206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Raton, New Mexico (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
20.21 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Pappas' Sweet Shop
0.41 miles SE
Summerlan Rv Service
0.67 miles SE
Cedar Rail Cg
(505)445-8500
7.43 miles NW
New Mexico
Raton
Most Recently Reviewed
Raton KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-01 02:57:52
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Raton, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   7   7   8   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Great overnight stop as we traveled from Denver. I didn't read the directions and we went one stop on I-25, heading south, past it. You get off at the same exit as the weigh station. We did turn around and on the north route it's clearly marked and easy entry to the park. Well sited on a hill overlooking the area with a good pull through we were happy for the night. We'd stay there again. Didn't use any amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
Nice park. Not all that much there, but great view. Good electric and ok Internet. Quite place and pretty level spots. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
Stayed here for two days while we visited the area. Great little campground. Clean and well maintained. The campground is located at the top of Raton Pass with great views of the surrounding countryside. Pay close attention to the exit instructions if you are traveling south on I-25 as the exit is shared with the truck weigh/inspection station and you can easily miss the ramp to the campground. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Cedar Rail RV Park & Campground
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
November 2010
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   3   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Basic RV Park right next to I-25 with normal traffic noise. Park does have 50 Amp power, but does not allow electric heaters. There were signs saying "NO ELECTRIC HEATERS" and the owner repeated the prohibition. The night we were here, the low was 33 so heat was definitely needed. Sites were narrow but adequate to extend slides on both sides. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
We arrived later than usual for us, about 6:00pm, and the park was nearly empty. The manager was out so we parked ourselves in a level pull through and our 38' motorhome and truck in tow just fit. The gravel sites all appear very level. The free Wi-Fi was excellent. This park is fine for a one or two night stop. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Poorly maintained, junky looking, loud highway noise. High price for what they offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Kickback RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   8   9   8   8   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Boy, is this the best kept secret or what? If peace and quiet are for you, this is the place. Only gave it an 8 because of the roads and gravel sites. 44,000 acres here. Can hear some gunfire during the day but night is dead silent except for wildlife. Stayed here 3 days just because it is so peaceful and beautiful. About 8 TV channels over the air. Only six spots have 50 Amp. Maybe 15 other rigs here in addition to us. No highway noise whatever. Big rigs no problem. Our 5th wheel is 40 ft. $30 I posted is for 50 Amp site. The rest are $27. Also have cabins. If you like to shoot guns, you could spend weeks here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
$30 rate included tax. This is what I call a 'specialty' RV facility, meaning you pretty much would stay here if you were using the shooting facility. GREAT shooting facility, look them up at their website. There are actually two RV campgrounds and this is the west one and only the west one currently has 50 amp service and only one that really has trees: lots of them. Spaces are carved out of the pinion and pine trees so if you want satellite TV be sure to tell them when you make reservations, or trees might block your line of sight. NO good AT&T service (E instead of 3g), and no WiFi unless you go to the Shotgun center. Verizon service was much better than AT&T. RV sites are a few miles back into the property on gravel/dirt roads so if you have a diesel pusher, be aware of dust situation. Since there are no street lights, evenings were 'dark skys' and very peaceful. Close proximity to Raton for places to eat, get groceries, etc. Staff was EXTREMELY nice. Would stay here again as they have plans to expand and offer other than shooting: like hiking and mountain biking. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
This is the first RV park I have ever visited, which offers a 360 degree panorama view, right from the campground. And it is a stunning view indeed, with nearby mountains to the west and north, and vistas over a huge plain to the east and south to more distant mountains. I could see Capulin Volcano, which is about 25 miles to the east. Campground elevation is 6500 feet. There are 117 full hookup RV sites total, in two campgrounds, and even the largest of rigs can easily be accommodated, but only 30 amp service, no 50 amp. Bathrooms were very spacious and clean, and each shower had an attached changing area. I don't know how big the entire NRA area is (there are many firing ranges as part of the center, but they are quite some distance from the two RV campgrounds), but I would estimate the total area to be hundreds of acres, perhaps thousands. Cellphone reception was excellent, and I was able to get 9 over-air channels on the TV in my rig. The host at the check-in said the campground never fills, but they do take reservations if one has a particular site they like. The Center is 10 miles south of Raton, on Highway 64, but the campground is maybe 1 mile in from the highway, so it is very quiet. You do not have to be an NRA member to camp here. I rarely give 10 star ratings, but this place earned it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for NRA Whittington Center Campground
Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   8   7   9   10   7   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
We have stayed here several times in our travels. The sites and aisles are roomy enough for big rigs. There is a nice fenced in dog run, and a local steakhouse within walking distance of the park. The park is clean and quiet. Not much grass, but that is the climate here. This is a good, reliable place to spend a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Nice clean and quiet overnight stop between Denver and Albuquerque. Pull-thru site was level and all utilities, including Wi-Fi, worked fine. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
This was a nice clean KOA that was not near the Interstate. The location was great for us. You can walk to a really nice Chinese Restaurant opposite the park as well as a nice grocery store and a gas station that has a Redbox for dvd rental. The owner was friendly as well as the rest of the staff. Bathrooms were clean, but had painted plywood between the stalls so could use an upgrade. This is pretty much a stop over park for a night or two. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Raton KOA
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
January 2007
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2007
$15
Raton RV Park – Raton, NM. Don’t know where to start with this campground. We stayed here on January 23, 2007. The park is located south of mid-town with entry off the main drag. Sites are small. The park is VERY tired looking and in need of maintenance. Watch for overhead obstructions from trees. No bathhouse. However…we only paid $15 for one night with full hook-ups. Before, we stayed here we went to another park in town, Summerland next to I-25 - no go. Raton is not a town where you’ll find outstanding campgrounds. We returned and spent the night at this park. Don’t expect much from this park, however, it’s okay for a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   5   9   8   6   10   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$14
Sugarite Canyon is beautiful, though very hot in summer. Lake Maloya is stocked with trout and bass, and no motorboats are allowed except small electric motors. There is a self-guided walking trail through the remains of the old mining community just above the visitor center- very interesting. Lots of birds to see. The showers are probably more than a mile from the campground, so we didn't bother to go down there. Restrooms are pit toilets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$14
I stayed in the first campground (Alice Lake?) which could be an issue with rigs longer than my 24' View. Tight turns. I believe the next camp further into the canyon is more suited for the longer set-ups, but not sure. Few if any of the spots are spot on level. Pit toilets only. The showers are inconveniently located a mile and a half back down the road across from the visitor center. Camp host lady was friendly and came up with clip board in hand. Easy check in. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
No showers and pit toilets. This is a decent state park and though the sites are not totally level, it did not take a lot to get level. Sites were big and with bushes all around very private. It would be hard to find a place where it is quieter than this. Beautiful scenery too. There are only a few sites with sewer and we took one which cost us $18 instead of $14 for sites with just water and sewer. Good fire pits and clean tables too. If you like to stay in the outdoors and enjoy yourself, this is a very good stopping spot. I don't happen to enjoy camping cheek to cheek with everyone and this fit my bill perfectly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Sugarite Canyon State Park
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   5   4   7   7   6   9   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$31
They have very friendly staff members. The park is near an I-25 exit which makes it easy to find, but also being that close to the highway meant that the noise level was rather high. They have rather narrow pull-thru sites. All things considered I doubt if we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
Stuck here with a friend who was broken down and felt fortunate that this park was as nice as it was. Very nice and helpful owners/host. Sites are close, but held a 45' with towed while we were there. Very nice restrooms and showers. While there - go to the old Sugarite ghost town State Park, and take the north road to Capulin. Rate reflects a GS discount and is based on a weekly rate of $180. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$29
We came in on a Sunday morning and the office was closed and did not open. We self-registered so we may be missing some information that would have been available if we had talked to park staff. The cable reception was unacceptable; it was fuzzy and we did not get any of the major networks. A neighbor told us that the cable system had been hit by lightning and there was a dispute with the insurance company. As mentioned by another reviewer, we were expected to disconnect our water overnight. The park definitely needs a little TLC. We were in a site by the Interstate, but inside the RV the noise was not noticeable. We would stay here again if the timing required a stop in Raton. Wi-Fi worked great. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Summerland RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com