206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Cloudcroft, New Mexico (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.95 miles NE
15.68 miles NW
22.11 miles W
24.99 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Rebecca'S - Cloudcroft
8.62 miles NW
Ski Cloudcroft
9.40 miles NW
Scenic Canyon
9.61 miles NE
Cool Pines Rv Mm
(505)687-3200
10.78 miles NE
Timberon Trails-Pounds Rd
12.15 miles S
New Mexico
Cloudcroft
Most Recently Reviewed
Sugar Pines RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2012-11-11 19:34:33
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Cloudcroft, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
April 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
The owner was accommodating and pleasant. The park is secluded and quiet. The grounds were nicely maintained. The elevation keeps you cool. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
If you're tired of hearing highway noise at almost every campground you go to and just want some quiet and the chance to view wildlife: then this is the place for you. No amenities or activities (which is fine with me) but you'll be camping in a breathtaking valley surrounded by pine trees and incredible wildlife. In the evening you can hear the elk (we've heard they sometimes walk within viewing distance of the campsites). Lots of deer and birds that come to the campsite. So tranquil and serene. If you don't mind a 10 minute drive, you can be in the center of Cloudcroft: a very quaint town with great gift shops and eateries. It's about 1/2 hour down the mountain to major shopping in Alamogordo so try to stock up before making the trek. Also be aware that many things you buy in Alamogordo will expand (or burst) by the time you get back up to Cloudcroft because of the change in altitude, so be prepared and keep watch on things. The only reason I can't give it higher than an 8 is that the water pressure was very low (almost unusable), sites were very tight and close together and the entrance to the campground is not for the faint of heart (very narrow and steep). The only more appropriate name for this campground would be "Starry Canyon" because you can see more stars than almost anywhere (including the milky way). One more thing to note: be aware that the main way to get here is via 82. From Alamogordo, it's a 17 mile climb up the mountain and could be difficult in a gasser if you're close to tow capacity. I personally wouldn't want to leave going this way if I had a gasser because going back down looked like it could be very difficult without air brakes. It's over 14 miles of 6% grade or more. That being said, 82 to and from Artesia is a much better route if you don't have a diesel with air brakes. We will definitely be back! (We just hope the water pressure is better next time.) We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Nice secluded park in a beautiful valley. Many return / seasonal campers were were very friendly. Sites are small and cramped. Owner was very helpful. As their website states, this is an adult, quiet park. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Scenic Canyon RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
16
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   1   2   6   3   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
We were fortunate to be there off season. We were able to get a pull-thru site. The other sites available at the time would have required us to back up a steep hill into the sites. Could be done, but not easy. It's located about a mile from the center of town. Could use a little TLC. Owner was friendly but I felt a little overpriced for what we got. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
We stayed here while passing through overnight. We had space 5 on the lower edge of the park which was the only pull-through, across the street from the hillbilly's with two poor dogs tied up with rope. One got loose and got around my kids but luckily was friendly. The 'neighbors' were up early banging on metal and working on equipment. -Sites are very steep to get to and I would not want to attempt backing up into most sites. It is in a residential area but not enclosed so we didn't feel safe going into town and leaving our trailer for long. It was an oasis for a long trip but not someplace we will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
Unattended, so no way to know if the bathrooms are clean, since we don't have a key. Cable TV is fuzzy. Water spigot leaks, Not enough gravel on the site. Trashy neighborhood. Not really in the village. One upside: we got a pull-through site which means we can leave early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Sugar Pines RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com