214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Valentine, Nebraska (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
City Dump
Valentine
1.57 miles NE
Wacky West Travel Park
(402)376-1771
1.60 miles SE
Rosebud Casino
8.46 miles N
Nebraska
Valentine
Most Recently Reviewed
Fishberry Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-25 01:27:42
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Valentine, Nebraska
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   5   8   8   10   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
My camper door broke and I was locked out. Owners found a locksmith to come out after hours. He was wonderful. The owners came and checked on us, and stayed to chat. The sites are huge, and they place campers so they are not next to each other, when possible, and our site, and the neighbor's, were level. Valentine has almost anything you might need and it's only a short 4 mile drive to town. Very quiet and peaceful. Would give it a 10 but no over air TV or cable. I agree with previous reviewers, the Wi-Fi was very fast. I would definitely come back. Big rig friendly! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
This park has gone to self check in for the season. Worked very well for us. Note on the door tells you which sites to avoid due to issues and which only have 30 amp available. Nice to be able to make your own pick. Sites are level and long pull thrus. All utilities worked well. Best Wi-Fi we've found in four years of full timing. For the price this place is great and the dog loves having the room to run. There is a corral in the back corner if you are traveling with horses (small fee for use). Place looks well kept and very quiet. Towns people are pleasant and great food at the Cedar Canyon restaurant for miles down the road in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
Very nice park. Made reservations earlier in the month. The lady I spoke with made me feel welcome. When we arrived she had us all set up. Nice open park; grass was trimmed and cut, signage was very clear where to go. Full hookup 30/50, fire ring, picnic table, good water pressure and level. Plenty of room between sites, did not have to worry about the slide. Has laundry and nice looking bathrooms. They also have a very nice pavilion with a cooking area and tables. Looks like a person could reserve it for a large gathering. Did not have cable, sad. If it had I would have gave it a 9. No air TV. Will stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Fishberry Campground
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
May 2011
Latest Rate
$4


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$4
Clean open space with plenty of shade. No services other than a hand operated water pump on top of the hill. Friendly park rangers and QUIET! Would go to again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
21
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
Merritt Trading Post and Resort, more like a fishing camp than "resort", has a special importance to the Merritt Reservoir camping area because it is the only facility of any sort whatsoever for 28 miles, Valentine Nebraska being the nearest city. Merritt Trading Post & Resort has 15 nice cabins and 6 full hookup (30 amp) RV sites available on site as well as a fully stocked general store and fuel station with gas & diesel. The management is helpful and friendly and they offer a variety of activities including swimming and fishing with boat rentals. There are many camping facilities in the area and the Merritt Trading Post & Resort cheerfully offers its support to all travelers alike. If you're headed to Merritt Reservoir for some fishing or camping fun be sure to visit the Merritt Trading Post & Resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   9   8   3   10   6   8   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Older facility that has seen better days and minimal maintenance. Sand/dirt roads. Only 6 FHU's with the rest mainly electric (30 amp only) and water. We made the mistake of staying on a Saturday. Noisy and dogs running loose. Probably on a weekday it wouldn't be as bad. Sites are close together and scrub grass. We were passing through and made our reservations based on the website, which isn't reality. The restrooms were old and crusty. For one night it was just okay, but we wouldn't want to stay any longer. It's like an old clunker car that needs fixing up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
We are from Australia on our first RVing trip. We stayed for a single night in our 38' Class C while passing through. The Riverside Campground is the most rustic RV park we have stayed at so far, and the first where we had to check ourselves in. Fortunately fellow-travelers orientated us to the campground. The campground environment feels open and natural, and there were few other guests when we stayed. Dusty gravel roadway and sites are separated by fair-sized islands of straggly grass and picnic tables; large, well-established trees provide plenty of shade for most sites. Sites seemed quite rugged; however, we seemed to chance on a quite level spot on our site when we pulled up. Water and electric hookups looked a bit dodgy, but worked fine. We noted, but did not need to use, the sewer hookup, go-karts, and laundry. Wi-Fi was free, but had only intermittent access to the internet. The campground was very quiet. The serendipitous main attraction for us was the Niobrara River, which runs along the back of the campground: it has been the best swimming locale we have had in our entire trip so far. Toilet/shower facilities were also rustic, but seemed fairly clean; I deferred having a shower until our next stop. I cannot comment on the staff, as we did not see them. Overall, an inexpensive and enjoyable, if primitive, overnight stop that provided us with fond memories of our swim in the beautiful and refreshing Niobrara. If we had to spend the night in Valentine again, I would stay here again without looking elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Small little cozy campground. Owners extremely helpful and very willing to assist in any way possible! They went out of their way to put us into an extremely long site that accommodated both our 40 ft. coach and our toad so we didn't even have to unhook!! Very accommodating! He informed us right up front that they only had 30 amp service and that we'd probably be more comfortable going down the road where they had 50 amp service, however we appreciated their up-front attitude and friendliness and decided to power down and stay. We were informed it was OK to run our generator so we could operate all three air conditioners to cool the place off, which we did but then switched it to one air and had no problems the rest of the night. A very nice place to pull in for overnight when your on the road. Would definitely stay here again. The rate is for a FHU site! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Riverside Campground and RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
~15
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
This campground is a field behind the casino. Drive through the gas station and go to the pull-through hookups in the grassy field. These hookups have water and 50 amp at each site. There are other hookups behind the hotel, but you'll want to use these. There were about 6 wide sites in this location, but we were the only rig there. The sites aren't real level, but we were able to keep our fifth wheel hooked up with no problem. Lots of room and wide sites. At $10 (pay in hotel) for an overnight stay, this campground was fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
The price of $10 is right. Sites are not well defined - just look for the electric posts. The ground cover has not been mowed recently. Water is available but not at each site. Register in hotel. Internal roads not well-defined. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
August 2006
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2006
$5
Would not recommend this park beyond someone with a tent or pop up. Even then it was not well maintained. Sites, if you can call them that are wherever you want to pull over along the road into very loose deep sand along the stream. No hookups available. There was a bad prairie fire a couple weeks ago (July '06 )that burned right up to one corner of the park but the vast majority of the park escaped the fire. In addition the access to the park is down a fairly steep short incline to a curve at the north end of town. It needs lots of attention. There are a number of private rv parks in town that range from very economical to resort. Go there unless you really like roughing it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   5   8   4   5   7   2   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$14
Don't be fooled by your first impression of this Park. Doesn't look as neat as perhaps one would expect of a RV Park but everything works and works well. The WiFi is among the very best we have ever experienced on the road. The people running this Park are awesome. Couldn't find nicer more hardworking folk. For that reason alone we will return here and recommend this Park highly. Plus, it is Passport America and price reflects that. $3 charge for a/c or heaters. Internet is free. People make the Park. We would not be in Valentine at this Park if it wasn't for PA. Glad we came. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$15
The owner was friendly and the showers were clean. The sites were gravel but nicely kept. I used PA discount for this stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
First glance, what have we got into?? The place looks like a junkyard. Junk all around. But the people are so nice. If the "looks" don't bother you, it offers all the amenities, at Passport rate of $18, including $3 for A/C. Most other campgrounds in the area don't even have electricity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Wacky West Travel Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com