206534 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Candler, North Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.10 miles NE
8.92 miles W
10.61 miles SE
12.92 miles SE
15.95 miles NE
16.43 miles W
16.61 miles SE
18.70 miles NW
19.34 miles S
21.11 miles NE
21.52 miles W
23.40 miles SW
23.45 miles SE
23.47 miles S
24.47 miles SW
24.67 miles NW
27.59 miles S
28.58 miles SW
28.97 miles SE
30.52 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
West Carolina Freightliner 8004893833
2.67 miles NE
Calabash West
5.47 miles NE
Wilson'S Riverfront Rv
(828)254-4676
5.95 miles NE
Sams Club 645 Patton Ave (Located To Block)
6.66 miles NE
Holiday Inn Sunspree R
6.89 miles NE
Gabrielle'S
7.51 miles NE
Battery Park Cafe
7.67 miles NE
Criterion Grill
8.00 miles NE
Quincy'S Family Steak
8.14 miles E
The Market Place Restaur
8.15 miles NE
23 Page
8.19 miles NE
Biltmore Estate
8.21 miles NE
Tripps
8.29 miles NE
Blue Ridge Parkway
8.38 miles NE
Vincenzo'S - Asheville
8.39 miles NE
Thomas Wolfe Memorial S
8.41 miles NE
Bojangles Restaurant
8.51 miles NE
Wal-Marti-40:50;50B 1636 Hendersonville Rd (Located To Block)
8.86 miles SE
Southside Cafe
9.04 miles SE
Annabelle'S Restaurant A
9.12 miles NE
Wal-Mart
29 Tunnell Rd
9.18 miles NE
Windmill European Grill
9.28 miles NE
Greenery
9.28 miles NE
Mcguffey'S Grill & Bar
9.36 miles SE
Guadalahara Mexican Rest
9.56 miles NE
Fine Friends
9.65 miles NE
Ken Wilson Sterling Truck 15 2 0
9.75 miles NW
Asheville Regional Airpor
9.82 miles SE
Grove Park Inn Resort -
9.94 miles NE
Buncombe County Golf Cou
10.54 miles NE
Poseidon Steak And Seafoo
11.73 miles NE
Riverhouse Acres
(828)646-0303
12.19 miles SW
Etowah Valley Country Clu
14.99 miles SE
North Carolina
Candler
Most Recently Reviewed
Asheville West KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-19 13:47:19
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Candler, North Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   8   7   8   7   8   6   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$38
Very friendly and helpful owners and staff. Easy access from I-40. Convenient for all area attractions. Nice trails through woods between the two sections. Main section has all pull-throughs. Excellent FREE Wi-Fi and satellite TV. We will always stay at this KOA when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
This park was convenient as I approached Asheville from this side of I-40 and is easy to get to, like most KOAs, right off the highway. I got a chance to check out the sites before going to the office, the nicer sites with cable were full and had been for months (fall color season) so I chose site #20 on the water/electric side, wanting to be a bit away from most of the other campers. Sites in this section are not level even with 2 leveling blocks up in front, Wi-Fi works well. Bathroom is clean, but has a bit of an odor. It's a wooded area and pleasant enough. It'll be okay for tonight, but will try the another KOA for the next several nights as I explore Asheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$42
The road to the campground is steep, but doable. Staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed in the full hook up section. Sites and roads are gravel and level. Some turns are a little tight. Utilities work fine. The cat hookup is on the bottom of the box which could make it difficult to connect. With the new TV connection came a new channel set up. They went from 75 channels to 24 with no guide. If in the area would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Asheville West KOA
Camp Information
Sites
5
Date of Stay
November 2012
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   8   8   3   8   8   9   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  no  no  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  no  no  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$34
Basic RV park, no frills. Elect/water/sewer/cable. Sites are near to level, crushed rock. Some road noise, but not an issue. Passport GPS listing was 7/10 of a mile too far Nov 15th, 2012. If you miss the entrance there are places to turn around 1.2 miles south. Hwy 151 not recommended for entrance to Blue Ridge Parkway for large RV's and trucks. Steep/very curvy. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
Stayed here in the hot weeks of July. No amenities at all. Must be self-contained. Campground was easy to get to (right after the elementary school), but if you pass it up, find someplace to turn around right away, as this road eventually leads to the parkway. Going past the RV park, the road is narrow, twisty and dangerous if you are longer than 20' and if you are towing anything. It is about five miles from the major highways. Sites are fair but not large. Grass was not mowed while we were here. Park is clean and sites all medium to large stone. No campfire rings available. Some long-term units but no seasonals. Views are beautiful. As you travel to the campground, Mt Pisgah is straight ahead (hence the name of the road). Many stores within 10 minutes away but nothing close except a gas/convenient store. Nice place to stay to see the beautiful area in and surrounding Asheville. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
This park is set in a rural area about 10 miles from downtown Asheville. It is one of the least expensive in the area and is convenient to all the sights in the area. It has 6 sites but only 5 have water, sewer, and power. The 6th site just has power. It is about 75' off Hwy 151 and road noise is a bit of a problem, but is mostly local traffic going up and down the road. The sites are gravel and fairly level; we had to add 3" to level out. There are no showers, restrooms, or club house. Satellite reception, but no working cable TV. This is a place to hook up, that is well kept, with clean power and good water. Make sure you call ahead to see if they have room. They only take cash or checks and it's on the honor system. We'd be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Hominy Valley RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
6
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stony Fork Creek. This six site RV park is nestled in the mountains of the Pisgah National Forest. It sits just off Hwy 151, Pisgah Highway, a lightly traveled scenic road that connects the town of Candler with the Blue Ridge Parkway. A stream borders the back of all sites. All sites are full hookup with 50 amp service. There's sufficient room between sites that you're not crowded. There are no additional amenities offered, but we're self-contained in our 38' motorhome, so don't need a bath house, and the drive to the nearest laundromat is a pretty one. The owner was exceptional - friendly and helpful. There are an abundance of sightseeing and hiking opportunities, some within walking distance, but most a short drive. We will make a point of staying here again, hopefully next fall when colors are again at their peak. One important note: Hwy 151 beyond this campground is not suitable for big rigs - too steep and very tight turns. Hwy 151 leading from Candler to the campground is nice, with the last mile or so narrowing but still suitable for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$17
Price reflects Passport America. This is a jewel of a small RV Park. All hook-ups, clean, plenty of space between RV's. It is very peaceful with the sound of the stream, there is very little road noise. Close enough for nearby attractions. Owner is very nice. We would stay here again if in the area. Note: there are no restrooms or showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$32
This RV park is at the foot of Mt. Pisgah with a small stream at the back of the park. The site we selected left room for our 39' 5th wheel and Ford F350. This park has easy access off the main road as well as room to back into the space. There is minimal road noise with the sound of the small stream at the back. There is easy access to all the attractions of the Asheville area. To get to the park from Interstate 40, take exit 44 onto Smoky Park Hwy (Hwy 19/23) and go approx. 5 miles to Hwy 151 (Pisgah Hwy) and travel 7.4 miles to 2149 Pisgah Highway, Candler, N.C. I am surprised there has not been a review of this park. Admin. note: no published restrooms or showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com