224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Tucumcari, New Mexico (Air Miles)
Nothing Nearby
New Mexico
Tucumcari
Most Recently Reviewed
Mountain Road RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-21 04:26:50
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Tucumcari, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   8   9   8   9   7   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$21
This is an ok place for a night or two, or actually longer. Very bare bones, no frills, but all hookups worked. WiFi was pretty good, sites were level, area, including other units, was clean. If you visit, don't miss the Mesalands Dinosaur Museum. What a gem! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2014
$21
We are traveling west and try to go the back roads when possible. Tucumcari was on a radar as far as the distance we wanted to travel. We made reservations at this wee park and when we got here they had 'our' spot roped off. It is a charming park.. And for those traveling and need an overnight - this really works. The lady that showed us to our spot was delightful and very kind- suggesting that she had us pointed in the direction to have the sun be the least offensive on our wee RV. We stayed in Buckeye AZ at a snowbird park, last year, and this one has it beat IMHO. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2014
$21
This park was an okay stop. The sites were large, level, and clean. I paid for a 50 amp service but once hooked up the 50 amp didn't work. The 30 amp off another pedestal was okay. I notified the manager that night. Next day they checked it and gave a small cash refund even though I didn't expect it. Very fair. The electric services were recently upgraded. The Wi-Fi was good. The park is a very short walk to a good restaurant on Rt.66 - Del's and also Kix on 66. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Cactus RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$4



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$4
$4 per night using the out-of-state NM annual camping permit (regular price is $14) was for a 50A electric and water site on a level large gravel site. In addition, the generously sized site had a sheltered picnic table with a pedestal BBQ grill (which could not be used as they had a no wood or charcoal burning ban due to extremely high fire danger). There is a dump station at the campground entrance. The campground host was very helpful and friendly. Many sites overlook Conchas Lake and there are primitive sites at the lake's edge. The scenery includes many shortish coniferous trees and desert plants among the large rock strewn landscape. If you like walking/hiking/biking there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. The night sky is gorgeous as are the sunsets. The park was very quiet during our stay but I can imagine lots of noise in the summer. During our stay, there were high winds on several days including one night with wind gusts of 45 mph. The ranger led tour of the dam was informative and interesting. The campground is 35 miles west of Tucumcari, NM which offers limited shopping and dining. We received five bars of Edge on our AT&T cell phone which was sufficient for talking and texting. We received no service on our Millenicom jet pack. The park advertised Wi-Fi but it will not be up and running until May 6. There was Wi-Fi available at the marina store and the 104 store. OTA TV brought in 2 analog and 2 digital channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$4
Conchas Lake has numerous areas to camp. There are 104 developed sites and 41 electric and water sites. The campgrounds are located in various areas of the lake. I believe there’s primitive camping along the shoreline in some areas. The area we stayed in was Bell Point campground which has power and water hookups. Each site has a 3 sided shelter with a picnic table on a concrete slab and a pedestal BBQ near the shelter. It’s very dusty when breezy, interior road is dirt and no one seems to drive slow through the campground. Some sites are closer together then others, some are pull thrus, but most are back ins. ALL sites are on a reservation system which was a pain since there wasn't any cell/internet service there. The gal in the Park Office was nice enough to let me use their phone to make a reservation. If you just need a site for one night and sites are available (the post at each site has a green vacant sign or red occupied sign on them), go to the park office. It’s located further down the main road on the left. There’s a marina with a grocery/tackle shop/lounge/diner. There’s also a phone booth outside which we needed to use since it was Mother’s Day. Weekends are very busy but midweek was quiet. Nice views of the lake and surrounding area. You might want to use your water pump when showering, pressure wasn’t that great. While there we saw people boating, fishing and water skiing. Dump Station is located across from the campground entrance. Make sure you‘re stocked up with food since the closest town is in Tucumcari, which is about 35 miles away. We would stay here again but only midweek. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   4   7   8   10   7   8   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$15
A no-frills campground that is very good for an overnight stop. Exit I-40 at exit 335, and go west on old 66 about 3/4 mile. Park is on your left (south side). Easy access for all sizes. Sites are gravel and/or grass, fairly level. Good Wi-Fi. If you traveling with horses, they have several corrals or pens available. Owner was friendly and helpful. We did not use the showers or restrooms. Would stay here again for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
