214792 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Raton, New Mexico (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
20.21 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Pappas' Sweet Shop
0.41 miles SE
Summerlan Rv Service
0.67 miles SE
Cedar Rail Cg
(505)445-8500
7.43 miles NW
New Mexico
Raton
Most Recently Reviewed
Raton Pass Camp and Cafe (Formerly Cedar Rail)Raton Pass Camp and Cafe (Formerly Cedar Rail)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-15 01:22:162014-07-15 04:52:49
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Raton, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
November 2010
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   3   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Basic RV Park right next to I-25 with normal traffic noise. Park does have 50 Amp power, but does not allow electric heaters. There were signs saying "NO ELECTRIC HEATERS" and the owner repeated the prohibition. The night we were here, the low was 33 so heat was definitely needed. Sites were narrow but adequate to extend slides on both sides. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
We arrived later than usual for us, about 6:00pm, and the park was nearly empty. The manager was out so we parked ourselves in a level pull through and our 38' motorhome and truck in tow just fit. The gravel sites all appear very level. The free Wi-Fi was excellent. This park is fine for a one or two night stop. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Poorly maintained, junky looking, loud highway noise. High price for what they offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Kickback RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   10   8   9   8   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Large, mostly level gravel sites. Clean bathhouse in the East Campground. Wifi is available at the shotgun range close by. ATT coverage was excellent. We were able to pick up several over the air TV stations. Mining ghost town on the property worth exploring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Boy, is this the best kept secret or what? If peace and quiet are for you, this is the place. Only gave it an 8 because of the roads and gravel sites. 44,000 acres here. Can hear some gunfire during the day but night is dead silent except for wildlife. Stayed here 3 days just because it is so peaceful and beautiful. About 8 TV channels over the air. Only six spots have 50 Amp. Maybe 15 other rigs here in addition to us. No highway noise whatever. Big rigs no problem. Our 5th wheel is 40 ft. $30 I posted is for 50 Amp site. The rest are $27. Also have cabins. If you like to shoot guns, you could spend weeks here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
$30 rate included tax. This is what I call a 'specialty' RV facility, meaning you pretty much would stay here if you were using the shooting facility. GREAT shooting facility, look them up at their website. There are actually two RV campgrounds and this is the west one and only the west one currently has 50 amp service and only one that really has trees: lots of them. Spaces are carved out of the pinion and pine trees so if you want satellite TV be sure to tell them when you make reservations, or trees might block your line of sight. NO good AT&T service (E instead of 3g), and no WiFi unless you go to the Shotgun center. Verizon service was much better than AT&T. RV sites are a few miles back into the property on gravel/dirt roads so if you have a diesel pusher, be aware of dust situation. Since there are no street lights, evenings were 'dark skys' and very peaceful. Close proximity to Raton for places to eat, get groceries, etc. Staff was EXTREMELY nice. Would stay here again as they have plans to expand and offer other than shooting: like hiking and mountain biking. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for NRA Whittington Center Campground
Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   7   8   9   8   7   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Easy access from Interstate. Level sites but a little dusty with wind blowing. Friendly people at check in. WiFi was useless or would have gave it a better rating. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
This was a very well kept but older park. Very easy access not far off the highway but no noticeable highway noise. Like other reviews said there are restaurants within walking distance but we didn't eat out. The sites were wide and long enough for very big rigs with lots of room to maneuver. The staff were all very friendly. There is a small fenced area that is not really a dog run but they said we could use this as one if we wanted but is not guaranteed to be secure. It appears to have been at one time a deluxe RV site but hasn't been used as such in years. Everything we used worked very well and we plan to make this a regular stop when traveling this way in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
We have stayed here several times in our travels. The sites and aisles are roomy enough for big rigs. There is a nice fenced in dog run, and a local steakhouse within walking distance of the park. The park is clean and quiet. Not much grass, but that is the climate here. This is a good, reliable place to spend a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Raton KOA
Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   9   10   8   9   9   8   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
Excellent location. Amazing views and easy access right at the top off raton pass off I -25. They offer a great dinner and breakfast. Everything is homemade. Highly recommend. Great owners and clean and peaceful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
Rates reflects Mil/Vet rate. A lovely, quiet, and clean private park at the top of Raton Pass. Level gravel sites and beautiful vista across the valley and down to the Pass. Great WiFi, but don't download or play games. Spotless combined laundry, restroom, and shower facility. For an extra treat, they have homemade and reasonably priced dinners and scratch desserts. Would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$31
Fabulous views from this top of a ridge campground. Easy to get into as office staff guide you to your spot. We were in a pull-through with plenty of space for our 4 slides. Spotless maintenance. Campground is all small pea gravel, so NO dust. Family owned and all the staff very nice. Several hiking trails off of the area. Electric 50 amp power , water all strong and satellite RV reception strong. No cable. Better Wi-Fi reception down near the office. Easy off the highway to the campground location. This is a EXCELLENT retreat. Stop at office / cafe to register. Breakfast and some dinners available in cafe. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Raton Pass Camp and Cafe (Formerly Cedar Rail)
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
January 2007
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2007
$15
Raton RV Park – Raton, NM. Don’t know where to start with this campground. We stayed here on January 23, 2007. The park is located south of mid-town with entry off the main drag. Sites are small. The park is VERY tired looking and in need of maintenance. Watch for overhead obstructions from trees. No bathhouse. However…we only paid $15 for one night with full hook-ups. Before, we stayed here we went to another park in town, Summerland next to I-25 - no go. Raton is not a town where you’ll find outstanding campgrounds. We returned and spent the night at this park. Don’t expect much from this park, however, it’s okay for a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   7   5   9   8   6   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
Pretty compact area. Tight negotiating road to site for our 35 foot RV. Was one or two sites nearer road for large rigs. Stayed only one night and was fine. Probably would not go out of our way to stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$14
Sugarite Canyon is beautiful, though very hot in summer. Lake Maloya is stocked with trout and bass, and no motorboats are allowed except small electric motors. There is a self-guided walking trail through the remains of the old mining community just above the visitor center- very interesting. Lots of birds to see. The showers are probably more than a mile from the campground, so we didn't bother to go down there. Restrooms are pit toilets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$14
I stayed in the first campground (Alice Lake?) which could be an issue with rigs longer than my 24' View. Tight turns. I believe the next camp further into the canyon is more suited for the longer set-ups, but not sure. Few if any of the spots are spot on level. Pit toilets only. The showers are inconveniently located a mile and a half back down the road across from the visitor center. Camp host lady was friendly and came up with clip board in hand. Easy check in. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Sugarite Canyon State Park
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   5   4   7   7   6   9   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$31
They have very friendly staff members. The park is near an I-25 exit which makes it easy to find, but also being that close to the highway meant that the noise level was rather high. They have rather narrow pull-thru sites. All things considered I doubt if we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
Stuck here with a friend who was broken down and felt fortunate that this park was as nice as it was. Very nice and helpful owners/host. Sites are close, but held a 45' with towed while we were there. Very nice restrooms and showers. While there - go to the old Sugarite ghost town State Park, and take the north road to Capulin. Rate reflects a GS discount and is based on a weekly rate of $180. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$29
We came in on a Sunday morning and the office was closed and did not open. We self-registered so we may be missing some information that would have been available if we had talked to park staff. The cable reception was unacceptable; it was fuzzy and we did not get any of the major networks. A neighbor told us that the cable system had been hit by lightning and there was a dispute with the insurance company. As mentioned by another reviewer, we were expected to disconnect our water overnight. The park definitely needs a little TLC. We were in a site by the Interstate, but inside the RV the noise was not noticeable. We would stay here again if the timing required a stop in Raton. Wi-Fi worked great. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Summerland RV Park
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com