221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Charlotte, North Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.38 miles NE
14.47 miles SW
18.95 miles SE
19.84 miles NE
20.00 miles SE
21.35 miles SW
24.41 miles NW
29.15 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Townhouse
0.18 miles NW
Mint Museum Of Art
0.85 miles NE
Blue Marlin
1.02 miles NW
Epicurean
1.20 miles NW
Dilworth Brewing Co
1.22 miles NW
Patou Bistro
1.51 miles NW
Lamp Lighter
1.58 miles NW
Bravo - Charlotte
1.82 miles NW
The Pewter Rose Bistro
2.20 miles NW
Tar Heel Sterling Truck 15 2 0
2.23 miles NW
Pastis - Charlotte
2.23 miles NW
Guytano's
2.29 miles NW
The 30Th Edition
2.46 miles NW
Smoky'S Grill
2.48 miles S
Ginger Root Restaurant
2.49 miles NW
La Vecchia'S
2.50 miles NW
Bistro 100 - Charlotte
2.54 miles NW
La Bibliotheque
2.60 miles S
Discovery Place
2.63 miles NW
Wal-Mart
3304 Eastway Dr
2.72 miles NE
The Fish Market
2.75 miles S
Mcninch House
2.75 miles NW
Azaleas
2.97 miles NW
The Silver Cricket
3.05 miles SW
Johnson C Smith Univer
3.83 miles NW
Costco 7045012403
3.94 miles SW
Charlotte Coliseum
5.01 miles SW
Hereford Barn Steak Hou
5.94 miles NE
Freightliner Of Charlotte 8002771038
6.08 miles NE
Ranch House - Charlotte
6.71 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
I-485 Exit 1
8180 S Tryon St
6.79 miles SW
Wal-Mart
3209 Pineville Matthews Rd
6.97 miles SE
Charlotte/Douglas Intern
7.05 miles NW
Sonny'S Real Pit Bar-B
7.59 miles SW
Wal-Mart
9101 Albemarle Rd
7.62 miles E
Sams Club 1801 Windsor Sq Dr (Located To Block)
7.69 miles SE
Pawtuckett Golf Club
7.94 miles NW
East Coast Bible Colleg
8.06 miles NW
Charles T Myers Public
8.13 miles NE
Costco 7043217443
8.38 miles SE
Sams Club?I-485:64B 11425 Carolina Pky (Located To Block)
8.49 miles SW
Sunset Hills Golf Course
8.79 miles NW
Wal-Marti-85:45A 8709 J W Clay Blvd (Located To Zip)
10.25 miles NE
Sams Club?I-85:45A 8909 J W Clay Blvd (Located To Zip)
10.25 miles NE
Paramount'S Carowinds
10.27 miles SW
Backing Up Classics Mot
10.59 miles NE
Lowe'S Motor Speedway
10.92 miles NE
Hendrick Motorsports Com
11.82 miles NE
Fort Mill
15.89 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
150 Concord Commons
16.12 miles NE
North Carolina
Charlotte
Most Recently Reviewed
Carowinds Camp Wilderness Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-28 02:51:26
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Charlotte, North Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
199
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$62



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   8   4   1   10   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  no  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$62
It wasn't packed as I expected it to be on a beautiful weekend in July. The campsite was a pull-through behind the check-in station, was paved, had a concrete patio and a very nice picnic table. The showers, restrooms and pool were very clean. They offer discounted tickets to Carowinds in the campground store and a shuttle every hour from open to close. This is nice since we could come back and have lunch at the camper. The food prices and parking prices at Carowinds are very expensive. That kind of made up for the campsite cost being a little steep. The staff was friendly as well. Restaurants and shopping are nearby. Very close to I-77 and Downtown Charlotte. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
Good location, near restaurants and shopping. Has shuttle service to Theme Park. Bathrooms were not very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good park for satellite. You do hear the Theme Park noise at night. We would stay here again when traveling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$51
This was a nice place to stay while visiting the Amusement park. The grass was very long , I walked up and asked the front desk if they could take care of it.. The next day early it was handled. It was worth the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Carowinds Camp Wilderness Resort
Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
November 2012
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   6   7   8   3   3   7   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  yes  no  no  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  yes  no  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2012
$45
There is nothing "resort" about this campground. Mostly inhabited by rundown RVs. Our neighbor uses his grill for a trash can. The sites are not well kept. Very noisy as it is close to the airport. Price high for time of year. Would be good for families that use theme park. Check-in office is great and people friendly. Rate lower for call in vs. higher for online reservations. Would stay here only as last resort. It is convenient to downtown area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$63
This park is very expensive for what you get. To spend $63 a night is ridiculous. I can possibly agree with this rate when Carowinds Theme Park is open, but it is not open during the week any longer; last week was the last weekday openings. Rate should be lowered when the park closes for the weekday season. There is only a small pool for amenities which houses 1 of the 2 bathhouses. The only other bathhouse is in the tent section. There are no bathhouses in the other 3 sections. Campground is a mud hole and the few areas that have grass, are uncut so walking a dog is very limited. Their rules state a two week limit on stays, but there are obviously some long term stays which are rather trashy. There is no cable TV or Wi-Fi. I will only stay here if I decide to come back for the Carowinds Theme park, because this park gives me no other reason to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$59
The campground is located next door to Carrowinds and has a shuttle leaving on the hour or the 1/2 hour. The pool has two lifeguards, is clean but closes early at 7pm. They have a nice store, and the staff are friendly and helpful. We had a problem with our breaker and they fixed the issue. The pull through sites are large, and easy to maneuver. There were many shade trees but they didn't seem to be an issue driving the RV. My only complaint which seems to be an issue in many campgrounds are the bathhouses. They were not clean and usually there was a wait to use a shower. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Carowinds Camp Wilderness Resort
Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   6   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
Pros: close to downtown and felt safe, easy check-in, good Wi-Fi Cons: limited pull-thru and tight turns, gravel back-in sites available. Overhead lines could be a problem for some tall rigs. Some distant train noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
This is not a destination park. It is a level, clean, gravel lot in Charlotte, behind a car dealership and machine shop, and in front of a small mobile home park. There are no facilities. The manager was very nice in accommodating our after-hours arrival on a Saturday, telling us to pick a place to park and drop a check in the mail slot, since the office is closed Sunday. The wi-fi signal was strong and steady. There were only four other rigs in the lot, and only one was occupied. The park serves as a long term living area for people who work in Charlotte during the week and go home on weekends. For the convenience and for what it is, it was a great place to stop over while visiting the Charlotte area, and there are no other close options. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
This RV park has a great location, close to downtown. Easy to miss it though if you are driving down the road. Has a small sign and is located behind an automotive garage. The lady and husband management/owners were super nice and helpful. Came out to help me unload my motorcycle out of the back of my toyhauler. Hook ups were a little outdated, but functional. No cable TV at the time, but there were about 10 local stations. Wi-Fi worked well. There were a number of permanent residents living there and all that I met were nice. The biggest downside was the train whistles that blow all times of the night and the tracks were close by. This is not a resort, but it was good for the price and location in Charlotte. Would give a higher rating if it wasn’t for the trains at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Elmore RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   5   5   7   7   7   7   5   8   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
They take cash only, hmmm that was very interesting. Also, good luck trying to level. I have a 40 ft motorhome and I got nowhere near level after 30 minutes of trying. Watch out for the speed bumps on the east side of the property. They are impossible to hit straight so everything in your refrigerator and cabinets will be thrown around big time. No use in returning to this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
This is more of a trailer park with some transient sites. Owner was helpful in backing us in and giving directions needed for morning travel. Small area for dog walking. Cash only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
We looked at this park but unfortunately they were full. It's really three parks in one separated by trees. Two of the three are for transients like us and the other one is for more permanent residents. There are no facilities but the sites are level, and some have shade. The location is great if you are touring Charlotte. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fieldridge Acres
Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   8   8   9   10   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
I agree with previous reviews. Very nice area. Fairly close to Charlotte but it takes a long time to get anywhere in Charlotte due to traffic. The RV sites are sporatic. A few are fairly flat but others are very sloped. We stayed on R-3 and could not level the motorhome without blocking. If you make reservations, ask for a level site. Our MH is 30' and roads were tight. Longer rigs would have a lot of trouble getting around. Overall, would stay here again, but know what to ask for now. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$21
This state park was great. Our site was R9 and we liked it quite a bit. Pull-through, gravel site. Small grassy areas around for our two dogs at night, and a lot of walking trails (not too difficult, but some good ups and downs to get a better work out if you want one). There isn't an official dog walk area, but there are plenty of spaces nearby to walk them. The site was clean, the picnic table was fine, fire ring good. They sold firewood bundles at the front gate for $4, which seemed to have enough for a good night's fire. They close and lock the gate at night so check the hours if you're arriving late. It's pretty easy to get here off of I-485 as well (the loop that goes around Charlotte and connects I-77 with I-85). I went into the bathhouse just once because we are in a motorhome. The floors were sort of yucky but the rest was good - clean enough and nice privacy in that you could lock the door like a single stall public restroom, and use the shower and mirror etc. in there with total privacy. There were a lot of kids around the area and in the playground area, but it wasn't overly noisy. It was pretty full and still pretty quiet at night. There is a lot of retail - grocery store, restaurants, super Target, etc. 2-3 miles down the road (a busy road I wouldn't want to walk along though). We walked the Kingfisher Trail that goes downhill and then a little along Lake Wylie, then reverse back to the campground. We also did the Chestnut Trail that winds around in a circle, a good amount of ups and downs, through the woods...both were very peaceful and enjoyable. I'd recommend the Chestnut Trail if you want total quiet, woodsy, bird calls, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Located in a 1,100 acre county park this campground offers privacy in a heavily wooded setting, yet is close to a shopping area and downtown Charlotte. Most of the paved pull-through sites are quite large and well spaced. The campground is very popular on weekends, so if you plan to stay during the warm weather months, a reservation is suggested. Be careful to note the route to your site (posted at the entry kiosk) as the roads can be confusing. The preserve offers extensive hiking trails, fishing and boat ramps. I was able to obtain a good Verizon broadband signal and a several over-the-air TV stations. Satellite owners may have a difficult time obtaining a clear view of the sky due to the tree cover. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for McDowell Nature Preserve
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com