206648 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Santa Rosa, New Mexico (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Santa Rosa
2.88 miles E
New Mexico
Santa Rosa
Most Recently Reviewed
Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-07 13:49:21
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Santa Rosa, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
203
Date of Stay
September 2006
Latest Rate
$37


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$37
While we were camped here the electricity went out over the entire campground. No one told us about this except other campers and no one was available in the office to answer the phone. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   2   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
An overnight stop. Lots of RR noise. Sites are small. Staff was friendly, everything worked and park was clean. Would stay again but just for a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Stayed at this park twice now "the first and last" time. Pulled in after dark and had to get off the road as we were tired or would not have stayed. It was even more frightening when viewed in the light of day. As the other poster stated it is basically a gravel lot with a few sites delineated by using pieces of old poles laid flat and dug into the ground. Services were OK though. It appears that some of the other sites either have stored units or "long timers" as the grass and weeds were growing up on the sites.Also there were some older decrepit automobiles on the premises. We had no noise from the adjacent business (a Restaurant) but did have barking dogs and fairly constant train noise to deal with. Fortunately the very strong winds that night drowned out some of the other distractions. The office was "staffed" by an older free spirit who needed four presses of the night bell to respond and an old cat "alive or stuffed" we know not who occupied the office couch. When we asked about the free Wi-fi advertised the office Dude said "Oh that stuff never works" We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
Hours before we arrived we called this park for reservations and got a recording. Left a message but no one phoned back. We arrived about 1:00 PM. The office was closed with no note saying when they would be open and we were about to leave when a biker dude pulled up and told us to go ahead and pick out a spot and the office will open at 4:00. When I first saw him, I wondered where was his parole officer, but he was actually polite and well spoken so we did as instructed. This is basically a dirt and gravel parking lot behind a well worn motel where someone has installed 30/50 amp stations, sewer hookups, and cable TV. There is no shade and only a few struggling bushes dot the landscape. The sites were not roomy, but the park was not crowded so we did not feel badly taking up more than our space with our tow vehicle. Cable TV was provided, but there was no list of stations received. When I asked the desk clerk at the motel for a copy of channels received, he told me that they did not have any lists. "People keep stealing them." Alas, I fear I am also a thief, because I have kept many sheets of paper with TV listings on them without giving them back to the RV park. The place advertised WiFi, but there was no signal and no one to ask about it since the motel office was closed again when I discovered this. All in all, this park seems like an afterthought to the motel owners except the motel did not seem very prosperous either. My wife says the ugliest park seen so far. In Northern Arizona and New Mexico, this is a unique distinction. Furthermore, it is only a few yards from a very active railroad track, which offered train whistles every few minutes all night. To accompany this there was a loud band playing next door at Joseph's Restaurant, which thumped until 2:00 AM, followed by a cacophony of drunk people shouting at one another. In spite of all that the next morning, since it is a Route 66 landmark, we went to Joseph's for breakfast, which was under the same management as the RV park.. My wife ordered the continental breakfast. "Sorry, we are out of the ingredients for that. Wait, she didn't say she was "sorry," just out. Also out of pancakes. I ordered their "famous" biscuits and gravy, which were OK if a little bland. My wife ordered cinnamon toast, two pieces of toasted and dry wheat bread with a little butter, cinnamon, and sugar. We will not be returning to this idyllic spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   8   9   8   9   4   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
Stayed here because of the reviews from previous campers. They must have lower expectancy for quality than we do. As can be seen by my previous reviews, we do not stay in expensive resort campgrounds and find few unacceptable. Granted the $20 a night fee is great, but not worth feeling unsafe. Owners, what limited contact we had, were friendly. Only back in sites are 50 AMP. There were 3 available. Two of which would have been impossible to get leveled. Picked the last one, which was level, but between two trailers that were very close and looked like they had been there for years. Most spaces look as if they were long term residents with much debris around them. All hook-ups were at the front of the space and required two hoses to hook up the water. We didn't have enough sewer hose to hook it up. The cable did work, but there was coax run all over from space