206703 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Carlsbad, New Mexico (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
18.40 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
2401 S Canal
1.15 miles E
Water Treatment Plant
Carlsbad
1.24 miles NE
Windmill Rv
(888)349-7275
1.49 miles SE
Carlsbad Rv
(888)8Rv-Park
2.08 miles SE
Rv Service Center
2.19 miles S
Cavern City Air Terminal
2.94 miles SW
Mosley Spring 68
14.35 miles SW
New Mexico
Carlsbad
Most Recently Reviewed
Brantley Lake State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-15 23:11:37
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$4



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   7   9   8   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$4
$4 (after purchasing an out-of-state NM annual camping permit for $225 because we will stay in at least two other NM state parks) per night was for a 50A electric and water site on a level asphalt pad. In addition, the generously sized site had a covered picnic table with a privacy/windbreak wall, BBQ grill (which could not be used as they had a no wood or charcoal burning ban due to extremely high fire danger), and 12x12 gravel tent pad. There is a dump station about .5 miles from the campground which was easily accessible with our 40’ MH and attached tow car—no grate to remove, just the step on cap. Dense desert shrubbery is in and around the campground as well as numerous trees, all of which were blooming profusely during our stay. Animals we saw during our stay included lizards, white-tailed and jackrabbits, 13-lined squirrels, roadrunners, Scaled Quail, and countless songbirds. If you like walking/hiking/biking there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. The night sky is gorgeous as are the sunsets. The park is very quiet. During our stay, there were high winds on several days including one night with wind gusts of 45 mph. The campground is just 18 miles north Carlsbad, NM which offers shopping and dining. Mexican restaurants are not open on Sundays. Google maps does indeed show the state park on the wrong side of the lake. Garmin and Bing show the state park’s location correctly. The nearby Living Desert State Park and Zoo is worth the visit even though it’s not included in the annual camping permit; cost is $5 per adult. We received four bars 4G on our AT&T cell phone. We used our Millenicom jetpack as a Wi-Fi hotspot and it worked very well on four bars of Verizon 4G LTE. OTA TV had 12 channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$14
We stayed here 2 nights as a home base for visiting the Carlsbad Caverns. I would have to say the caverns are the best we have visited and really enjoyed the self guided tour with the audio box. We reserved a space due to being 43' long. There were only 4 spaces available 2 days before we arrived that would accommodate our RV, the online fee is an additional $8. Very nice campground with very nice hosts. We had a car hauler that they directed us to park in the space by their site. Wish they had sewer at more sites, but we were able to easily dump at the dump station before we reattached the car hauler. Not to sure what large grate the previous poster had to remove. There is a simple step on cap located between the 2 entrances. They must have missed that. Also. the small moth like bugs were very annoying and a week later we are still finding them flying around in our RV. But we were in a park and we were camping. I would rather deals with nature than be parked in the city at one of the other campgrounds we found while visiting Carlsbad. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$14
Great Park. Sites are paved, fairly level and plenty of space between them. Some tree coverage but most provide minimal shade. Lake level low and did not see anyone on it. Not that big - maybe good for kayak. Fishing available but signage indicated it was catch and release, advising to not eat any fish caught due to high DDT levels. Easy trip to Carlsbad Caverns - maybe 1 hour drive. Visit to Caverns well worth the trip. Roswell about 50 miles North. Easy trails for a nice walk - not challenging though. Very nice playground for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Brantley Lake State Park
Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   4   8   9   9   9   3   7   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
We stayed at this KOA last year and we were looking forward to staying here again. We were so disappointed this year. The only showers with hot water were the unisex showers located in a satellite building. That was 3 showers for both men and women. There were only 3 washers and only 2 of them worked. I was left with load of towels that the spin cycle didn't work. They refunded my money but didn't take the machine out of operation. They said sometimes it did work! The sites were level, gravel and very dusty. Facilities were dated and it was 15 minute drive to town which was worth it last year. Had gone downhill since last year. Would not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$44
Poorly maintained park - shabby, peeling paint, broken tables. No hot water in the showers in main restrooms. Waiting for new washers, so couldn't do laundry. Unheated pool, site hookups (water and sewer) in poor condition - our water leaked and we had to get a maintenance man to turn the spigot it was so tight! Think we should have been told about the hot water and washer situation before we paid, or given a discount. We have stayed in KOAs across the country, this was the worst. Won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
Flat gravel campground with good access roads. Long, level pull-through with decent inter-site spacing. Quiet. A few small trees here and there, but nothing in the way of shade. Good power (but no real load in the campground as too cool for a/c to be running). Wi-Fi good signal strength and decent speed. Good Verizon cell signal (4 bars). Did not use other utilities. Good for overnight or longer stays. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Carlsbad KOA
Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   4   7   4   9   9   7   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$43
Carlsbad is a small desert town. Carlsbad RV Park is a little outside of town - toward the Caverns. It was perfect for us as we intended to visit Roswell 1 day (1.5 hours away) and the caverns another day. The park has no entertainment itself, but if you are in Carlsbad, you are here for a reason. Sites are large, hosts are friendly, and it was very quiet - even after the oil workers came in for the night. There is no grass to speak of so dogs cannot play well. We stayed 3 days and would do so again if we come back this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$34
Great proximity to Carlsbad Caverns. Lots of oil rig workers stay here so men's shower could have been cleaner but overall good stay for 2 days for us. Little store in office sells basic food necessities which is handy. Pretty tidy spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
OK park for visit to Carlsbad Caverns. Slightly south of town and about 18 miles north of the national park. Gravel double-wide somewhat shaded sites with table just long enough for our 34 foot RV. Ask if your rig is larger. Indoor pool open but we didn't use. Very friendly and informative check in and small gift shop. Free Wi-Fi. Used to be PA but dropped. Used GS discount. Bit pricey for quality but would stay again. Not much option in area. Good clean bathroom and showers with nice sized handicap shower area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Carlsbad RV Park and Campground
Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   5   3   8   4   7   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
A very old campground. Poorly maintained. 50 amp service but no circuit breaker. The electrical receptacle actually had old fashioned fuses. Large, half-dead pecan trees overhung the camp sites. I asked the owner who would be responsible if a large limb fell on a camper and he said that would be considered an act of God which means he would not be responsible even though he knew the trees were half dead. No thanks-we will stay elsewhere the next time we stay in Carlsbad. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$27
Pecos River RV Park & Store is located on the Pecos River in Carlsbad, NM, on Greene Street. Access is a little tricky because the highway going past the park in under construction and the bridge very near the park is being re-enforced so one lane is closed during the day just before the entrance to the park. The easiest access is through the drive directly behind the store and it takes you into a small but neat campground with full hookups and level gravel sites with wood picket fences separating the sites. There is a Pecos River Walk easily accessible from the park and it's lighted at night with paved walkways. The park owner is a great guy who goes out of his way to make you feel at ease and he takes immediate action if there is a problem with the site or hookups. This is a good place to stay over for a night or two, or the long term, depending on your needs, and it's close to Carlsbad Caverns National Park and Guadalupe Mountains National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Park management is very friendly and helpful. There are only 2 pull through sites in this very small park (it looks like they might count the driveway as a third one). The one shower was "closed for repairs". Supposedly there was one bathroom, but in order to get to it you'd have to walk through what looks like a mini-junkyard next to a house, so I can't comment on the condition. The park borders the Pecos River and was easily accessible to a lovely paved riverwalk that went in both directions on the river: very nice for walking or bicycling. There was a nice public beach and park that was within walking distance. The pull-through's are in the front of the park so there is an awful lot of truck and motorcycle noise and the train tracks are across the river, so you hear them, too. Most of the park seems to be permanent residents, but they are quiet and well-maintained. Park is convenient to Wal-Mart, other grocery stores and restaurants. No pool or laundry. Free Wi-Fi worked pretty well and the cable TV was limited but worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Pecos River RV Park & Store
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   6   2   8   8   6   2   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2014
$36
Registration is in the gift shop and when I entered the gentleman behind the counter did not acknowledge me so I finally asked if this was where I was to register. He said "Register for what". I responded "Camping". He asked what I was camping in and I said a 5th wheel. He then said "That is NOT camping! That is RV'ing and next time DO NOT say camping when you are not camping." I was astonished by his rudeness and should have walked right out! He was downright mean. Beyond that, the park was dirty. The ladies restroom/shower area was filthy and looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks. No paper towels, hair & dirt everywhere. Overflowing trashcans. I would never stay here again even if it is the closest RV park to Carlsbad Caverns. Rate reflects a AAA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2014
$36
We were directed by signs to book in at the store that is the gift shop and Visitors Centre. The gentleman was rude and sullen. Perhaps he wasn't feeling well as he sniffed loudly and disgustingly throughout checking us in. The campground is gravel, sites are cramped and litter is strewn about. The one women's shower/toilet combination room was filthy and the only camp rubbish bin was overflowing. It gets a one for a clean laundry. We would not stay here again and would drive miles out of our way to avoid doing so. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$36
Pull-through sites are easy to get into although narrow. Full hook ups in decent condition, plus cable and good Wi-Fi. Register in the gift shop below, and if they are closed, register at Rodeway Inn. This park doesn't even have a website. Plenty of sites available right now. Literally footsteps away from Carlsbad Caverns entrance, then a 5 mile drive to the visitors center. You and your neighbor share a covered patio, picnic table, and a charcoal grill. The town of Carlsbad is 20 miles away, so I recommend staying here in Whites City if you are visiting the park. Also the sites on the upper loop have a nice view of Guadalupe mountains. This is an older park, and there many older long term units here, so not the most aesthetically pleasing park. There is nothing to do here at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for White's City RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
May 2010
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   5   4   2   10   5   3   7   3   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
We were assigned site B1. The site was terrible with gas station nearby. Could hear traffic all night long, not to mention the commercial diesel truck running at 5:00 in the morning. Park is a low income trailer court and should not be called an RV park. Found the bathroom clean, but our site had paper and cigarettes littered on the ground. We had Passport America discount and wanted to save a few $. If I had to pay full price I would have demanded my money back. Recommend staying at her sister park as it's maintained better. Downside with Passport America is you can only stay two night to get the discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
All full hook up, pull through sites with Cable included. We were not particularly comfortable in the neighborhood. The campsites are right next to a gas station that caters to trucks. Noisy and bright! They also made a point to tell us to keep our dog on a leash, but dogs were running around loose in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$17
We stayed here 3 nights. The entire park was rather shabby and un-kept. Looked like a lot of permanent residents. They caution high water pressure, but when our water would not work, the office sent help. The help was living in the site next to us. He was very nice and helpful, but his area was terrible. When we pulled in to our site, you could not step out of the drivers side without stepping on dog waste. It was all over the place. All around where we had to connect our hookups. Very stinky. The park is very cramped and in a bad neighborhood. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The laundry and recreation area was fairly clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Windmill RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com