224095 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Altoona, Iowa (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.00 miles SW
8.15 miles SW
11.88 miles E
12.62 miles NW
13.59 miles SE
15.54 miles SW
16.34 miles NW
17.57 miles NW
20.90 miles SW
20.94 miles SW
22.05 miles E
23.88 miles NW
26.66 miles NE
29.57 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Prairie Meadows Race Tra
1.39 miles W
Adventureland Park
1.75 miles NW
Freightliner Of Des Moines 8003972002
1.80 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
3501 8Th St
1.92 miles SW
Thomas Mitchell County Park 24 E/25 Ne
4.73 miles E
Cummins Great Plains 15 2 0
6.44 miles W
Bavarian Haus
6.78 miles W
Yellow Banks County Park 48-E/12-Ne
6.94 miles S
Super Wal-Mart
I-35 Exit 90
1002 Se National Dr
7.04 miles NW
Grand View College
7.25 miles SW
Woodside Golf Course
7.55 miles NW
Des Moines Botanical Cent
8.42 miles SW
A Taste Of Thailand
8.61 miles SW
Nacho Mammas
8.92 miles SW
Metz Continental Cuisine
8.93 miles SW
Quenelles
9.17 miles SW
Chichaqua Bottoms Greenbelt N41.7837 W -93.4132,,
9.74 miles NE
Aunt Butch'S Bistro
9.78 miles SW
Faith Baptist Bible Col
10.04 miles NW
China Wok
10.05 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
5101 Se 14Th St
10.12 miles SW
Chichaqua Bottoms Greenbelt County Park 12,,
10.14 miles NE
Drake University
10.21 miles SW
Ohana Steakhouse
10.26 miles SW
Waterfront Seafood Market
10.26 miles SW
Sams Club?I-235:3 1101 73Rd St (Located To Zip)
10.58 miles SW
Christopher'S - Des Moin
10.72 miles SW
The Mandarin
10.81 miles SW
Jesse'S Embers
10.83 miles SW
University Of Osteopathic
10.84 miles SW
Willow Creek Golf Club
11.42 miles SW
Science Center Of Iowa
11.72 miles SW
Crimmins Cattle Co
11.82 miles SW
Blank Park Zoo
12.19 miles SW
Des Moines International
12.66 miles SW
Ashton Wildwood County Park 20-Ne
14.42 miles NE
Iowa
Altoona
Most Recently Reviewed
Griff's Valley View RV Park & Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-08 11:56:45
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Altoona, Iowa
Camp Information
Sites
310
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   6   10   7   7   6   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
Large park with asphalt roads and pads. Entry to park very near to busy intersection making left turns into park hazardous. Most pads are very narrow and asphalt is cracked and uneven. Great park for pet owners, with lots of grassy areas, however, the grass is very infrequently mowed, so may be 12"-14" high. Site maintenance is severely lacking with muddy holes beside pads, little grass between some pads and very uneven pads. Lots of trees, multiple restroom/laundry sites. Was not willing to use the washing machines in the laundry as they all had a horrible odor. Motorhome owners would be well advised to unhitch the toad, then drive around and pick your own pull-through spot. Park caters to "workampers" who work next door at Adventureland, most of whom, are friendly good neighbors. Lots of families visit on the weekends for obvious reasons. Near to restaurants, grocery stores & Walmart. Casino & horse track a plus for some. From our experience, the park is a bit pricey given the maintenance issues. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
Part of the Adventureland Resort/Hotel/ Amusement Park complex. (Fun park is seasonal). RV park has all hard sites with grass "yards". Most sites have a fire ring, none have cable. Wi-Fi is LinknGo $ub$cription. Off-season and late arrivals must check in at the adjacent hotel. Geared for us to "bring the family and stay a week" but come-n-go overnighters are also welcome. Prairie Meadows Casino & Race Track is directly across the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
Nice campground, just looks and feels old. Plenty of space between sites and is situated on a large parcel of land. Amusement park is within walking distance but they do provide trolley service. Pool is nice and open late. Camp store is limited. This campground could use a fenced in pet walk area. Price is just an estimate. I don't recall what I paid. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Adventureland Campground
Camp Information
Sites
142
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   10   8   9   9   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
This is an extremely clean and well kept campground. We spent several nights here and really enjoyed our stay. Most of the sites have concrete pads and are very spacious. The park is far enough away from town to be quiet, but close enough to shopping, restaurants, a small amusement park, and a casino with horse racing. It is also a quick easy drive to Des Moines. There's no office on site so you must check in at the residence a mile or so down the road or by phone when you arrive at the park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
This park is easy to get to from either I-80 or I-35 and is an extremely well maintained RV park. As previously noted, this park does cater to longer term campers, but welcome over-night stays as well. Make certain that you call ahead and reserve as this park has very few vacant sites available most of the time. The office is off-site but they will check you in over the phone and deliver your receipt to your site. We strongly suggest that you stay away from sites 1-64, 291, 293 and 322 as they are smaller, narrower, mostly gravel, and seem to be occupied by the longer term residents. Don’t be concerned about using a back-in site as the road ways and sites are very wide and properly angled for easy access. There is Internet available only for a fee, but we do not know how well it may work as we did not use it. Good Verizon and AT&T cell available. Though the park is in a rural farm area, good shopping is only a couple miles away as well as an amusement park. We had stayed at this park twice over the last couple years and will certainly use it again in our travels through the Des Moines area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$14
Rate reflects monthly rate. This is the first time we have stayed for a whole month in one campground, and it's been great. High quality campground, and the only place I'd like to camp while visiting Des Moines. Paved site, lots of room for our 40' and truck, plus some. Grass on the sides so not muddy when it rains. Breathing room between the RVs so you don't feel cramped at all. The CG is surrounded by fields so it got REALLY windy a few days. Not a lot of tall trees in the area where the larger paved sites are so no shade. Very quiet here, and many campers keep to themselves which we are fine with. Hookups worked as they should. Did not purchase their internet; our ATT & Verizon air cards both worked fine. Lots of areas to walk a pet if you have one. You can tell they take pride in their CG as it's nicely landscaped and maintained. Only used laundry facilities once and they were fine. The two community buildings are very nice, and comforting to know there's storm shelters on site. Owners seem like considerate folks. One thing to note is the mowing - constant, constant mowing this time of year. If you work in your RV during the day like we do, be prepared to hear that mower going each day for a few hours. Book ahead as this is a popular place and there's many long-term residents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Griff's Valley View RV Park & Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com