to space on top of the ground. There was a pitbull fenced into a small inclosure at a permanent manufactured home. Since he could get on top of his shelter and jump out, we did not feel safe walking our small dog past there. Tried to log on to the WI-FI with no luck. We went to the office and was informed "it wasn't turned on". One half hour later we picked up an extremely weak signal. We did not see an external antenna. One reviewer mentioned the train. SO RIGHT. Because we had to take a back in space the busy train track was about 40 feet from our bedroom. Felt as if the trains were coming right in. The laundry and bath house did look very new as did the interior roads. Did not attempt using the shower as previous review said you had to pay. It does look as if the owners are trying, but we will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$11
The nightly rate is based on a $75 weekly rate. We were here for a week and a half while waiting for repair parts. The owners are nice folks who took over the Ramblin' Rose a couple of years ago and have slowly been working it back into shape. The sites are mostly level but only some of them are 50 amp. The roads through the park are paved but the sites themselves are that hard packed course New Mexico dirt. The Ramblin' Rose is the best bang for your buck in Santa Rosa. The down side is the very busy railroad which runs by the Ramblin' Rose and then along the north side of Historic Route 66. All of the parks inside the city limits are affected by the train because they are located along the north side of Historic Route 66. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
The owners are really nice and accommodating. At first glance the park doesn't look like much, but the looks are deceiving. There are permanent RV's there but their sites are without clutter, except for a couple of mobile homes which do detract from the park. The owners are really trying to clean the place up; and it shows. The bathrooms and the laundry are immaculate. The sites are clean and level. It is close to the train tracks but the noise is minimal. If you're looking for dried hot pepper garlands, or want more info on hot peppers, this is the place to be. And the owner is also a dog groomer with a grooming facility on site. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Ramblin Rose
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   4   6   7   8   6   6   7   5   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  no  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$27
The park is adequate for a one night stay while traveling. Has a little restaurant on site that is open part of the year. After a day of driving, it was nice to just walk over to it and have a fairly good dinner. Everything worked well including the internet and cable. However, we stood in line for quite a while to get checked in and listened to the manager's nonstop talking while registering guests. We found him to be loud, sarcastic, abrasive, and disrespectful. Some of the things he said were inappropriate and we saw other people in line were uncomfortable, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2014
$32
Holy Sticker Burrs Bat Boy! My poor dogs are scar'd for life and I'm still picking goat heads out of my RV, couches, carpet, dog beds, my shoes! If you have dogs or kids, bring tweezers... you're gonna need em. Careful of the water pressure, those things must pump 100 psi or something! On the bright side, it was big and easy to navigate. Also, we were like... 1 of 4 rv's there, so with no one in front of us the sunset and sunrise was awesome through the front glass! Very pretty surroundings. No dog park either. This place could use some serious weed killing on a regular basis. I've never seen so many burrs in my life. You couldn't walk anywhere without being deep in em. I'd sleep in a walmart parking lot over this. I give it a 4 cause the folks there were real nice and the laundry mat was super clean. Improve the landscaping, and the water and this would be a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$26
The rate reflects the Escapees discount. We used this park for an overnight stop. It is an older park and getting rather run down. We had a fairly large level dirt pull thru site that was satellite friendly. There are some trees, no grass and lots of sand burrs. The showers were older but clean. It is conveniently located on the business route through town. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   8   9   7   10   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$14
Distant views of the lake. Most sites are reasonably level and spacious. Very sturdy stone shelter at each site, with a large cement picnic table underneath. About a 7 mile drive north of I-40, but your reward is a quiet campground at the very fair rate of only $14 for a level water and electric hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
No frills, nice, clean, economical and relatively close to Hwy. We had pull thru site A4, and it was not level and we had electrical issues after dark. Not crowded, no problem finding a walk up site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$12
Great place camp host friendly and helped out!! Spaces were nice, level and clean. We stayed for one night in an RV and did some mountain biking on trials. Thought it a bit rocky but better than nothing. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Santa Rosa Lake State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com