223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Kearney, Nebraska (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.84 miles SW
18.73 miles E
23.07 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
5411 Second Ave
6.64 miles SE
University Of Nebraska -
6.85 miles SE
University Of Nebraska At
7.29 miles SE
Alley Rose
7.96 miles SE
Grandpa'S Steak House
9.19 miles SE
Kearney Municipal Airport
9.37 miles E
Chevyland
9.61 miles SW
Kearney-No Dump,Cabela'S
9.64 miles SE
Great Platte River Road
10.75 miles SE
Fort Kearny State Histor
13.05 miles SE
Nebraska
Kearney
Most Recently Reviewed
Kearney RV Park and Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-27 14:20:30
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Kearney, Nebraska
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   6   5   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
This is a clean parking area with some train and traffic noise. Truck drivers sometimes use it as a rest area, so there are sometimes idling diesels. It's near level dirt and fine gravel. After a heavy rain, there can be large areas of standing water. Roads are wide concrete in excellent condition. The dump is free. Two potable water spigots are located by the tree line along Avenue N. Staff are friendly and helpful. Verizon data service download speed (kB/s): max 266, typical 120. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
If rated against all electric only facilities, rating would be a "10". This is an easy in and out of the fairground parking lot and any size rig can easily fit with no obstructions to enter or depart. The area is a large, level gravel parking lot that is immediately on your right as you turn east off Ave N through the Fairground's gate. CAUTION if you are following a GPS with the address -- DO NOT turn off Ave N until you get to the main gate which is directly into the parking lot. The gate is very wide with a bordering white wood fence with houses along west side of the street. There are eight light poles, spaced well apart in the parking lot and electrical hookups are mounted on the poles. Most of the poles had multiple 20, 30, and 50 amp receptacles. There are also two sites with 30 amp power and a water hookup on the grass alongside the fence and trees parallel to Ave N. There is a free dump station. Power was good, and it was very quiet here.There are no assigned spaces; it's just a large, well groomed gravel lot that can easily hold 50 rigs for dry camping if the power sites are taken. You just park wherever you want and then go into the Fair Office and pay or use the drop box next to the office door. Dry camping is free. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$10
No bells and whistles: just an open area next to the power poles. One 50amp and three 30 amps at each of 6 poles in the west parking lot. Easy to get to, and close to everything. The nice town of Kearney is growing. There is a dump station along the white fence. Nice place to stop for a couple of nights while you see the sites. Archway was nice, and the people are very friendly. Great place to let the dogs run, but watch out for the construction workers driving in and out of the lot. The station where you come in, is at the beginning of Ave N. Campground has a fair price and a good price for propane. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Buffalo County Fairgrounds
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
May 2006
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
This park is abandoned!! We pulled in here late in the day looking for a place for the night. It is obvious it has been closed for quite a while. Weeds were two feet high and dry and dirty. No one in the office. Don't bother stopping here. There are no other RV parks in this town, at least none that we could find and the locals didn't know of any, either. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$25
This rating is based on an overnight stay while traveling across the country, not for a long term vacation stay. We stopped in the Kearney area for one night while traveling to the Grand Tetons. We didn't even know this place existed and had planned on staying in the parking lot of the nearby Cabelas, but it was quite warm out and we wanted electricity for the night to run the AC. It's not much to look at, but the bathrooms were clean. There is a go-cart track nearby, but it didn't keep us awake or seem very busy and this was on a Friday night. This place was great for an over night stay while traveling I-80, with lot's of restaurants and a Wal Mart down the road, you could pick up necessary items for travel. If I had something to do in the area for a few days I would have no problem staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   5   7   8   8   7   8   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Overall, this park was fine for an overnight stay. The park itself was pretty with all the cottonwood trees in full bloom and the ponds. They don't offer water or sewer hookups, but they do have a dump station and water available to fill your holding tank. The bathroom was so-so and we were going to use the shower until we discovered that you have to pay for it! This, after paying $20 to camp and $5 for entrance to the park, was a little much, especially with only electric hookup. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
The rate reflects $18 for a 30 amp electric site and $5 entrance fee. This is a nice, large state park with hiking and biking trails and close to the Audubon Rowe Sanctuary for Sandhill Cranes, which also has great hiking trails. As noted, it is about 7 miles off of Interstate 80, but well worth it for us for the peace and quiet. It was a bit disappointing that we could hear the Interstate even that far away, but it is certainly better than camping right on the freeway. There is fresh water at the dump station for filling a tank. The roads are paved and the sites are gravel. The sites are well separated, but there is not a lot of vegetation for privacy. This was not an issue during our visit since there were only a few other campers in the park. As noted, some are a bit unlevel, but it worked for us. There are some pit toilets, but there are also modern restrooms and showers. Most sites would not get satellite but we found one where we could get a signal through the trees. Our Verizon phone and data (4G) worked well. We were only able to spend one night at this park because of our schedule. We would certainly stay here again and for more nights if possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
Would not go out of the way to go to this park. Windmill State Park and Morman Island State Park are both right on I-80 and are both much nicer than this park. The bugs were bad and many sites only have 30 amp and they are all uneven gravel pads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Fort Kearny State Recreation Area
Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   5   7   5   7   1   10   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$32
Rate reflects, pay for 6 nights get 7th free. We had a nice week at this campground. It is fairly new. Ribbon cutting was 7/2013, so the owner is still working on it. Yes there is highway noise, but that doesn't negate the pluses. Owner was great and willing to help with anything. Our space was very level concrete pad with more than enough space between sites. There was a problem with stickers while walking our dog, but the owner is working on that. Saw her spraying several times during the week we were here. She did suggest an area where we could walk him. The WIFI did tend to get slow when the park got full, but otherwise the connection was good. There are two WIFI towers in the park. As this is the only "full service" park in Kearney, we would stay here again. As I said, the owner is working on correcting any problems brought to her attention. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2014
$41
If you like hearing interstate highway noise all night then this is the place to come. While the site had a nice cement pad the closeness to the interstate negates any positives about this park. It is very overpriced, WiFi that does not work and while the restrooms were clean, there were not enough of them (only 2 unisex rooms that you had to wait in line in the morning to utilize). Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$41
Not worth the price. Very noisy due to proximity to I-80. Good concrete pads, but no landscaping in "new" area. Person on desk did not tell us that we were choosing a spot with no grass and no Internet ( apparently due to distance from office). The little lake next to sites was nice for walking the dog. Bathrooms were okay--fairly new construction but certainly not spotlessly clean. Best features: good pads, very level, long pull through sites so we didn't have to disconnect truck. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Kearney RV Park and Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com