218820 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Convent, Louisiana (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
21.04 miles E
21.04 miles E
24.30 miles S
26.73 miles N
26.97 miles NE
28.26 miles NW
29.13 miles SW
33.60 miles NW
33.83 miles SW
34.65 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Oak Alley Plantation
5.36 miles SE
Lafitte'S Landing
9.67 miles NW
Wal-Mart
3035 Hwy 1 S
12.33 miles W
Usa Plza
I-10 X177
12.34 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
308 N Airline Hwy
12.54 miles NW
Nottoway Plantation
12.74 miles NW
Louisiana
Convent
Most Recently Reviewed
Sugar Hill RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-23 15:04:07
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Convent, Louisiana
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   5   9   10   3   10   10   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
This is a very unique RV park. First, it is just across the levee from the Mississippi River and is built on the grounds of an old plantation. The house is now a bed and breakfast. Tours are held on the weekends and are free if you are staying at the park. Most roads are gravel and dusty while others have pot holes and mud when it rains. The sites range from very nice paved (pull thoughs and back ins) to gravel, muddy not well kept back ins. Some sites have no shade, while others are very shaded. We were in a not so good area, but the utilities worked well, there were lots of cable TV channels, and the WiFi was quite usable. The bathrooms were individual and nice and clean. The pool looked nice; the spa was not open. I did not see much to entertain kids, but I did see kids staying there. The owner is constantly working on improvements and is planning an on site restaurant. Apparently he can be hard to deal with, but he was quite nice to us. It can also be difficult to find someone in the office, and apparently reservations get mixed up frequently. Our reserved pull through site was changed to a back in, but at least we got one. I don’t think this place would be for everyone, but if you can roll with the owner’s quirky personality and management style and not expect too much in the way of amenities, you will probably have a good time. Finally, with all the diverse areas, it was hard to rate the entire park. It ranges from 9 to 5 depending on where you stay, so I averaged it at a 7. We would stay there again, but only if we could get one of the nicer spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$36
More than RV park--resort camping there. The owner's tour was great. Enjoyed the dinner last night, and the guitar duo was cool. Went swimming and they were building a new hot tub house. No damage from Isaac except their hot tub room, said the friendly staff. Today we extended our stay through our season as we are snowbirds who have found a new home at this beautiful plantation. The Church and US Post Office on their property was within walking distance from our concrete site. Really nice place and people. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2012
$29
It's hard to know where to begin with this park. The site was fine, level and all utilities OK. Wi-Fi was generally working. The pool was not in use and seemed to be under some kind of construction although the weather wasn't very accommodating anyway. Never saw a soul in the clubhouse and there were no activities or events of any kind. Laundry, showers and restrooms were somewhat tired but OK for the purpose. From what we could tell, the park is largely populated with working people. St James Parish sheriff patrols the park regularly. We almost never saw the owner/manager and were never able to arrange a tour of the plantation although we asked a couple of times. The office was never manned during our stay. The gift shop never opened the entire 8 days we were there (we cut our original 2 week planned stay short). We were there over Christmas so the park was a virtual ghost town for a few days. When leaving we had to chase down the owner to pay him. We have no idea what the rate shown was based on since it seems like the owner/manager makes them up on the fly. The best way we can describe the stay was that we felt more like tenants than guests and just had an odd feeling about the place. In fairness it may be because we were there over Christmas but we could find no evidence that there was anything happening there. We will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Poche Plantation
Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Owner has two parks on Rt. 44 along the river, Pouche and Sugar Hill. Pouche was full so I was directed to Sugar Hill. These two parks are about the only option if you want to tour the Plantations in the area. This park was a former FEMA park and is quite large. Wide open area with many folks living in their rigs full time. Many sites are grass and might be hard to back into due to narrow culverts over drainage ditches running full length of both roads. I ended up in a concrete pull through that I had to back into due to narrow drives. Utilities were fine and park was fairly neat. This is not a resort type park that you would want to stay in for a long period of time but worked fine for the plantation tours. Highway 44 parallels the river and is narrow and curvy. Good access to the one river bridge and Interstate 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$40
Sugar Hill RV Park, is a sister park to Poche Plantation & RV Park. It is located outside of Gonzales, which is basically in between the State's capital: Baton Rouge and the beautiful city of New Orleans. It is a neat, clean and very friendly park right along the Mississippi River. It is a definite stay if visiting in the area!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com