218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Decorah, Iowa (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
16.93 miles NE
19.81 miles NE
21.49 miles SE
26.03 miles SW
29.15 miles NW
30.36 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
915 Short St
0.64 miles SW
Decorah City Of / Campground 100 E
0.86 miles W
Luther College
0.98 miles NW
Pulpit Rock City Campground 170 E/50 Ne
1.21 miles NW
Upper Iowa River
1.38 miles SE
Lake Meyer Campground N43.1729 W -91.90491
10.40 miles SW
Lake Meyer County Park 21
10.42 miles SW
Iowa
Decorah
Most Recently Reviewed
Pulpit Rock Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-05-11 16:35:07
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Decorah, Iowa
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
This campground is VERY family friendly and the owners couldn't be more helpful. The camping area is large, flat and grassy with shade available. There are 2 cabins that can be rented. The sites are huge and the area is quiet enough to hear the river running beside the campground. Canoes and kayaks are available to rent and the owners will shuttle. If you paddle the Upper Iowa River try to come out of the river in the late afternoon so you can relax at your site and watch the eagles that soar above the scenic bluff that overlooks the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
154
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   6   7   6   9   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$23
Great little campground with large, level sites. Utilities were placed in the right locations and in proper working order. We could not use our MiFi and satellite TV because of the trees. Our rig is 40' long. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
We found this park to be well maintained and well groomed. There is a check-in office with an attendant on duty. The interior roads are paved with gravel sites, lots of space for each site and most looked to be level. There is no water/sewer to the individual sites. There are several water stations spaced throughout the campground if needed, and the dump station is on the way out. lots of mature shade trees and plenty of grass. Located right on a trout stream and the bike trail. close to the highway so there is some road noise. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
This is a very nice campground. It is owned and maintained by the city of Decorah. Check-in was a breeze and the lady at the desk was extremely helpful. She even offered to help me hook up my electricity. The sites are gravel and level. I had one of the pull thru sites. I had an expansive view of a wonderful lawn that ran down to the river on the curb side of the coach. My electric meter stayed in the green zone all of the time. It is a no reservation park and it fills up rather fast on Thursdays. I would definitely stay here again. I camped in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Pulpit Rock Campground
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
Sampson Springs campground is located about 10 miles SE of Decorah on Highway 9 and 2 miles north on 133rd Avenue which is a graveled road. See their website for additional info. (Note, current online directions say the address is 2271 133rd Ave; but that is their house just down the road on the west. If you rely on your GPS, look for 2244 on the east side of 133rd). The RV sites are graveled. The 10 electric and water RV sites along the west side by the road have shade trees. It seemed a longer than usual distance to the water and electric hookups so you may need double length electric cable and water hose. The campground is in a valley surrounded by tree-lined hills and a stream runs along the north side. We were there mid-week, so the campground was not crowded and very quiet. There was very little traffic on the gravel road. There is only one shower/sink bathroom available but it is very clean. The restroom is a kybo, but it was new and also very clean with ground lights leading to it to find your way at night. Sampson Springs has no dump station. You use the city of Decorah’s dump station that has a garden hose to rinse with. The couple that owns/operates Sampson Springs were extremely friendly and accommodating. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com