206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Traverse City, Michigan (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.28 miles NW
10.11 miles SW
13.47 miles E
15.03 miles N
15.55 miles S
16.70 miles NW
17.44 miles NE
18.15 miles SW
19.43 miles SW
23.18 miles SW
25.23 miles S
27.82 miles SE
29.02 miles NE
31.91 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Old Mission Tavern
3.61 miles SE
Meijer 33
3.70 miles SE
Clinch Park Beach
3.77 miles SE
Dill'S Olde Towne Salo
4.03 miles SE
Wal-Mart
2640 Crossing Circle
4.68 miles SE
Cherry Capital Airport
5.00 miles SE
Auntie Pasta'S
5.31 miles SE
La Senorita
5.69 miles SE
Schelde's
6.41 miles SE
Sams Club 2401 Us 31 S (Located To Block)
7.21 miles SE
Gordie Howe'S Tavern And
9.50 miles SE
Grand Traverse Resort
10.26 miles E
Sugar Loaf Ski Resort
10.99 miles NW
Bowers Harbor Inn
12.11 miles NE
Leelanau Country Inn
12.21 miles NW
Leelanau Sands 2521 N. West Bay Shore Dr. Peshawbestown Mi 49682 231-271-4104 (Located To Zip)
14.32 miles NE
Michigan
Traverse City
Most Recently Reviewed
Northwest Michigan Fairgrounds Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-11-07 22:02:39
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Traverse City, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   10   4   6   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Beautiful spot. Our campsite, number 7, was huge and very private with lots of trees and shrubbery separating us from our neighbours. The campground had all the conveniences, but you'd think you were staying in a State Park as it was so wooded. It was easy access to the city, and to Sleeping Bear Dunes. The scenic road to the Dunes and the Dunes themselves were worth coming to this area. Stellar! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Large RV park, with heavily treed older sites and open newer sites (where we stayed). Sites are spacious, staff is helpful, and access in and out of the sites is easy. Good Wi-Fi and cable, Verizon 4G data worked well, T-Mobile 4G did not work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
This is one of the most attractive parks we have visited. Spacious sites, tall trees, and broad grassy areas are most pleasant. Satellite access is problematic. Traverse City has a pleasant old downtown and several local attractions. We stayed two nights and would return if in Michigan again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Holiday Park Campground
Camp Information
Sites
132
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   6   7   9   8   7   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
Large, level, gravel sites. Easy back in. Convenient location to Traverse City and Sleepy Bear. This is not a destination. This is a great place to park the RV with electric and get out and have fun in an amazing area of the country. Verizon cell/MIFI strong. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
Very quiet park, with good cell phone service. Sites are level; the outside perimeter sites now have water. Would stay here again when in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
There 132 level, gravel sites all about 40-feet long with grass between them. There are no curbs or barriers around the sites, so longer rigs can extend into the grassy area. The interior roads are well maintained gravel and the campground area is open with few trees. All sites have good electric (ours was 50 amp) and perimeter sites also have water hook-ups. There is a dump station on site which is easily accessible, but larger rigs cannot readily turn around in the area past the dump station. They can more easily egress by backing up. The hosts are conscientious and friendly. There are two Porta-Potties in the camping area and restrooms and showers are several hundred yards away in the fairground complex. The sinks and toilets are clean and the four showers on the “mens” side are adequate, but could use some attention. DirecTV and Verizon are easily accessed. During our week-long stay, there were only a few rigs there during the week with considerably more on the week-end, but the campground was still less than half-full. This facility is ten miles from the water-front in Traverse City and is a great place to stay if you are not seeking entertainment and amenities for kids. The weekly rate is $120. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Northwest Michigan Fairgrounds Campground
Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   4   5   4   4   4   9   6   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
This park is nice and is very family oriented with lots of activities for kids. It is a rustic park with gravel roads and sites. The sites are very large and amongst the trees, so no satellite service was available. They do have full hookups with cable. The location is not too far out of town. We got a weekly rate discount, but still felt it was a little pricey. Not many options in the area. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
This was a pleasant place to stay with the kids. Nice pool area. Clean overall. Very friendly staff. Excellent camp store. A nice feeling of being in the woods, but in a well taken care of setting. A nice cross between a manicured RV park and a rustic park. Amazingly, insects were few and far between . No issues with mosquitoes. Good number of pull through sites. Cool little cabins; some even have air conditioning. Sites are well taken care of, and most are reasonably level. My family will definitely return. My one real gripe is that the restrooms were not as clean as I would like to see them. Not horrible, but definitely could be improved. Showers are pay stalls, so bring your quarters. It would be nice if the pay mechanism had a warning tone to let you know that your time was about to expire, kind of like a self serve car wash. Would like to see a hook or two put in the stalls so clothes, shower kits and or towels could be hung rather than having to lay them on the small mostly wet bench in each stall. Another thing to be aware of is the sewer connection at the full hook up sites sits approximately 9 inches above grade. So, depending on your site and the position of your rig, your sewer hose is running uphill at the connection. A good elevated hose support would be helpful to keep everything flowing nicely. Overall a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
There were positive and negatives we discovered here. We had a full-hook up site in the back of the campground which was nice as the only thing behind us was forest and trails. Nice trail system here and a map was given to us at check-in. Great pool and lots of activities for the kids. Our site was large and mostly level. However, the interior roads in this campground are terrible - narrow, pot-holed, broken asphalt / gravel mix. The wide, paved entrance is very deceiving as to what the rest of the roads are like. Cannot comment on the restrooms as we did not use them, but I did see you have to pay for the showers. Laundry room was very dirty and only 2 of the 3 washers were operational. Staff member came and emptied the trash while I was there but didn't bother to sweep or clean the floor in any way. Wi-Fi was terrible and we only got a signal at the main lodge. Cable TV not available unless you had a 50amp full hookup (we had a 30amp). The owners dogs had the run of the place which, one time, made it difficult to walk our 2 ON-LEASH (as required) dogs as the loose one followed and tormented mine. Not sure we will return; perhaps if we find out they actually invest some of their profits on improving their interior roads! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Timber Ridge Campground & Recreation Resort
Camp Information
Sites
480
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   8   6   8   7   10   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$29
The campground was $29 per night, but we had to pay a MI state park entrance fee of $29 for the RV and $6 for the Jeep. The RV fee has to be paid once a year and the Jeep fee was just for this campground. We wanted to be within biking distance of a festival in Traverse City or the entrance fees would have been enough to send us to another campground. This park was very crowded with no clear dividers between sites. The location, on the bike path and across the road from the lake, is the only thing that makes this campground attractive. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Typical State Park, small camp sites, over used, and with the bonus of having 24 hour traffic noise, and overflying aircraft. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
This park is all about location. The sites are mostly dirt. We were in site 315 which was an easy in and out for our 38 feet. The site was large but we did have lots of traffic back and forth through our site since we were right in front of the bathroom. During the week the park was much quieter than on the weekend when it had no vacancy. It rained while we were there but about an hour afterward the ground seemed totally dry so no problems with mud. The TART 21 mile bike trail is paved and leaves right out of the back of the park. There is a pedestrian bridge across 31 to the beach. The restrooms were very crowded but stayed as clean as they could be with all the traffic and the dirt sites. No water or sewer hookups in the campground which is typical of Michigan state parks. Water fills all around the campground. We would definitely stay here again just for the great location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Traverse City State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com