214815 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Jemez Springs, New Mexico (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Warm Springs 129
8.41 miles SE
Phillips Springs 70
11.82 miles SE
Indian Springs 123
15.21 miles SE
New Mexico
Jemez Springs
Most Recently Reviewed
Jemez Falls - USFS
Latest Review Submited On
2013-04-16 09:07:40
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Jemez Springs, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   3   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$14
In late October this park was quiet, and its lake offered the best trout fishing I have seen in years. The hiking trails were easy, and beautiful fall colors were everywhere. It would be an ideal park for someone with a truck camper. If you are visiting with a travel trailer or motorhome it might not be a pleasant experience. Roads are quite bad with many potholes. If you are going up the "RV loop," be careful, as there are a couple spots where you could easily bottom out if too low off the ground. If the only pull through spot, at the end of the loop, is occupied you may have to back up to negotiate the curve to exit the camping loop. There are no showers or dump station. There is no internet, over the air television or telephone service. A map on the bulletin board shows the nearest cell phone service, 5 miles down the highway (which does work!). If you want a peaceful getaway without technology this is a great place to find it. One bonus surprise was that the 6 electric sites all had generous stacks of nice burning free firewood at the grills! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
The campground is quite pretty, although there is more dirt and pine needles than grass. The sites are unlevel, and only five have electricity. There is very little privacy between them. The non-electric sites have more separation and privacy. There are no facilities other than pit toilets; the one in the electrical section was very smelly, but the one in the non-electric was nicer; those sites are only $10. Excellent hiking, and fishing for those who are interested. We would have preferred to stay in the San Antonio Creek Campground, but it was closed for maintenance. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
We are here in late spring, and it's anything but quiet on the weekends. Weekdays are silent, but weekends are wild here. The best sites are the no-hookup sites at the end of the campground. We have #11 and it's the best! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Fenton Lake State Park
Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$8



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   5   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$8
This a wonderful place for camping while you enjoy the activities in the Jemez Mountains, such as fishing, hiking, and enjoying the hot springs. It's an easy hike to the waterfalls from here. The campground is large, with several loops of campsites. There is plenty of room to maneuver your rig. They are planning to upgrade some of the sites in 2013. Reserved sites are available. Adminstrtor Note: This USFS area is temporarily closed. Check with the Ranger Office for updates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$5
Jemez Falls CG is a beautiful CG at 8100'. Surrounding forest was recently thinned out for safety, though it didn’t prevent a camper from setting fire to his site Memorial Day weekend during extreme drought conditions. The CG water supply was tested in early June, but produced only a trickle, and the water well will have to be re-drilled much lower into the water table ($$$). That probably won’t happen until 2012, so make sure that your water tank is FULL (thus a rating of 8, not 10). Vault toilets are new style, and well vented, but without water in CG, are rarely washed out. Cell phone service (Verizon) is spotty and depends on where you stand. Nearby Jemez Falls is a nice walk and picturesque, and McCauley warm springs is a good hike where you can soak your muscles for free. Toward the end of our 4-day stay (June 22-25, 2011), drought conditions caused the Forest Service to declare “no open flames” in CG, which meant fire pits, or exterior propane stoves and grills could not be used. CG is usually fairly quiet weekdays, but can fill up on weekends, especially holidays. We use a 45 watt solar panel kit to keep the TT battery charged while dry camping. NOTE - CG was temporarily closed during summer due to extreme drought and the Las Conchas wildfire. Call Jemez Ranger Station (575-829-3535) for latest conditions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$5
Our rate of $5 was with the Golden Age Passport. We visited a week at Memorial Day. When almost everyone left on Monday, a VERY CARELESS CAMPER left his campfire going. We had to call in a 911 for fire equipment. The fire traveled fast and took 5 hours to contain. Please, campers, put water on your campfires!!! This is a typical forest service campground with pit toilets which weren't kept clean by campers or the host. On May 23 the water spigots weren't turned on yet. It was very noisy during the weekend but pleasantly quiet weekdays. There were some sites for our 40' motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Jemez Falls - USFS
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$5
Redondo CG has deteriorated over the years, and could use a complete rebuild. The water system hasn't worked in years, so make sure your water tank is FULL. Vault toilets are very old and smelly. Many sites won't fit an RV. East side of CG okay for tents, not RVs. When I was here, there was no host, and pit toilets hadn't been serviced (no TP) in a while, fire pits were full of trash. CG is densely wooded, and really needs to be thinned out to be safer from wildfire. Usually very quiet during week, somewhat busy weekends, rarely full. No cell phone service, but is available across Hwy. NOTE - CG is temporarily closed due to extreme drought. Call Jemez Ranger Station (575-829-3535) for latest conditions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com