223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Raton, New Mexico (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
20.21 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Pappas' Sweet Shop
0.41 miles SE
Summerlan Rv Service
0.67 miles SE
Cedar Rail Cg
(505)445-8500
7.43 miles NW
New Mexico
Raton
Most Recently Reviewed
Raton KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-13 19:38:25
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Raton, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
November 2010
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   3   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Basic RV Park right next to I-25 with normal traffic noise. Park does have 50 Amp power, but does not allow electric heaters. There were signs saying "NO ELECTRIC HEATERS" and the owner repeated the prohibition. The night we were here, the low was 33 so heat was definitely needed. Sites were narrow but adequate to extend slides on both sides. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
We arrived later than usual for us, about 6:00pm, and the park was nearly empty. The manager was out so we parked ourselves in a level pull through and our 38' motorhome and truck in tow just fit. The gravel sites all appear very level. The free Wi-Fi was excellent. This park is fine for a one or two night stop. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Poorly maintained, junky looking, loud highway noise. High price for what they offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Kickback RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   8   7   10   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
This is a great place to stay, like a remote site but with full hookups. We love it. However, many sites are not very level. There are great views of the surrounding mountains and beautiful northern New Mexico scenery. The west campground has better sites and 50-amp but no restroom facilities. The east campground has 30-amp service and numerous side-by-side hookups. It does have a restroom facility and laundry. There is no wifi in the campground. We had good Verizon broadband and cell signals. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Campground is very basic with full hookups. Staff is great. The first site we were assigned was very unlevel, so the staff told us to pick another and let them know. We picked another somewhat more level. If we had looked a little further, may have found one more level. Wonderful gift shop and museum at the entrance. There is noise from the ranges, but not bad. We were there four days and enjoyed it all, including the morning and evening visits of a doe and her two fawns. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Large, mostly level gravel sites. Clean bathhouse in the East Campground. Wifi is available at the shotgun range close by. ATT coverage was excellent. We were able to pick up several over the air TV stations. Mining ghost town on the property worth exploring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for NRA Whittington Center Campground
Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   5   7   8   7   10   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2014
$39
Not much to look at. The road in and the sites are gravel and dirt. Each site has a picnic table, a bar-b-q and a small amount of dead grass/weeds. The young man that worked the office was very nice. I checked out the laundry; there are 4 washers ($1.00) and 4 dryers ($1.00). Would not stay here again as I think $39 is extremely high for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$32
This park has great potential. The person who checked it in was very friendly and helpful. But it's very dusty and barren. A little paving, some grass, and clean up the junky areas could make it go from satisfactory to great. Restrooms/showers were nicely maintained. Will probably stay again passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
We have stayed at this park over the years when we are passing through on our way home. It's not a bad park, just not great. It needs some maintenance like trimming trees at the entrance & some of the sites that have trees so that they don't scratch the RV's. The park is totally dirt & the only grass is along the perimeter fence.The park is ok if you need something overnight but at $35.00 for 50 amp it's overpriced since the amenities are VERY minimal. They have free wifi which is nice if you can actually pick up a decent signal. We couldn't & the park isn't very big. If it wasn't a hot August day we could have tolerated a 30 amp site but it was way too hot & we needed both AC's to keep up with the heat. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Raton KOA
Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   8   10   9   10   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$26
Awesome views of the valley below. Friendly staff. Although close to the Interstate, little road noise. Not a place to stop and stock up as it is not close to town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Very easy access from I 25 on border between New Mexico & Colorado. Clean restrooms. Beautiful views of mesas in NM and mountains in CO (Spanish Peaks and Sangre De Christos). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
Very nice park. Level site with plenty of room to sit out. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Easy off and on the interstate, but no road noise. Lots of pull-throughs for overnighters. We had a back-in with beautiful views. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Raton Pass Camp and Cafe (Formerly Cedar Rail)
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
January 2007
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2007
$15
Raton RV Park – Raton, NM. Don’t know where to start with this campground. We stayed here on January 23, 2007. The park is located south of mid-town with entry off the main drag. Sites are small. The park is VERY tired looking and in need of maintenance. Watch for overhead obstructions from trees. No bathhouse. However…we only paid $15 for one night with full hook-ups. Before, we stayed here we went to another park in town, Summerland next to I-25 - no go. Raton is not a town where you’ll find outstanding campgrounds. We returned and spent the night at this park. Don’t expect much from this park, however, it’s okay for a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   7   5   9   8   6   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
Pretty compact area. Tight negotiating road to site for our 35 foot RV. Was one or two sites nearer road for large rigs. Stayed only one night and was fine. Probably would not go out of our way to stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$14
Sugarite Canyon is beautiful, though very hot in summer. Lake Maloya is stocked with trout and bass, and no motorboats are allowed except small electric motors. There is a self-guided walking trail through the remains of the old mining community just above the visitor center- very interesting. Lots of birds to see. The showers are probably more than a mile from the campground, so we didn't bother to go down there. Restrooms are pit toilets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$14
I stayed in the first campground (Alice Lake?) which could be an issue with rigs longer than my 24' View. Tight turns. I believe the next camp further into the canyon is more suited for the longer set-ups, but not sure. Few if any of the spots are spot on level. Pit toilets only. The showers are inconveniently located a mile and a half back down the road across from the visitor center. Camp host lady was friendly and came up with clip board in hand. Easy check in. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Sugarite Canyon State Park
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   5   4   7   7   6   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
Good place for a night or two, not a destination. Highway noise wasn't too bad. Staff friendly. Sites are only 19 ft wide for pull-throughs. Not much to see in town. Restrooms and showers were nice. Would stay here for a night or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$31
They have very friendly staff members. The park is near an I-25 exit which makes it easy to find, but also being that close to the highway meant that the noise level was rather high. They have rather narrow pull-thru sites. All things considered I doubt if we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
Stuck here with a friend who was broken down and felt fortunate that this park was as nice as it was. Very nice and helpful owners/host. Sites are close, but held a 45' with towed while we were there. Very nice restrooms and showers. While there - go to the old Sugarite ghost town State Park, and take the north road to Capulin. Rate reflects a GS discount and is based on a weekly rate of $180. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Summerland RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com