223387 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Slade, Kentucky (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.60 miles S
21.72 miles N
28.67 miles SW
31.94 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Aldersgate Camp
(606)723-5078
9.51 miles SW
Wal-Mart
1589 Ky Hwy 15 S
15.34 miles SE
Kentucky
Slade
Most Recently Reviewed
Natural Bridge State Resort Park - Middle Fork Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-09 06:05:19
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Slade, Kentucky
Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
October 2010
Latest Rate
$22


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
This little known secret is in the Red River Gorge area of Kentucky near Slade. They do not take reservations, so 1st come 1st served here. Great place to have the comfort of your camper bed, but be away from it all. Recommend the double sites for anything large than 20' camper. Hosts extremely helpful. No store, but host has ice and firewood for sale. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
October 2008
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
question
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
The campground was difficult to get into with a tight turn, steep drop and narrow bridge. We were unable to enter or leave the campground without blocking under the rear wheels of the motorhome (2002 34' Georgie Boy - Ford Chassis) to keep from dragging the rear. There is only one site that has 50 amp service, the rest are 15 amp. The campground is not maintained as shown in the pictures on the web site and the angles hide the commercial cable company that seems to be located in the campground with their work trucks and equipment. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
86
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   8   8   3   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2014
$27
I would highly recommend this campground. The state of Kentucky has always impressed me with there facilities and this is no exception. This park is clean and small, we have a 20foot RV so we have no problems. If you have a big rig, just make sure you get a pull through spot. There is plenty outdoor activities around the area. We had a quiet peaceful week at this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
We enjoyed our stay very much. Yes, it is a smaller campground, but that just helps it to be a nice and quiet site. There only 2 negatives that we can say about the campground. The hook-ups are in awkward positions. We and most other campers had to run our water hose and electric hook-ups under the RV to the opposite side. No big deal unless your hook-ups won't reach. The trash dumpster is on the outside of the campground and across the road, due to keeping animals out of the campground. This was a small problem for us, because we are both physically impaired. So we had to put our trash in the trunk of car and drive to the dumpster each evening. The sites are close, but well maintained. I believe each site had at least one shade tree, picnic table, and fire ring. We stayed in one of the pull-thru's that made it very convenient for us. The center section are pull-thru's and are very level. The first row of back-ins have a slight incline. The row along the creek/stream appear to be pretty level, also. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Tight is the best word to describe this campground. If you are over or even around 40 feet, you may regret staying at this park. Good location close to the park sites which are awesome. WiFi you have to pay to play, lost a point with me. Sites are a decent size, just right on top of each other. There is nothing close by: no groceries or Walmart so come prepared and stocked up. Clean relatively new bathrooms, but in need of repair. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Natural Bridge State Resort Park - Middle Fork Campground
Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   5   7   4   7   5   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
We stayed for 2 nights. The bathrooms were old, but not overly bad. The campground is small and outdated but a good location for hiking and rock climbing in the area. If you have more than a 25'-27' you are in for a tight fit backing in. It is one lane in and out and one side of the road dips in. We had a 21' and it was tight turning in, but could be done with patience. Sewer dump work, but across small bridge at a weird angle coming out. We did a U-turn and went across bridge to the dump easily. Even with all the small negatives it was peaceful and we would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Love this little campground. We were on site 33 and it was very large and shaded. The only reason I don't give it ia ten is because of the electrical/water hookup. The water/electric was on our site for 33 and 34 and on the opposite side of our trailer's lines and so we also had to buy an extension cord for our 30 amp service. Daniel Boone Trading Post had one, so obviously this happens to many others. Also the water hose of our neighbor leaked and it formed a small stream that ended at our firepit. Pick an even numbered site such as 32 or 34 and you will not encounter these problems. The bathrooms were older but clean and we never had to wait for a shower. They also have laundry facilities that worked fine. The dump station at this campground was closed and the one at Middlefork had to be used. We did the park history tour, created walking sticks at our campground and a cave tour as scheduled park activities. We took the skylift up to Natural bridge and walked the trail down. It was about 1.75 miles so make sure you have water. We also took the original trail to the bridge and the trails in the campground. We did not see any bear and my husband saw only 1 tiny, non-poisonous snake while hiking. We also went to the Red River Forge for a day and did some hiking. This was very close to the park and very nice. We saw no wildlife here either. The pool at the lodge charged $2/day for campers. I could not get a Verizon signal at all until we were out of the area, but I could connect to the Wi-Fi at the lodge with no password needed, so I used that. My husband likes a cold beer on hot days and this is a dry county. We found out there is a party store about 5 miles down the road past Torrent Falls, or you can to go to Campton. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
The camp ground can be tight when backing in but since there is one-lane with a hill in front and a stream in the back, The place is very nice. When I was there the sewer dump station was out of service and you had to use one in the other campground up the hill. That sewer dump faces against the incoming traffic. I found the bathrooms average from what I have seen at a state park. There were other campground sites that were blocked and out of service as well. I rate this as a five based on the few factors I have seen against what other amenities offered at similar KY State Parks. This campground has a lot of potential if these few things were taken care of. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Natural Bridge State Resort Park - Whittleton Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com