223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Cheboygan, Michigan (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.90 miles SW
18.66 miles NW
18.94 miles SW
23.18 miles SW
23.19 miles N
23.42 miles NW
33.46 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Hack-Ma-Tack Inn
1.34 miles SW
Wal-Mart
1150 S Main
2.38 miles N
Cheboygan Crib Lighthouse
3.95 miles N
Next Door Food Store
Cheboygan
3.96 miles N
Cheboygan Point Light
5.08 miles NE
Historic Mill Creek
14.15 miles NW
Michigan
Cheboygan
Most Recently Reviewed
Waterways Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-20 20:20:30
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Cheboygan, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
285
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This campground has a great clean lake, Mullet Lake, with views from all sites and boaters can access the Michigan Inland Waterway right from the camp. Our group of 5 had sites back to back with good space between sites. Cheboygan, Mackinac, and Mackinaw Island are close for shopping and entertainment. Park is very friendly, clean, with mostly grass sites that are level. Wood is available at the office and a small store in next to the park with all other items including ice cream by the scoop. We come here every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$23
This is a pretty small park relative to the other state campgrounds we've used. We had site 44 which was a prime site with decent privacy and a path directly to the water. Other sites looked like they were lacking in privacy and very close to each other; be careful selecting. Camp roads are dirt and small. I kind of felt this park might be due for a refresh. Location wise, we had easy access to Mackinaw City, the bridge, and the City of Cheboygan. It was a great base of operations for activities in the surrounding communities. My biggest complaint with this campground was the lack of ranger presence. The staff seemed extremely young, which isn't a problem itself, but they seldom ventured away from the ranger station. The sense of order you get with a visible park ranger presence was missing. From teenagers playing catch in the road and hitting parked cars with their baseballs to very loud groups after quiet hours, it just wasn't a relaxing stay. If parents aren't willing to parent their kids and teach them to respect the folks around them, I expect the park rangers to step in and take some action. Furthermore, from 3-7 AM, there was a cell phone ringing non-stop somewhere in the park. We tried to contact park staff but at that hour the ranger station was vacant and the park phone number went unanswered with no option to leave a message. That made for a few grumpy campers the next morning. We spent part of a day at the beach, which was nice. The beach facilities appeared well maintained and there was plenty of room to setup the umbrella and watch the kids play in the water. There was firewood and ice available at the ranger station, $2 for ice $4 for wood. The wood was dry, mostly oak. There was also kayak rental which we didn't do. I doubt we'll return to this park to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
This park looks like waterfront on the map but it does not have Waterfront sites. You can see out to the water, but it is very reedy, treed, and grown in. The sites close to the water were not long enough for our RV, or they were pre-booked. Office staff were difficult to find and did not appear to know which sites were available. I had to make 3 trips to the office before setting up. Sites are $23 but you have to buy a passport to get into the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
If you are looking for an off the road, nature campground, this is the one for you. It is a small park but there are numerous hiking trails. Be sure to bring your mosquito spray. The site was clean. The location of the park enabled us to tour the surrounding areas easily. We used this park as our base to tour Mackinaw Island. The sites are grassy and level and sufficient room between each site. The electricity provided is just 20 amp. There were no advanced amenities (cable TV, Wi-Fi) but the beautiful trees made up for them. We would come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   10   10   9   9   7   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$28
My rate was based on $840 for 30 days. Owners were very friendly. Wi-Fi is an on again, off again situation. Speed was measured less than 0.5 Mbps on several occasions. The campground is next to a river. About 40% of the campers had boats. The river runs from Lake Huron to a couple of large lakes. Definitely a good boat location. Cable TV didn't exist and antenna reception is marginal on 2 channels. There was 9 other channels available most of the time. Roads were gravel and on most of the sites. Room between sites was good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Our site had 30 amp, water, and sewer. Cable connection at site did not work. When we questioned the host, we were told that the infrastructure was intact but the provider had not sent the hardware needed for the system. Antenna was very sketchy. Wifi was sporadic and unreliable. The roads were wide but trees not trimmed for big rig access. We needed to maneuver around a very large branch and watched others do the same. Management took care of that tree when notified, but other trees were also in need of trimming. One large pine near our site had a low hanging bough that was right over a fire pit. Bathrooms were functional, nothing fancy here. A bit pricey for what you get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
Nice campground on a rails to trails bike path that goes into town one way or to a lake and beyond the other direction. Good utilities. Nice hosts. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Waterways Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com