219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Mackinaw City, Michigan (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.11 miles N
18.66 miles SE
19.89 miles NE
23.03 miles S
25.62 miles SE
30.31 miles SW
30.31 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Colonial Michilimackinac
0.32 miles SW
Old Mackinac Point
0.64 miles SW
Pancake Chef
0.84 miles NE
Star Line Mackinac Isla
1.31 miles E
Embers - Mackinaw City
1.36 miles SE
Historic Mill Creek
4.69 miles SE
Father Marquette National
4.85 miles NW
Fort Mackinac
7.64 miles NE
Mackinac Island State P
8.16 miles NE
Carriage House - Mackina
8.39 miles NE
Kewadian 3039 Mackinac Trail St. Ignace Mi 49781 906-643-7071 (Located To Block)
9.66 miles N
Kewadin Shores Casino
10.47 miles N
Michigan
Mackinaw City
Most Recently Reviewed
Mackinaw Mill Creek Camping
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-22 23:57:43
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Mackinaw City, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   9   8   9   7   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
We liked this park, and its access to the bike trail that ran into town. We're happy to report there were no bug problems during our stay the first week of August. We liked the layout of the bathrooms, which linked the men's and women's restrooms into a common area with locking rooms for the showers - there was privacy and the showers had good pressure and hooks/benches. Interior roads were gravel, as were the sites, which were fairly level. The 50-amp power was strong, but water pressure was around 30 PSI, too low for our motorhome and we had to boost it with our water pump. Site spacing was reasonable, and our pull-through site was long enough to easily accommodate our car. The Verizon access was strong, and we did not try the park's Wi-Fi, so we cannot report on that. There was some traffic noise during the day from the road that bordered the park, and even though there were a lot of folks driving around it was fairly quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
We had a relatively level spot with water, electricity and cable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They have a pool and game room for the kids. Most of the sites are shaded. They have firewood for sale. Though we do not regret staying here, we should clarify one thing. The campground advertises that they provide a shuttle to the Mackinac Island Ferry. In truth, the ferry has a shuttle system to all of the campgrounds and motels. The campground will provide you with a ferry schedule, then about a 1/2 hour before the ferry you go to the office and they call the shuttle for you. The KOA also gives you a $5 discount coupon per ferry ticket. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
First, I don’t like to be forced to pay a reservation fee. At least 2 campgrounds in this area do this. The one-time non-returnable reservation fee is $3.00. Minus 1 point. The receipt that was given to me is very difficult to understand. It took several minutes to see exactly what I paid, but there are no dates on the receipt other than arrival & departure dates. Minus 1 point. Free Wi-Fi? Not really. You get one coupon with a Tengo Internet code per 24 hr. period, but the catch is that you can only use that code on one device. My wife and I each have a PC and each have a phone. So I was given the option to purchase more coupons at $2.00 per device per 24 hr. period. So for the 4 nights we stayed, I paid $8.00 for “free” internet access. But I must admit, on a Friday evening, the internet was running smoothly, but I still must subtract one more point! There is only one place to dump trash in this very large campground. I suppose the reason is to keep down any wildlife issues. However, with that said, the campground itself was run well. It has hundreds of sites, some big, some small. It’s location is on Lake Huron. There’s a pool, free mini-golf and a nice large camp store with arcade/game room. Our site was large with a very nice fire ring. The utilities were spread far apart. I had to use a second hose to get to the water outlet; the electric and sewer lines barely reached their respective outlets after I moved trailer to accommodate my 25 ft. electric cord. Sadly minus another point. If you go in June, beware of the billions of flying insects that apparently arrive for about 2 weeks. At first I thought they were mosquitos, but were they’re not. They don’t bite, but they are VERY annoying and get all over everything! We may or may not stay here again, only because of the limited choices in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA
Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$15


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
If you are looking to spend a night and not a fortune in a touristy area, this campground is an excellent choice. Good 30 amp solid electric with water and convenient dump station. There are both shade and open sites available. Self contained units would be best as there is no bath house. We stayed 6 nights while touring the area. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
This is an older CG with decent hookups, 30 amp electric and water. Both good for our stay. Nothing fancy here, but a solid value for $15 a night. Sites are hard packed grass pull thrus and fairly level. TV via batwing was strong, but with a limited channel list. Verizon cell and broadband both very good. Be careful pulling in, it is a long narrow drive so you want to avoid meeting on coming traffic. But traffic volume is low here. As long as you don't expect much, you will have a nice spot to visit the Mackinaw from. Which is a lot bigger than we expected given its population of under 1,000, so we ended up spending 6 nights. Plenty of food and drink choices in town, but on the high side. For a good alternative, try Clydes Place which has outstanding pizza and much better prices. Take a left out of the CG to US-31 and then 3 miles south to Carp Lake. It is just south of the blinking light on the left. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
This 'no frills' campground is perfect for those not needing amenities (pool, playground, showers, etc.) It is big rig friendly and offers the basics - 30 amp electric, water, dump station, good AT&T and Verizon access, and good satellite reception. You can't beat the $15 price. Those of us who are self-contained need more reasonably priced parks like this. It's just a short distance to town and all the activities of Mackinaw City. I'm rating it a 9 because despite the lack of amenities it was adequate for our needs at a fair price. We stayed a week and would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mackinaw City Campground
