224106 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Red River, New Mexico (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
1.00 miles SW
6.51 miles E
14.58 miles NE
15.27 miles W
22.33 miles S
22.33 miles S
28.33 miles SE
28.33 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Red River Ski Area
9.29 miles E
Austing Haus B&B
11.41 miles SE
Taos Ski Valley
11.96 miles S
No Name 106
15.59 miles SW
New Mexico
Red River
Most Recently Reviewed
Roadrunner RV Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-24 17:09:56
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Red River, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$8.5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$8.5
This is a little piece of Heaven!!!! By far the nicest forest service campground we've ever encountered. Wide access roads - all blacktop as well as blacktop parking aprons. The campsites in the lower section, around the circle to the left as you enter, have beautiful concrete patios on which are a picnic table, grill, and fire pit. It was peaceful and the noise of the gurgling stream was louder than that of the road. The vaulted toilets were spotlessly clean and the camp host set out fabric softener sheets in the vents to keep it smelling nice and cut down on the flies. We stayed here four nights and although there were no hookups, potable water is available to fill up your containers of any sort including the motor home water tank. Also, you are able to drain your gray water into the treed area alongside the site. The campsites were large and private. Our AT&T 3G service worked great. Fire wood is available at $6 a bunch; kindling is free. We did not experience the problems with flies as one other reviewer detailed. We would love to stay here again and may make it a destination some time in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
This campground is located approx. 7 miles west of Red River and 5 miles east of Questa. It’s located in the Carson National Forest and sits at 7,900 ft. There’s a creek that flows through the campground with campsites on either side. Some sites are closer to the creek then others. There are 4 threaded water spigots located along the campground loop. All of the bathrooms are vault toilets, they were always clean!! No showers here…At the top of the loop is the trail head parking with a restroom and a threaded water spigot. There’s plenty of room to fill your water tanks without blocking the road. This is a very pretty campground with nice campsites. Our site (#20) was big enough for our 35’ MH and our tow car. Behind the MH was a little meadow where we were able to get tv satellite reception. We also had cell phone reception here too but no computer reception. The apron’s are asphalt and so is the interior road. The sites were level and very clean. Trash dumpsters are located near the beginning of the campground. The camp host is a real character, if you need information on the area she’s been there for 13 years. The only thing that was a drag was the fly population. There were 3 sizes to pick from and they never left you alone. Bug spray was their drink of choice. After battling them for 6 days we put up our screened room, we were there a total of 14 days which is the stay limit. The town of Red River has a nice market, Der Market. There’s lots to see and do. We would see the llamas being trucked into our campground around 9:00 am and the guide would load provisions on them for day hikes up the trail. Red River also has a visitor center where you can get lots of info on the area. The Carson National Forest Ranger’s Station is located just before entering Questa from the east. There are a few places where you can dump your black water. One being Red River Sewage which is between Red River and Columbine CG. (505) 754-6671, the charge is $8.00. It’s the closest one to the campground. You're allowed to run your gray water next to the trees. We used this campground as home base to explore the “enchanted circle” and would love to return again some day. We were here a little after the middle of June to early July. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
August 2009
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
This is a very nice Campground in the Kit Carson National Forest. Located on New Mexico State Highway 38 about 3 miles west of Red River NM at an elevation of nearly 8,600 on the GPS. With paved interior roads, it has four sites with level concrete pads. The remaining 16 sites have paved asphalt parking areas for RV's with their tables and fire rings adjacent in the dirt. About 3/4's of the sites can accommodate big rigs and long fifth wheels. Each site has a campfire grill and a picnic table. Water is available at several locations. Most of the camp sites are 50 to 80 feet from the other sites and masked by trees. Sites are nestled amidst large Ponderosa pines and Aspens. With our Golden Age Pass we paid $7.50 per night. Definitely a campground to come back to. Full on weekends with space usually available during the weekdays: at least that's what the camp host said. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$8
This is a great national forest campground with level concrete pads at each site. It has campfire grill and a picnic table on a paved patio at each site. Water is available at several locations. Each site is 70-80 feet from the other and masked by trees. The campground was spotless and the air was clean and fresh. Sites are nestled amidst large Ponderosa pines and Aspens. Why anyone would camp in a side by side RV park in Red River when this is available is beyond reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
22
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
Tuesday, June 4 – Fawn Lakes – Carson National Forest, Red River, New Mexico. This is one of five National Forest campgrounds near Red River, New Mexico, on the Scenic Byway, the Enchanted Circle. Most of the campsites are along the river, and there are sites big enough for 30ft RV’s. The best sites are for tenters or those with vans right on the river, but all sites are close to the river. No hookups, but water is available, and the pit toilets were very clean. It is a beautiful campground located under the Ponderosa Pines with some fir and spruce trees. Everyone can hear the river running southwest, and there are some paths along the river for walking to the lake. Fawn Lake (3 acres- four little lakes) is here for fishing which is also opened up to day trippers. Beautiful lake stocked with fish. The night we were there two young women were fishing at the lake and a bear came down the other side looking for food. It is bear country so beware. They now take reservations here since last fall, and the rest are first come. The cost was $17 and half with a pass. Beautiful and peaceful stop for a night or more. The four season town of Red River is less than two miles east on Route 38 which is also on the Enchanted Circle Scenic Byway. This is the most popular byway and the one that is heavily promoted in the state of New Mexico. My husband wanted to stay a week here, it was so enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$8.5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$8.5
