I would stay one night if I had to. 1st KOA I stayed in and they do want to nickel and dime you. My guests drove in, picked us up and the owner didn't say any thing, but the owner didn't see it, either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
We were just overnighting, and always prefer a state/county/local park to a commercial one. Well, until now. Very friendly (but rather too chatty) host apologized for the state of some of the campsites when we got here. Then he proceeded to place us (in an otherwise empty park) smack-dab in the middle of a 3-RV party group. Our site was literally inside the party lights circle. So, back we went to ask for a different site. Took that one and, after 2 tours of the very leafy campground, realized that there were a number of homeless families living here. So, that's what he was referring to when we checked in. We were left counting our blessings. You are not allowed to leave water hose hooked up, so fill up before you get settled. We ended up not taking a hike in the morning, and just leaving, but it did look like there were trails. But everything is very overgrown and any kind of height (over 10') will scrape the trees. Price is right, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Hawthorn County Park
Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   10   7   8   7   9   10   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
We stayed at this KOA for one night. A very nice clean campground with all the amenities, even a restaurant serving breakfast and dinner with very reasonable prices. This campground is a easy on and off from the interstate without too much road noise. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$43
What a disappointment. We had stayed here before and were looking forward to a return. The campground itself is worth a return visit if necessary, but I doubt that we will return. That said, the reason for that decision is twofold. First, the site we were assigned, and had reserved, showed on their map and computer as a 50 amp site, but was only a 30 amp. On this trip it wasn't a real concern, but health issues in warmer weather would have required 50 amps for air conditioning and medical equipment. I was met with denial about the 30 amp issue, and met with the accusation that I was wrong. The second issue was the rudeness of one of the staff when going to breakfast at the on-site restaurant. Where a simple explanation of the health code not allowing you to bring the cup of coffee into their dining room would have sufficed, we were rudely told that we could not do it, and belittled for trying it. Simple people skills would have dictated a different approach. That employee will assure that, unless there is no other campground within our travel limits, we won't return. That's a shame, because of it's convenience, but that treatment makes us not willing to return. I would have rated the campground as a 7 or 8 had these issues not occurred. but I believe, under the circumstances, a 5 is generous. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$39
Absolutely one of the best KOA's we have visited. We especially enjoyed the chocolate chip cookies we were given at check-in. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Close to fuel/shopping/Walmart. Great place to winter camp. Very scenic with a dusting of snow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Terre Haute KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com