Camp Information
Sites
600
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   10   10   9   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
This park is HUGE! Definitely unhook your car if you have a tow and find your site before bringing in the RV. We were in the second row from the beach in a very wide site and very private with trees on the edges. But there was plenty of room to back in our 40 foot RV. Lots of room for the tow too. Right on Lake Huron with beautiful views. Very good Verizon voice and data. Site was level and quiet. Good park for dog walking. Lots of things for kids to do. And a great location to go to Mackinac Island. We've been here before and we'll come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$37
Our large site was fairly level gravel and dirt on a dusty busy road. Full hookups worked fine. Wi-Fi is good, get a coupon for each 24 hrs. Lots of walking, but dog is supposed to stay on the road. Only one bathhouse, but very clean pit toilets throughout the campground. Good location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
Large spacious park with loads of biking and walking roads, as well as excellent sunset views. They need more dumpster locations around the campground. Gravel roads can get very dusty. If you don't like the smoke from campfires, stay back from the sites nearest the water. Convenient to Mackinaw City and ferry to Mackinac Island. We'd stay there again We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mackinaw Mill Creek Camping
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   5   7   6   9   7   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
You can't beat the location (1 mile from the city), but the sites are small and narrow. We had a tricky time backing our 35' fifth wheel into the assigned site. The park was very dusty as every car that drives through kicks up quite a bit, even when driving slowly. The power (30 amp) was insufficient, as we tripped a breaker quite easily with 2 small appliances. The people were nice and the park was clean, but next time we will stay in St. Ignace. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Park has a very nice view of the Mackinaw Bridge and Lake Huron. I prefer the 50 amp sites in the back of the park as they have a nice view of the water and bridge and are far enough from the road that there is no road noise. These sites are large enough for a 40 ft fifth wheel and are wider than the sites at the front of the park. The park does not have any sewer sites, which is a negative for me, but we stay here every time we come to Mackinaw City because of the view and the friendly owners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Pictures on their website are not realistic as the campsites are close! For example, beach was small and weedy, more weeds than sand. Water pressure was so low that we could not shower. We were there on Labor Day weekend and every possible space for a campsite was used. If the park is not crowded it would probably be much better. On the plus side: close to Mackinac City and the hosts were pleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for TeePee Camprground
Camp Information
Sites
290
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   5   8   8   8   9   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
This is a very family-friendly campground located about 20 minutes west of Mackinaw City. The mailing address is Carp Lake, Michigan. We stayed at the Pines Campground for five days. Sites are a bit close for a state park, but this is a very popular campground. Bathrooms and showers are cleaned each day by DNR personnel but as noted in another post, need to be updated. Outer loop sites have more privacy than the inner loop but despite the crowd, everyone was respectful with no loud or obnoxious groups. If you are planning for a family get together, the inner loop sites adjoin nicely. DNR personnel on site each day for maintenance and management issues. Camp hosts located in each campground are great and sponsor daily activities for kids and adults. Hosts and DNR sponsor a recycling program that helps fund park improvements with a collection bin for returnable bottles located near camp hosts. Pines Campground is up the hill (about 100 yards) from the Lakeshore Campground. There is dump station with one receptacle between both campgrounds. “Book Nook” library shed (books, board games, movies) is located at the Lakeshore Campground and available to all campers. Wilderness Nature Center is attached to Pines Campground and sponsor nature talks almost every day. Amphitheater and frog pond (frogs visible just off the path) is east of the Pines Campground and open field, horseshoe pits and swings located just south of the Pines Campground. Hiking and biking trails originate just outside the campground. The beach is wonderful and shallow depth of water is great for swimming. A wet 2014 has the lake higher than normal. Most campers walk or bike down to the beach each night to watch the sun set-- a fun, festive atmosphere. Be aware: dogs are NOT allowed on the beach. This rule is enforced so if you bring your dog, it will need to stay at the campsite while you spend the day at the beach. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
Our favorite park in Michigan. Staff are friendly and helpful. Have stayed in both lakeside sites and up in the pines (a lot nicer up there during cold weather). Absolutely love the access to the donuts down the road! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
Very appropriate name for the park. We followed the directions in the CG Book that said to follow the signs. There was 1 sign in Mackinaw City and no more. The road was so rough on the way that we could not go over 20 mph. The 10 miles was more like 15 miles. You will get a true idea of dark when you go out at night. There is nothing to do there unless you are a reader. I finished 2 books while sitting there a day. The park is nice but not worth the trip on those roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Wilderness State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com