223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Clayton, New Mexico (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
31.56 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Clayton-CS
0.44 miles S
New Mexico
Clayton
Most Recently Reviewed
Clayton RV Park (formerly Clayton KOA)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-22 01:33:19
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Clayton, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   5   7   8   8   9   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$10
I loved this park. It is 12 miles from town but the paved road is in good condition. The roads into the 2 developed campground loops are good but the road to the primitive camping areas is badly washed out. Of the 2 loops the one with electric and water is the least attractive but the sites all have a lake view and most are pull through. There is not much privacy between sites. There is plenty of room for big rigs. Reservations should be made for W&E sites. I found one of my best ever tent sites on the undeveloped loop. It was lakeside and very private. There was a large picnic table on a paved pad with a cover. The parking area was badly washed but I had no trouble getting in and out. The loop without W&E has a few sites suitable for RVs if you don't mind a little leveling in exchange for larger private sites. Clayton SP is known for its fishing, birding and its 500 dinosaur tracks. It's an easy hike to the dinosaur tracks. Don't miss them. I would definitely stay here again. Be advised that there are many areas in NM, even along major highways, where cell service is unavailable including this park. If you can't live without it stay close to towns. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
We did not stay here but would have liked to if they had the 50amp electric service that they told us they did on the phone. The views from the camp site were amazing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
Stayed in site E4 (electric and water). Site is your basic average state park. Did not use it but there is a shower house, condition unknown. It rained 3 of the 4 nights we stayed here. All the sights are on the side of a hill leading down to the lake. During the rains all sorts of debris and gravel was washed down hill. The road out of the campground was almost washed out. Park ranger was very friendly and helpful. His assistant, however, was anything but. In fact, rude and inconsiderate come to mind. Entrance to the park is down a steep switchback road. The road between Clayton and the park is narrow, winding and prone to flooding and washout. During one night of rain we were prevented from going into town because the road was flooded and closed. Be advised, there is absolutely no cell phone service available at the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Clayton Lake State Park
Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   5   6   5   9   6   7   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2014
$28
We have stayed here before so we came back, and what a disappointment. The whole campground is so neglected and run down it looks almost to be closed. Burrs all over the grounds so it is almost impossible to walk the dog. As one reviewer said, the desk lady was having a bad day. Picnic tables have peeling paint and broken boards so they can't be sat upon or used at all. Reservations are not taken when you call ahead. We will not be back even for a overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
Just finished a 2 week trip to Texas in our 5th wheel, and on our way back home we stayed in this park. We really just need a place for the evening to hook up, eat dinner, and get ready to leave again in the morning. Centrally located in Clayton, easy to find from the highway, Wi-Fi and electric worked well, bathrooms were clean, easy to navigate park, staff was friendly and made the check-in quick and fast. For a quick overnight stay it was perfect. If we needed to stay in the area again for a night, we would stay here again. Everything in the park looked a little worn, it looked like not much maintenance had been done for awhile. No cable TV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
This is an older KOA that I have stayed at several times the last decade. It continues to become more and more run down. The gravel has washed away and many are dirt sites. Old construction equipment (tracthoe or something and construction materials abandoned on the property). Many trees have died from lack of water. The dog park is just an enclosed weed patch, as was the entire property. A little broadleaf killer would work wonders. Loose dogs were common and there was never a staff member outside the office one time. My wife and I both visited the office and the 2 ladies there must have been having very bad days. I did notice that small cups of coffee is available for $1.50 and old video rentals for $11.00. Seems kind of high since they are less to purchase ar Walmart. I thought the park had cable TV available, but did not see any sites with it. The train is quite loud and will wake the soundest sleeper. Not much other choice if you need a place to stay, but a little paint, a little gravel and a smile from the staff would sure help this old place. Also noticed that they packed all the campers in close to each other and left big sections empty. Would have been nice to be spread among all the vacant space, especially since there were loose dogs. Really cannot recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Clayton RV Park (formerly Clayton KOA)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com