214501 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Bardstown, Kentucky (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
17.08 miles NE
18.49 miles NW
22.82 miles SW
30.40 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Rio'S Of Bardstown
0.53 miles SW
Kurtz
0.66 miles SE
My Old Kentucky Home S
0.75 miles SE
Wal-Mart
100 W John Rowen Blvd
0.84 miles N
Stephen Foster-The Musica
0.86 miles SE
White Acres Cg
(502)348-9677
2.74 miles SW
Maker'S Mark Distillery
12.65 miles S
Kentucky
Bardstown
Most Recently Reviewed
My Old Kentucky Home State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-26 13:49:54
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Bardstown, Kentucky
Camp Information
Sites
33+
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   3   7   9   7   6   4   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  question  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
This campground is now called Lil Patch of Heaven. We found this place somewhat by accident as there are new owners and they are making improvements as they can. Their website is still under construction, but they have their phone number on there. We stayed here while doing the bourbon trail. We met both owners and they are extremely friendly people. Some sites have new asphalt and site markers. The overall campground layout is really nice with some sites butting right up to the beautiful lake. There aren't many choices for campgrounds in the area and if you are staying down in this area and looking for a campground this is an excellent choice. In speaking with both owners they are planning on continued improvements over time. The hard part was that the campground was in serious disrepair when they bought it and they are doing improvements as they can at a good pace. Give them a try...we will definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
The owner passed away about 2 years ago. Park just sold to new owners and they are spending lots to bring park up to modern standards. Still lots of full time in full hookup sites, but lake view pull thru's are clean and level. Fresh paving everywhere. Plans to add WiFi and more full hookup sites underway. Our Good Sam Chapter has camped here twice this year. Would recommend for overnight or base to see some local attractions. Nice private fishing lake. Note: new name of campground is Little Bit of Heaven. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
We picked this campground because of previous reviews, and were gravely disappointed. The grass was in dire need of mowing. Pull-thru sites weren't full concrete slabs, just two strip large enough for your tires, and we found the angle to be a bit inconvenient. We ended up parking on one of the grass sites. Dog "drippings" were all over the place, and you had to be careful of where you walked. Although the bathroom part of the bathhouse was clean and stocked, the shower area had a lot to be desired. No bench for sitting, and no shelf to put watches, glasses, etc inside your shower area. DH said that in the men shower, there weren't even shower curtains. Also, floors inside the shower area were dirty...mud, leaves, and grass. If this were closer to the interstate, it might be good for an over nite stop, but is inconvenient to get to so really isn't practical for that. We will not be stopping here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Holt's Campground & Fishing Lake
Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   9   8   7   10   7   5   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Excellent location to explore the area. One hour from Mammoth National Park, 1/2 hour from Lexington and Louisville. Quiet campground with lots of shade (I didn't have satellite then, so I don't know if you could get signal, but I did see people have theirs set up). Got all the local channels on antenna. Right next to the golf course. The golfers didn't disturb you at all. You'd hear the ting of the ball being hit. You could walk the course at night. Great Wi-Fi, phone signals. The site we had did fit our 39 ft 5th wheel and we were able to park the truck on site too. The site was paved with grass next to it. It was wider on one side than the other, but that was good, due to the hookups being on one side. The roads into the park are wide enough. Once inside, its a little tight but we were able to back into our site without a problem. First I thought we saw 2 pull-throughs. The hookups were weird here. The electric was shared (which is fine) but on the wrong side of the trailer, as was the water. It was lucky that we had a long enough hose and electric cable. The sewer was also on the wrong side, but our hose reached. So many of the sites were like these that we saw. A man who had 20 amp site but didn't have an adapter, if he did, he barely had an enough electric cable to reach the pole. This campground is in need of updating. It was nice enough weather that we didn't need to put on our AC much, but when we did (we didn't need both) so it was OK that they only have 30 amp power. The camp host said that they are trying to see if they can expand the campground. Right now, the tent sites are closer to the road (it's not busy really). They might develop that into more RV sites and put the tents where the RVs are now. Or expand across the street where the picnic area is located now. I think if we were to go back to the area, we'd stay here again. But we'd ask for a certain site that has the hookups in a better positions. There isn't much choose around that area. This is the best of them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$21
We stopped by for 2 nights and got snowed in for 2 more. They are listed as being open during the winter. But clubhouse was closed 4 of the 5 days we were there. They did not clear the snow covered road. The park sits on a small hill that is slippery when snow covered. The sites are small and not level. Some sites will take lifting a tire off the ground to level. We could not use Wi-Fi because no one was there to give us a password. We were just wanting a place to hook up to electric while visiting relatives. Better than staying in store parking lot. I can see how this campground could be nice in summer. Has lots of trees and sits on a golf course. I would not plan on staying here unless you have seen the sites. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$21
Rate includes AAA discount. Interesting small park near Bourbon Trail Distilleries. Backs up to a beautiful golf course. We were in 34 foot rig. Sites are close and tight. Quiet and very peaceful park. Bath and showers are clean. A little tricky getting into the park with a motor home. Had to unhook at front gate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for My Old Kentucky Home State Park
Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   9   4   7   7   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
As other reviewers have stated, this campground is not fancy but it serves its purpose well. If you are looking to see the sights, travel to Churchill Downs, do the Bourbon Trail, this is the place to be. If you are traveling with kids and want lots of amenities, don't stop here. We thought the location was great and the campground was what we were looking for. We visited several other campgrounds in the area, and this one was definitely the best. We would stay here again. As an aside, the town of Bardstown was a totally unexpected treat! There are lots of fun shops, great restaurants, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Of the two campgrounds in the Bardstown area this one is the better of the two. As the other reviews have said the roads are rough and many of the sites are narrow and unlevel. However the 2.5 miles outside of town and the distance of the sites from the road help make it better. Plus all of the sites have 50 amp service, sewer and good to high water pressure. Campfires are allowed only on the gravel areas, there are no fire rings. Bring your own firewood, the campground does not have wood for sale! We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Great little no frills park for exploring Bardstown and the Ky Bourbon Trail. Clean and friendly. Gravel and grass. Wi-Fi available at shelter. All pull-throughs with 50/30/20 at all sites. No extras for kiddos. Nice rally park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for White Acres Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com