220365 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Marion, North Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.49 miles SW
13.46 miles NW
16.85 miles NW
17.38 miles SW
18.20 miles SW
18.61 miles NE
19.92 miles NE
20.79 miles SW
21.58 miles S
22.56 miles SW
24.39 miles N
24.68 miles SW
25.04 miles SE
25.60 miles NE
27.78 miles NE
33.85 miles SW
35.85 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
364 Us 70 W
1.18 miles NE
Tom Johnson Camping Cent
2.62 miles NW
AOR0074
11.97 miles SE
Catawba Falls Cg
(828)668-4831
12.44 miles SW
North Carolina
Marion
Most Recently Reviewed
Buck Creek Campground (formerly Buck Creek Campground and Driving RangHidden Valley Campground & RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-18 21:46:132014-08-18 21:46:13
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Marion, North Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   10   9   9   9   8   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
This is a very nice campground overall. First the positives. Most sites are right on a creek and shaded. The creek is refreshing to swim in or fun for a short tube ride. The owners are very polite and helpful. The bath house is kept clean. Now for the negatives. Some of the sites are little on the narrow side and not all of them have cable. The bath house is very old and the stalls and showers are very small. I plan on visiting this campground again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Pretty pricey for what you get. No store, no pool, cable is poor. Cable company now requires a separate box for each TV. Park requests $50 fee for each, until returned. No local TV available. Advertised golf driving range but they said they shut it down for lack of interest. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$21
We loved staying at Buck Creek Campground! The owner is friendly and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. He gave us wonderful advice on things to see! We are in our fourth year of full-timing and this park is in our top five parks we've stayed in. We stayed here a month and wished we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Buck Creek Campground (formerly Buck Creek Campground and Driving Rang
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
April 2007
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   6   8   10   10   4   7   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  no  yes  question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  yes  question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
What a great find. The sites are along Buck Creek and nicely shaded. There is no swimming pool, but there are two swimming holes in the river and frequently used. The sites are fairly level and about half of them are occupied with permanent weekenders. The grounds are well kept and the permanent sites have their own gardens. The bath houses are outdated but fairly clean. There is new tile in the two shower areas. There is little privacy in the bathrooms though - open access to showers with only plastic shower curtain - but most people relied on their bathrooms in rigs. A very quiet location - except for Buck Creek - yet convenient for travel to nearby areas - Asheville, Cherokee, Smoky Mtn NP about 2 hours south and Boone, Grandfather Mtn, Blowing Rock about 2 hours north. Great park to escape to. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
Bathrooms were unclean. No paper towels. Bathrooms were dirty and like something out of the old west. No locks on toilet doors and very old toilets. Daughter refused to go back to bathrooms. The sites were crammed in together, right on top of each other. The stream was nice and the fire pits (rocks in a circle) were nice. We wished we had gone back to Mama Gerties up the road. The wireless internet kept dropping out and we were only 1/2 way up the line of campers. They shouldn't even advertise that they have wireless. No cable. I would not recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This campground is perfectly adequate and easily accessible if you're having work done at Tom Johnson, but I found the owner rude. When he found out we'd stayed at a competitor's campground nearby, he started bad-mouthing them terribly. The restrooms were OK, but not great. There was poison oak all around our campsite. We spent one night and won't be back; we'll drive a few extra miles up the mountain. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Hidden Valley Campground & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   5   9   8   6   9   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
Absolutely beautiful mountain oasis. The bath house was immaculate. This is a place for relaxation and kicking back. Previous reviews criticized the Wi-Fi and pet policy. Wi-Fi is strong and bandwidth limits are not restrictive. I could do email and surf the net. I did exceed my limit one day (Downloading programs) I was cut off until the next day. I did not have any problems staying there with my 100 lb. dog. The dog had fun playing in the stream with the kids. Responsible owners clean up after their pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
Probably the most clean and nicest campgrounds I've ever stayed in, and I've been camping for over 50 years. That being said, there are a couple of things everyone should know: 1. Road leading to campground seems Extremely dangerous no matter what. Good pavement but very narrow and very curvy and twisty! Owners can't change this but be careful...I'm not exaggerating! 2. Temperature was in the lower forty's and the heat was not on in the bathroom?? 3. Although I had no problem as some other reviewers have had, the owners seem overly concerned about their grass and pet waste. Most pet owners and people who are responsible and don't need extended lectures. 4. Campground seems perfect for seniors. Once again, the place is absolutely spotless and pristine. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$39
First of all, let me say that this is a pretty park. Although the sites are on top of each other, they are clean and well kept. The picnic tables are really nice as well. That's where our positives end. While checking in, I was lectured on the do's and do not's. Aside from the 18 rules (19th one was a "if you read all the rules come get a free gift"), I was informed that it was OK to check email and Google a few things, but do not download movies, do not go on Facebook, etc, because their Wi-Fi is on satellite and they only have so much bandwidth. If they go over the bandwidth, then the Internet service provider will cut them off for 24 hours and they use it for business reasons as well. The place is more dog friendly than it is kid friendly. Around 9:15 some kids were playing near the pavilion and the owners came on 2 separate times to tell them that it was quiet time. Quiet time is 10 PM there. It's on their rules and on the sign next to where the kids were. The kids were not loud either. The next day, the kids were playing in the creek and tossing rocks. The owner comes and tells them to stop doing it that they paid to have those rocks put there. The parents of the kids were both there and nothing was said to them. There is nothing else there for kids to do at all. The wife and daughter went into the store there and she felt as if the owner kept watching them as if they were doing something wrong. They do have a dog walk area which is nice. But there are rules all over the place about your pets. Not only on the long list of rules which mention that dog wastes leave bacteria and germs in the grass. (What?!) All in all, we didn't feel welcome here. We had a child and a dog. We've read the reviews and mention about it on forums, but didn't believe it was going to be as bad as we found it. We felt so over-watched that we decided not to attend the potluck. Our neighbors did and they said felt like outsiders there. No one would talk to them or eat their food. Both us and neighbors on both sides felt like there was a select group that went there often. We will not return. If we were ever to do it, it would be when we are much much older, without kids and probably without a pet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Mountain Stream RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