This is the smallest of the Carson National Forrest campgrounds in the Red River area. All sites are dusty & gravel, but it is the closest to the city of Red River. We have camped here 4 times before and will do it again. There are pit toilets which are cleaned daily by the camp host, no shower. City water is available from one faucet from which you can fill your fresh water tank. The rate paid includes the National Senior 50% discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   2   7   6   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
We stayed for a week having made reservations over the phone. Our camper had a problem with the water and we mistakenly thought it was the campground system. When we questioned management, they became very unfriendly and combative. A second detail that they failed to mention on their website or during reservations was a $2 charge each time we showered. It is a nice location but I don't know if that makes up for the treatment shown customers. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
Owners/operators are very friendly and helpful. Park is within walking distance to town and right off of highway which can be noisy during the day, but quiets down at night. Not fancy, but the area is level, and bathrooms were clean. The best part is the fishing right out the door of your RV in the stream that runs along the park edge. Make sure your plans are firm, the $50 deposit is non-refundable. Wi-Fi is spotty at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
This RV park is a gravel parking lot with hookups on the edges. There is a nice stream the runs by it. The internet never worked and when the camp hosts were told they did not seem to care. The trash bins are not within the RV park. You have to walk out of the park to throw away trash. Red River the town is really nice. It is in a beautiful valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Red River RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   6   4   3   8   9   9   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This park is in dire need of interior road and infrastructure maintenance. We were moved from one site due to a water pipeline failure and one of our party suffered a blowout due to a sharp rock in one of the interior roads. The owner's violate their own rules and allow tent camping on RV sites. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$50
Still really like this park and the staff. The 8 comes from what the weather left. Had rain all week and the drainage around the site was almost nonexistent. Mud everywhere. I feel certain that when I come back next year for the Motorcycle Rally, the staff will have fixed that problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
Called on a Thursday for a 3 day weekend during the local Oktoberfest. Owner was very friendly on the phone and was able to accommodate. Previous reviews are spot on. Campground is a large gravel lot with 30 RV spots. All spots are back in. We were put into #30. Spot was fairly level side-to-side but it was up hill backing in resulting in the nose being lower than the tail of the rig even after disconnecting from the truck. Price was for a 50 amp connection, only needed 30 amps but the 30 amp plug had burned up and not been repaired so "had" to use and pay for the 50 amps at $4 more per night. We traveled with 3 four legged kids, but there was little to no area for them to go do their business. Water hookups are shared. Apparently, even numbers spots have to use a spigot on either the other side of your rig or one on the other side of the rig to the left of you. Fortunately, I had extra hoses. When temps drop below freezing they shut off and padlock the spigots. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for River Ranch RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   9   8   10   9   9   9   10   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$45
This campground reopened under new owners in June of 2014. While the sites are very similar to years past, the service is much less than we expected. The campground is charging premium prices for the area, but the premium services are just not there. They do not tell you when making reservations that the cable system has been very degraded, and internet (also cable supplied) is mostly non-existent. We had to go into Red River several times to make the online payments and get email. Most important, they do not discount the prices for this lack of service, and do NOT tell you there is NO refund if you decide to leave early. If they would tell you these things in advance, it would be easier to accept these issues. When speaking with the campground staff, they were aware of the issue, but seemed to be unable to do anything about it due to the owner. I will be watching for next years updates to see if these issues have been resolved. It will be a major factor in deciding if we return again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$45
We really enjoyed our week stay. They have just recently reopened and have yet to join any of the discount programs and did not give a weekly rate. The WiFi was down for a couple of days, but worked well when it was up and running. Verizon 4G was also available on our modem. We found the cable channel selection adequate and were surprised that we were able to get satellite signal with all the trees and the steep mountains. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The cost was really the only downside for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
We had stayed at this park years ago until it closed to short term campers. We were so glad to hear it had re-opened. Kudos to the new owners, they are doing a great job of customer service and park upkeep. We stayed here on Labor Day weekend with the park being pretty much full but they did a great job of managing the number of campers. Check in was very smooth. Departure from the park was managed very professionally with 3 people in the parking lot as we exited processing folks so we didn’t have to leave our vehicle (this was probably only a holiday weekend process). We stayed in the upper loop where fires are not allowed but that was ok with us. The upper loop has a little more elbow room between sites. Water and electric were consistent. We had a trailer with off-road toys which they provided a space for us to park it in (there was a small fee for the extra vehicle/trailer). The only reason for the 9 vs.10 rating was that the Wi-Fi needs some updating. This is the best park in town and we are already looking at next year’s calendar for a return visit! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Roadrunner RV Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com