206676 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Ackerman, Mississippi (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
14.60 miles SE
22.41 miles NE
29.95 miles SW
33.59 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
528 N Church
14.12 miles SE
Legion State Park
15.35 miles SE
Mississippi
Ackerman
Most Recently Reviewed
Choctaw Lake - Tombigbee NF
Latest Review Submited On
2013-07-10 21:47:06
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Ackerman, Mississippi
Camp Information
Sites
21
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
This small campground in Tombigbee National Forest is located about three miles south of Ackerman. Setting is by an impounded lake in a treed lawn with lots of sun and shade in the hills. Old CCC designed park. Quiet, dark at night. Well marked and easy to locate off highway. Sites are located at the end of the recreation area roadways. We reserved through Recreation.gov since our arrival was on July 4. We had to pay a $9 online reservation fee in addition to camping fees. Who'd a thunk it, but there were a number of sites open for first come/serve, which would have saved the $9 fee. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay. Sites are gravel contained in rail ties, so everything is level. In the A Loop, many sites are waterfront, while all sites on the B Loop were water view from several hundred feet. Utilities worked fine. DTV included all five major networks. CSpire phone service was 5 bar 3G. Excellent bicycling opportunities. Great 3 mile trail around Choctaw Lake, numerous off road bicycling trails amounting to about 25 miles. Children's playground looked fun. Kids were happy here. Fishing, fresh water beach. Bald Eagle hangs out around the dam. Dump station cleaning hose could have had more pressure. Virtually any camper would engage in conversation. Camp host funny, friendly, perhaps insane, full of stories. Excessive barking by tied up pets was annoying, host should have asked that the dog be put inside. Little to do in Ackerman, so we went to Starkville (home of Mississippi State... Go Dawgs!). Best Mexican restaurant on Earth next door to Chilis. Shrimp enchiladas incredible. WalMart has a MSU sportsgear shop, I cleaned house there. We would camp here again without hesitation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
We very much enjoy this small camp ground. We have new bikes and spent a lot of time riding trails around the lake and the surrounding forest. This is an excellent location for campers who like to hike or ride mountain bikes. The trail around the lake is 2.7 miles of handicapped accessible (to Americans with Disabilities Act standards) trail. There are 40 miles of additional trails linking to those around the campground and lake for those wanting more arduous experiences. My only complaint was the bathhouses were not as clean as last year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$13
Park very clean as were restrooms. Nice peaceful spot to rest and restore. Will go back. Park Host very courteous and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Choctaw Lake - Tombigbee NF
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$.01



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   9   9   8   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$.01
Jeff Busby is one of the free campgrounds along the Natchez Trace Parkway maintained by the National Park Service. A must stop. Quiet and dark, you are immersed in nature. Clean rest rooms with running water. The nature trail and just walking around the campground and picnic area is a wonderful experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
Beautiful, quiet, clean and free. What could be better? Paved pads in the oak woods with picnic tables, fire pits and water taps spread throughout the park. New clean restroom building. There is a nice hiking trail up to a scenic viewpoint. A good place to unwind for a day or two during a drive down the Natchez Trace. Plenty of room for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$1
We tried traveling to Rocky Springs in one night, to no avail..we stopped at Jeff Busby for a night. Since it is free, we can't complain too much... the bathrooms are very clean, complete with running water. The sites are very open... no privacy, but most campers are respectful enough that it is not a big deal... there was no campground host when we showed up, so we just set up our tent for the night then moved on. NO firewood for sale anywhere, we will know better for our next trip! We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Natchez Trace Parkway / Jeff Busby Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com