This park is in a large open field with a gravel road leading to a few sites. The gravel parking pads are narrow and not very level. There are no fire rings at the sites and only a few scattered wooden picnic tables. There is a covered pavilion and small playground set in the center of the field. We got our 40ft Class A leveled with some difficulty using our jack pads. Getting a satellite view was no problem as the only trees are the ones that surround the field. This is one of the few RV parks in the area where you can get Sprint phone and 3G service. Bathroom and showers are OK but not cleaned daily. There is also a coin washer/dryer. The owner is friendly, helpful and has lots of local knowledge about the area. He does have a rule of no drugs, alcohol, or firearms allowed in the park and he doesn’t take credit cards for payment. There is no road noise and the park is very quiet except when the train comes by. The tracks run along one side of the park and when the train passes the engineer blows the horn, sometimes often and long. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   7   8   9   9   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
Stayed one night returning home. Was very impressed with campground and ease in and out. Came in on a Sunday. Glad I made reservations ahead since no one is there on a Sunday for checking in or to handle problems. We had good Wi-Fi on our site. Could only get 3 PBS stations and nothing else. No cable available. Breakfast and lunch available. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. Biggest complaint was there were people cleaning RV's and parked their trucks,trailers in the road. Had to drive around them on the grass in order to leave. Not very nice pulling a 39 foot unit. Other complaint is there should be someone available on Sunday. Large enough to at least have a volunteer there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
We stayed in the "rally" section with Escapees. Nice place for a rally. Only complaints are: sites do not have any extras - no fire ring, picnic table, cable or WiFi. WiFi is available in main service building which is closed in the evenings (you can still pick it up from the parking lot). Our group was treated very well by the owners and I would stay there again for another rally. I don't think we would stay there if not at a rally but it would be fine for a few nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
This review is for the 66 paved sites and not the grass group camping across the road. No discounts on rate. Good clean RV park with very few amenities. Very easy in/out, all paved, 70x25' level concrete back-in sites with full hookups. Negatives: no picnic table, no fire rings, no wifi, no cable, no over the air channels received, satellite okay except the sites by the trees, nothing for kids to do, no pet area, Walmart & some fast food a few miles away but not much else. Grill available when service shop is open. Verizon 3G data, ATT 4G. River on edge of camp might be good for fishing. Overall, a good place if your intention is to explore Asheville & the Blueridge and just sleep here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Tom Johnson Campground
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   9   9   8   10   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
We camped here Sunday to Sunday ( 7 days ) in site #B2 which was in the big rig section. The campground is clean and maintained by the staff. There's no wifi service other than at the Ranger Station and cell service via Verizon is next to nothing due to a dead zone. The wifi signal strength at the Ranger Station was very strong and works great to download some e-books to pass the time. A big plus was the friendly owners and staff making a point to remember your name and the names of your kids. They would come by regularly to talk to their guests and see how things are going. We camped here during a holiday week ( July 4th ) so it was high volume time and scheduled activities stayed on track even with the daily sometimes hourly rain showers for the entire week. The sites are long enough in the big rig section for a 40-foot rig but the gravel road getting to the sites is a bit tight but manageable if you take your time. The back-in sites need a bit of care while backing in due to the drainage ditch on both sides of each site's driveway. They escort all guests to their site and assist you with the safest way to get into your site which is a plus. One downside is when it rains, the hilly terrain leads to washing out the gravel road but the owners spend a lot of time to stay on top of the road being washed away. My entire family enjoyed everyday staying there and we only left the campground one day for a sightseeing trip. The rest of the time was spent playing the pool, riding the water slide and all other scheduled activities. We took advantage of the Sunday 7-Day special of one night free and access to all amenities which saved us some money. My kids want to come back and spend another week so we'll be scheduling another trip back here in the near future! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$52
We came for a fun family weekend. We had a great evening Friday night with the hay ride, marshmallow roast and other various kid activities. Unfortunately, it rained the majority of the weekend which limited our activities the rest of the time. We did attend tie-dye shirt session and a dance party on Saturday night which our kids really enjoyed. The majority of the activities were geared for children 3-10 years old. The pool was nice as was the water slide. The playground was certainly adequate with a large sandbox nearby. The roads were difficult to maneuver with difficult turns for a larger rig like ours (40 ft) even though we had a "big rig" site. These sites are also on a small hill which is a moderate distance from the playground and all the activities. We ended up driving to activities because it was too hard for young children to ride their bikes on the gravel roads up that hill. Overall, a nice park with very friendly staff and great kiddie activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
This campground has a lot going on and therefore is fairly hard to get a reservation at...which probably means a lot of repeat visitors. Kids less than 8 probably like the activities the most. We had a great time, very family friendly and the hosts go above and beyond. We plan to stay here again to use the pool and water slides which look we'll kept. With so many people camping here the bath houses get a lot of use...otherwise the score would be higher. Give Yogi a try! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com