This was a very unusual park but great for an overnight stop if you are near Tucumcari. Opt for a spot at the back corner of the park. Facing the open field gave a nice view of the mountain. There were a number of run down campers that appeared to have someone living in the park, but no one was around that caused any concerns. Fine for the price charged. The staff was helpful in setting up our stay. Horses were allowed, and a pen with an outbuilding was at one end of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
This is a quiet park with easy on/off of the interstate. There are not a lot of bells and whistles, but the people were friendly and helpful. Fine for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Empty Saddle RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   1   9   9   6   4   5   7   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$20
Wonderful step back in time to Route 66 motor court life; RV park is behind old motor court. Extra long and wide pull-throughs, 30/50 amps, cable, water, sewer. Cool Studebaker parked out front. Showers are in old room #4, but were clean and tidy. Due to Historic Landmark status, it can't be changed which we felt was a look back in time and not a bad thing. The co-owner was great, guides you to site, helps with set up. Lots of great food nearby. Stayed in 40 ft rig and toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$20
Yes, this is an old park built on an even older motel, BUT the staff is extremely friendly and professional. The CG is clean (but some things could be cleared out), the wifi WORKS (as opposed to many CGs that claim to have it but don't), the cable works as well. Using Passport America, we only paid a total of $40 with tax for two nights. An exceptionally good deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2014
$18
We called for a reservation but the manager said it was not necessary. It was a good thing because we did not stay there. It really looks run down from the front and was not well maintained. There was a hand painted sign out front that was in need of updating. We drove past and turned around for a second look. Most of the trailers staying there looked run down and were clearly full timers. I found the previous reviews did not match what I saw. We would never stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Historic Route 66 RV Park (formerly Kiva RV Park)
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   5   6   8   9   9   5   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$28
This is a basic no frills park just off the Interstate but we liked it. It is all gravel with no grass or trees. It is satellite friendly and all sites appear to be pull throughs. There didn't appear to be any permanent rigs here. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$28
Most of the sites had cable TV hookups! Staff was very friendly and very helpful! This RV park is located conveniently off of I-40 and on US 54 with easy access to fuel stops and the highway! I stayed for 26 days and enjoyed every moment of it! Visit the museums and see the historic landmarks! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$27
This is a very "plain-Jane" park meant for those travelers who just want a nice place to sleep. Cable is okay but the WiFi did not work (and this is the most important thing when I'm camping). The office person really tried to get me on the internet but no success. She was extremely pleasant and helpful. I would stay again but only if WiFi was up and running. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mountain Road RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   8   8   7   7   8   3   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$38
There are some scary looking campgrounds in Tucumcari. We were there because we needed an unexpected motorhome repair. The KOA folks are very nice. It is a basic campground. Sites are okay and bathrooms are clean. We were so grateful for a nice clean campground to stay in after the others we had seen. Of course I found a large tarantula in the bathroom - what a surprise! I mentioned it to staff and they relocated her to a better place in the desert. That was actually a treat for me - have never seen a tarantula in the wild and after I got over the shock it was quite interesting. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$43
The rate quoted on the phone was less than the rate charged at check-in until I called attention to it. The Wi-Fi didn't work even though the park wasn't crowded at all. The bathrooms were OK. A quart of milk cost $3. It was convenient to I-40. I felt the park was overpriced and would look elsewhere if I were in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
Considering the choices in the area, I would put this one as the best. Since it was just an overnight for us, the rate reflects no sewer or cable which we didn't need. Park was clean and the dog walk area while small was lush with grass and trees. In spite of being close to the interstate the noise was not a problem. It looks also like they have installed new playground equipment which looked inviting for kids. We would stay here again if we were in the area. The hosts were friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Tucumcari KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com