214481 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Kalamazoo, Michigan (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.67 miles SE
12.96 miles NE
13.01 miles SE
13.74 miles NW
20.83 miles E
21.85 miles SW
24.28 miles SW
24.71 miles NW
28.16 miles NE
28.75 miles NE
31.02 miles SW
31.13 miles NW
33.97 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Webster's
0.21 miles SE
Kalamazoo College
0.79 miles SW
Western Michigan Univers
1.46 miles SW
Grand Prairie Golf Cour
2.70 miles NW
Davenport College Of Busi
2.77 miles W
Freightliner Of Kalamazoo 8005880085
3.07 miles SE
Milham Golf Course
3.15 miles SE
Black Swan
3.48 miles SW
Kalamazoo - Battle Creek
4.01 miles SE
Bravo - Kalamazoo
4.04 miles SE
Wal-Mart
6065 Gull Rd
4.28 miles NE
Eastern Hills Golf Cour
4.61 miles NE
Kalamazoo Aviation Histor
4.72 miles SE
Meijer 119
4.80 miles W
Sams Club?I-94:76A 665 Mall Dr (Located To Zip)
6.76 miles SE
Meijer 196
7.33 miles S
Rpi- Mi Kalamazoo (Am Cmpgs) 8368 West C Ave Kalamazoo
9.25 miles NW
American Campgrounds Kalamazoo-8268 W. C Ave
9.57 miles NW
AOR0006
9.68 miles NW
Aor Rpi Kalamazoo Mi - Amer. Cg Of Mi
9.68 miles NW
Curtis Trailer Center
11.22 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
412 Cross Oaks Mall
11.28 miles NW
Timber Ridge Ski Area
11.32 miles NW
Meijer 191
11.43 miles NW
Kellogg Bird Sanctuary
12.51 miles NE
Bittersweet Ski Area
15.77 miles NW
Michigan
Kalamazoo
Most Recently Reviewed
Markin Glen County Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-14 02:07:10
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
177
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   4   7   3   3   5   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
I agree with other reviewers. This campground does not have the attention of the owners. Personnel were non existent having been laid off a few weeks earlier. Phones are shut down and office is locked. Literally no services. We were told we had to leave because campground was shutting down early. We purchased membership here mainly to camp in The fall and early spring because of too many people being there in the summer. Now that opportunity is lost. Owners are rumored to be buying more camps while letting this one deteriorate. Wish we knew how to contact other members. We feel our membership at this campground has been seriously devalued. Many improvements that were promised never carried out. Would not buy membership here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$1
This park could be a very beautiful one, but there is no enforcement of the rules, creating unnecessary wear and tear on the grounds. Although there is a LONG list of rules, they are ignored and things such as no golf carts, become a joke. There are so many golf carts that run everywhere, it is difficult to walk. These carts also run on the grass, making permanent ruts, killing the grass. There are obviously numerous permanent RV's in the park, and those sites have become over run with 'stuff.' Multiple pot holes in the roads make traversing the park, an unpleasant experience. The lack of visible personnel, doesn't help with the enforcement of rules. Those who are visible, are not interested in helping the campers; they appear bored with their jobs and are are not communicative, even when asked questions. Check out is at 1:00, but being there for three days, certainly proved that was an ignored guideline. People leave as late as 6:00, and nothing is said to them, making it difficult for in-coming campers to find a spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$1
Half the sites have sewer connections and half do not. Some sites are spacious; others are pretty tight. In the section with sewer connections, the overall feeling was that rigs were packed in pretty tightly. The section without sewers was nearly empty; the section with sewers had only a few sites open. Roads are narrow, and I had difficulty backing into my site due to a tree too close to the road on the other side. There were lots of kids running around. Some sites have shade but most are out in the open. The individual bathrooms available at the general store were very nice. Trash dumpsters were overflowing with bags left on the ground. One morning, voltage dropped to 109. Rate is for ROD. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for American Campground of Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   9   9   8   10   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
What a nice clean park. Middle of campground has several pull-through spots for large rigs. Nice beach on lake makes for a great swimming hole. Utilities were in the right place and worked well. Our rig is 40' long.. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
We stayed two nights at this campground. It is a county park with nice paved sites and roads. There is no shade in the campground. Everything is well maintained. Be aware of a late checkout time on Sunday (3:00 PM); we arrived on a Sunday and had to wait for the previous tenant to leave our site. The restrooms were very clean. There is only one shower per restroom (plus one in the family restroom) but the shower is very spacious – and it is not as busy since all sites are full hook up. The rental rate is very reasonable for full hookup sites; note that there is a flat $5 reservation fee in addition to the site fee. There is no Wi-Fi. Local TV reception was good. Our biggest disappointment was that we had planned to use the attractive bike trail system that appeared to be connected to the park. While there were limited bike trails within the park, the access points to the more extensive trails were gated off. To use them one would need to go out the main gate to public streets and then find an access point. While we would stay here again we would know to not count on a lot of biking. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Another very nice MI county park. Very clean and well maintained. Wasn't crowded when we were here. Nice and quiet. Had a lake area for swimming and another area away from the swimmers where our dog could have her fun in the water. Our only complaint about our stay here had nothing to do with the campground. Kalamazoo has several off leash dog parks but the rigamarole you have to go through to gain access is very inconvenient and impractical for short term visitors like us. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Markin Glen County Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com