214402 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Carlsbad, New Mexico (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
18.40 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
2401 S Canal
1.15 miles E
Water Treatment Plant
Carlsbad
1.24 miles NE
Windmill Rv
(888)349-7275
1.49 miles SE
Carlsbad Rv
(888)8Rv-Park
2.08 miles SE
Rv Service Center
2.19 miles S
Cavern City Air Terminal
2.94 miles SW
Mosley Spring 68
14.35 miles SW
New Mexico
Carlsbad
Most Recently Reviewed
White's City RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-29 15:15:33
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   9   8   7   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
We were lucky enough to reserve one of the few full hook-up sites, at a very reasonable rate. The sites were large, with a nice picnic table shaded under a shelter with a rock wall wind break. Other than the fact that it was just so darn hot while we were there, it was a great spot, with lots of bunnies hopping around. Although it was about 12 miles north of town, so a little inconvenient for the caverns and other things in town, we were told by a waitress that the other campgrounds in town were full of the oil workers. We were here during the week, but it definitely wasn't close to full. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$14
We stayed two nights at Brantley Lake State Park as a base for our day trip to the Carlsbad Caverns. We had a perfect site for our trailer with our back to the open plains that lead to the lake. We could hike within a mile through some semi rough terrain to the lake with our young family. We stayed on a Saturday and a Sunday night. Sunday was definitely much less packed and quieter, but we also had a rough wind storm in the area. I would love to camp at this same site again! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$4
$4 (after purchasing an out-of-state NM annual camping permit for $225 because we will stay in at least two other NM state parks) per night was for a 50A electric and water site on a level asphalt pad. In addition, the generously sized site had a covered picnic table with a privacy/windbreak wall, BBQ grill (which could not be used as they had a no wood or charcoal burning ban due to extremely high fire danger), and 12x12 gravel tent pad. There is a dump station about .5 miles from the campground which was easily accessible with our 40’ MH and attached tow car—no grate to remove, just the step on cap. Dense desert shrubbery is in and around the campground as well as numerous trees, all of which were blooming profusely during our stay. Animals we saw during our stay included lizards, white-tailed and jackrabbits, 13-lined squirrels, roadrunners, Scaled Quail, and countless songbirds. If you like walking/hiking/biking there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. The night sky is gorgeous as are the sunsets. The park is very quiet. During our stay, there were high winds on several days including one night with wind gusts of 45 mph. The campground is just 18 miles north Carlsbad, NM which offers shopping and dining. Mexican restaurants are not open on Sundays. Google maps does indeed show the state park on the wrong side of the lake. Garmin and Bing show the state park’s location correctly. The nearby Living Desert State Park and Zoo is worth the visit even though it’s not included in the annual camping permit; cost is $5 per adult. We received four bars 4G on our AT&T cell phone. We used our Millenicom jetpack as a Wi-Fi hotspot and it worked very well on four bars of Verizon 4G LTE. OTA TV had 12 channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Brantley Lake State Park
Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   5   4   8   9   9   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
Spent two nights in order to tour Carlsbad Caverns. Our site was level with a paver patio, concrete picnic table, shaded swing and fire ring. Facilities were excellent except for the laundry which had two dryers out of service. The BBQ take out was good, but pricey and child plates should have been offered. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
About an hour away from civilization, caverns, and anything else to do which we kind of liked. Sites were level and clean. Very quiet. At check-in, the lady was really nice and explained they cook a BBQ dinner (for a fee) every night. If you want them to provide a meal, you'd have to have order in by 6:15pm. Escort provided into spot. Not a lot of shade, but it is New Mexico. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$48
Level rock sites and wide with good spacing between sites. Many oil field works on the back side of Park. They have activities for kids, good BBQ menu, friendly, would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Carlsbad KOA
Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   8   8   6   8   4   7   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
This campground has just about anything you could want at a campground, but it is overpriced for just a one night stop. After being told on the phone that they would honor the Passport America price, when we got there we were told that they hadn't been accepting it for over two years now (even though we had stayed there 9 months ago under the PA discount), and they gave us only a 10% general discount. Check in took over half an hour, neither gentleman in the store was familiar with the procedure, and we were told they would bring us a receipt later on, as they didn't know how to produce one. Never got it. As I said, there is absolutely everything here, if you are going to be here long enough to use it. But for a quick overnight, while on the road, it was quite overpriced. I only rated it an 8 due to the check-in process and the fact that the spaces are very close together. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
This is a bare bones RV campground. The staff was exceptional and the best part of the park. The sites barely have gravel and only a few trees throughout. You can see that they are trying to make some improvements as some of the sites have newly placed patios at the site. If you can use a "back in" site, you might have a little grass, and, as I said, some of sites have patios,but you are still pretty much in the dirt. Its hard to rate this place. Carlsbad is a dry dusty place it self. The campground is a very dry dusty place too, and I doubt that could ever change. There are a lot of oil field workers that also stay there full time, but.did not seem to create any issues. They were in regular RV trailers, too. It was close to Carlsbad Caverns, which was our reason for being there. Would I stay again? Maybe, as I don't think there are that many choices. But it was so difficult to keep anything clean. Price reflects Good Sam, and I think for the place, it was a bit pricey, but the park was pretty full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$43
Carlsbad is a small desert town. Carlsbad RV Park is a little outside of town - toward the Caverns. It was perfect for us as we intended to visit Roswell 1 day (1.5 hours away) and the caverns another day. The park has no entertainment itself, but if you are in Carlsbad, you are here for a reason. Sites are large, hosts are friendly, and it was very quiet - even after the oil workers came in for the night. There is no grass to speak of so dogs cannot play well. We stayed 3 days and would do so again if we come back this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Carlsbad RV Park and Campground
Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   3   8   5   3   8   4   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2014
$39
This place is a dump. It's actually an old trailer park behind a convenience store. The street noise was loud, and the published pictures were not representative. The neighborhood worried us so we just locked our doors and waited for morning so we could leave. Very overpriced. Driving in and out with our 34' motorhome and toad was a real challenge. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
A very old campground. Poorly maintained. 50 amp service but no circuit breaker. The electrical receptacle actually had old fashioned fuses. Large, half-dead pecan trees overhung the camp sites. I asked the owner who would be responsible if a large limb fell on a camper and he said that would be considered an act of God which means he would not be responsible even though he knew the trees were half dead. No thanks-we will stay elsewhere the next time we stay in Carlsbad. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$27
Pecos River RV Park & Store is located on the Pecos River in Carlsbad, NM, on Greene Street. Access is a little tricky because the highway going past the park in under construction and the bridge very near the park is being re-enforced so one lane is closed during the day just before the entrance to the park. The easiest access is through the drive directly behind the store and it takes you into a small but neat campground with full hookups and level gravel sites with wood picket fences separating the sites. There is a Pecos River Walk easily accessible from the park and it's lighted at night with paved walkways. The park owner is a great guy who goes out of his way to make you feel at ease and he takes immediate action if there is a problem with the site or hookups. This is a good place to stay over for a night or two, or the long term, depending on your needs, and it's close to Carlsbad Caverns National Park and Guadalupe Mountains National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Pecos River RV Park & Store
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   7   7   1   1   6   2   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  no  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  no  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
We arrived without a reservation after watching the bat flight at Carlsbad Cavern. That was our first mistake. You have to go to the Rodeway Inn to check in! Stood in line behind half a dozen people checking in to the motel. Warning signs should have been that the hotel had lost all three reservations of the couples in front of me. Finally served by a very nice, very senior gentlemen who completed my reservation. After nearly an hour wait, he shows me a very poor aerial photo of the campsite, no campground map, and tells me to take #1 or #2! I unhook my toad, drive into the park, and then spent 30 minutes walking up and down with a flashlight trying to find these sites. Then we are joined by the next customer in line, doing the same thing. I sent my wife back in the toad to the motel for clearer instructions, to be told "Pick any empty site!" Myself and the other lost camper spent another 30 minutes walking and driving around in the dark before we found at the end of an obscure hidden road more sites. In desperation we walked these remote sites with a flashlight before we found numbers #1 and #2 written in 1" inch letters on an electrical box!!! Finally 2 hours after registering I managed to pull into site #1. I am wedged between two permanent campers. I am not able to open my slides fully, as others have mentioned. The sites face each other. When I open my door I am three feet away from my neighbours awning. We share a center table, his grill is three feet from my slide! This is the worst campsite I have ever stayed in. The most badly organized, poorly designed and most poorly run. Under no circumstances consider staying here. It is far too stressful, and at $40, it is ridiculously overpriced. If it was free I wouldn't stay here again, if I could give it a minus score I would. Horrible, horrible, horrible! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
As stated by others, most sites are too narrow for slideouts on both sides. We were lucky to get an end site which was fine. No reservations, so take your chances with a big rig. Closest place to Carlsbad Caverns which is only 7 miles up the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
We had an early morning ranger-led tour at Carlsbad Caverns, so we needed a site nearby. This one worked for us. No problem with registration; the man at the gift shop was helpful with a suggestion for a good hiking area. The site was narrow with a shared table and shade structure. The combination toilet/shower room, which we did not use, was austere and not inviting. If our unit was not self-contained, I would have to lower the overall rating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for White's City RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
May 2010
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   5   4   2   10   5   3   7   3   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
We were assigned site B1. The site was terrible with gas station nearby. Could hear traffic all night long, not to mention the commercial diesel truck running at 5:00 in the morning. Park is a low income trailer court and should not be called an RV park. Found the bathroom clean, but our site had paper and cigarettes littered on the ground. We had Passport America discount and wanted to save a few $. If I had to pay full price I would have demanded my money back. Recommend staying at her sister park as it's maintained better. Downside with Passport America is you can only stay two night to get the discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
All full hook up, pull through sites with Cable included. We were not particularly comfortable in the neighborhood. The campsites are right next to a gas station that caters to trucks. Noisy and bright! They also made a point to tell us to keep our dog on a leash, but dogs were running around loose in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$17
We stayed here 3 nights. The entire park was rather shabby and un-kept. Looked like a lot of permanent residents. They caution high water pressure, but when our water would not work, the office sent help. The help was living in the site next to us. He was very nice and helpful, but his area was terrible. When we pulled in to our site, you could not step out of the drivers side without stepping on dog waste. It was all over the place. All around where we had to connect our hookups. Very stinky. The park is very cramped and in a bad neighborhood. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The laundry and recreation area was fairly clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Windmill RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com