206485 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Tierra Amarilla, New Mexico (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.03 miles NW
35.14 miles NE
New Mexico
Tierra Amarilla
Most Recently Reviewed
Heron Lake State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2013-08-13 09:55:11
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Tierra Amarilla, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$14
New Mexico state parks always offer such great value. For $14, you get hookups, a dump station, tons of elbow room around your rig, a nice ramada fire ring/table, and as much nature as you'd like. Our site was right by some nesting osprey. The lake is severely low right now, but we really enjoyed watching the daily monsoons build over the mountains and then let loose with a very beautiful lightning show every night we were there. Be sure you stock up on all your supplies. This place is a drive to anywhere over some pretty bumpy/poorly maintained roads. Once you get here, relax and stay a while. Very nice, on-top-of-things camp host, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$10
With our 40' motorhome we stayed in Pinon Beach Campground on Site #64 which was a beauty. Was all by itself on a peninsula with lots of room to park. The only downside was the narrow, dusty road coming to it and the very dusty site. It needs some gravel. We mentioned the narrow road for big rigs and immediately there was tree-trimming in progress. There were other nice sites in Pinon Beach for $10.00 with no hookups in this campground. Grassy Point Campground has the electric and water sites for $14.00. Elk Run Campground has no hookups and is $10.00.There is a boat ramp and the only place to keep your boat in the water is at Pinon Beach Campground. There is a dump station but no potable water there. You will need to drive to one of the hookup sites to get water. The road getting to the campgrounds is all paved and good traveling. This was a more "modern" campground than the nearby "Heron Lake State Park and the lake was much higher and prettier. It was not crowded while we were here, but this was during the week. We had excellent Verizon signal using our Air Card. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
Most of the facilities were closed for the winter but being in a self-contained motor home, it did not matter. We did try to get some information on a road but the ranger station was closed. This is a nice park with varying rates depending on the services at the site. The dogs frolicked in the lake and enjoyed it. The site was level and we enjoyed our stay here. At night a big storm came in with high winds and heavy rain. The "flashing" lights were activated and I think they mean "get off of the water" but the sign was confusing. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for El Vado Lake State Park
Camp Information
Sites
304
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$4



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   5   10   5   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$4
We stayed in the Blanco campground which was great! Lots of privacy, gravel pads and roads which was handy with all the rain the fell during the weekend. There is a table and fire rings, and water and electric in all the campsites. Some camp sites had shelters over the tables, and others did not. The bathrooms had 2 showers in them and were clean; but could use some little maintenance done to them. The park itself was clean and quiet. The camp hosts were nice and friendly, and on Saturdays at the visitors’ center, they have free coffee and muffins. Would definitely stay here again. The nightly rate reflects the price of the NM State Park camping pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
This a very nice state park. The sites are gravel, wide and level, and have a table and fire ring. Some sites have a shelter over the table. Water and electric are good. Sites have good separation and are very private. However, the restrooms were dirty although useable. While there was no view of the lake from our site, it was only a short walk on a well maintained path to an overlook of the lake. A very peaceful place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$14
We were in the Blanco campground for 4 nights. We loved it. If you are looking for quiet and peaceful this is it. We were not interested in fishing or boating, so we can't really evaluate those things. The lake was a short walk and beautiful. The hosts were friendly ad helpful. We stayed 1 night in site 35 and 3 nights in site 44, both, back in sites. 44 was a little tight for our 33 foot 5th wheel but ok. Both were private feeling. We did not have neighbors at all some nights in mid-week, but even when we did, the layout of those 2 sites provided privacy. Everything worked fine. Our Verizon 3G worked well enough to get the internet, and our Direct TV portable dish on 35 feet of cable had a good signal at both sites even with the trees. The only reason we are giving it an 8 is because the bathrooms and showers were dirty and they smelled. We didn't use them but we did check them out. we will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Heron Lake State Park
Camp Information
Sites
50+
Date of Stay
July 2007
Latest Rate
$10


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$10
Located 32 miles east of Tierra Amarilla, Hopewell Lake cg sits at 9,800 ft. in the Carson Natl. Forest and is a great place to escape the summer heat. It’s located just off hwy 64 which isn’t a very busy road. We came in from Taos which is not as steep a climb as it is coming in from the town of Tierra Amarilla. Very nice campground with threaded water spigots outside of each restroom. There are also trash receptacles located throughout the cg loop. When you first enter the cg you'll notice there’s lots of sites in the trees, but as you continue around the loop it will open up and you’ll find meadow areas with campsites. Very nice and open, beautiful in July with wildflowers everywhere. Continue on and you’ll find more sites that are in the trees again. There are a number of sites that can accommodate 40+ motor homes plus a toad. The sites are pretty level, dirt & gravel, mostly back ins. A picnic table and fire ring with grate is provided. It’s so quiet and away from it all. Plenty of room for slide outs and awnings. No bear sightings in the area. We could hear birds but never saw to many. Only spotted a Flicker. Lots of fishing in the lake going on. You can get to the lake by trail, located in the campground or by car in the picnic area. No cell phone service here. We noticed that there was lots of dispersed camping going on up a little further from the campground turnoff (on hwy 64) and just past the campground loop entrance. It’s free, just don’t go trail blazing. This is truly some of the most spectacular country we've been through in a long time.If you need propane, the Chevron Station in Tierra Amarilla fills bottles and motor home tanks. We will stay here again when traveling through New Mexico. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com