220520 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Murphy, North Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
6.98 miles SE
7.63 miles NE
13.26 miles S
14.27 miles SE
15.97 miles SE
17.15 miles SW
21.23 miles NW
21.86 miles NE
22.10 miles SW
22.33 miles SE
23.27 miles S
24.24 miles NE
28.23 miles NE
28.66 miles N
28.78 miles NE
29.57 miles SE
30.52 miles SE
31.44 miles SE
32.56 miles NE
35.83 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
2330 Hwy 19
3.70 miles NE
Peace Valley Cg Happy Valley Rd Murphy
(828)837-6223
6.00 miles NE
North Carolina
Murphy
Most Recently Reviewed
Rivers Edge Mountain RV Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-01 23:21:35
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Murphy, North Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
Pleasant country setting. About 20 min's. to town on a long and winding road. If you want to donate to god, there are 4 religious stations picked up by the batwing, that are 24 hr. fundraisers. No cell phone service, AT&T or Verizon. Wi-Fi up by office only. Rate reflects PA discount. If you want a quiet, removed from electronics CG this is it. If you want TV bring a Sat. dish or listen to the radio and have a fire, as we did. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
If you like quiet this place is it. We were here on the Memorial Day weekend, and they had a number of vacancies. Some words about the approach to reach the campground. If you follow the map from the website and if you take the short way in, the road becomes very very narrow for a full width bus (102"). Our 36' MH used every bit of our lane and some of the on coming lane going around the tight corners. If you take a wrong turn and go off on a side road you will probably have to back all the way back out. I used our GPS and input the intersections for Joe Brown Rd and Hanging Dog Rd, , Hanging Dog Rd and Beaver Dam Rd, and Beaver Dam Rd and Horton Rd. all in Murphy, NC, and got there just fine. If you're driving anything longer than 36' you may want to take the long way in because the road is wider and not as many tight turns. However, it has restricted single lane bridges, and you might call and find out what the load limits are. We paid $31.50 for a 50 amp full hook up site with tax. The roads and sites are gravel and a longer coach may have trouble getting level in the available 50 amp sites. You are about 15 miles from the town of Murphy so have your provisions. Propane and gasoline are available on site. Wi-Fi works OK. Verizion MiFi and cell phone work poorly. Showers are great. All in all a good park that's a bit out of the way; make sure you call before you drive all the way in. The 30 amp sites are along a very small creek with good shade. 50 amp sites do not have any shade yet. Give it about 15 yrs for the trees to grow up. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$11
Owner is helpful, friendly and very attentive to his guests. Park is clean, well maintained. Excellent park for motorcyclists wanting to ride the dragon. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Display older reviews for Crawford's Campground & Cabin Rentals
Camp Information
Sites
14
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$4



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$4
This park has 3 loops of campsites but only loop "B" was open with 14 sites available some of which would accept tents only. It is run by the USDA Forest Service. Very secluded, quiet park. There is a lake nearby with a free boat ramp but that's about all the activities available except for a short hiking trail. Access for big rigs is touchy but doable, using the dump station requires a bit of maneuvering. A staff member stated that it was possible this park may be closed in the future since it is lightly used. Regular rate is $8/night, our rate reflected senior rate. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
We enjoyed this campground, simple, quiet and very nice owners. Access is a narrow road but we were able to get in with a 38 ft RV and a tow car. Site had 50 amp & sewer and was relatively level. Park has a nice setting with a stream. Easy access to Murphy and several scenic byways, Hiwassee Lake, Dragons Tail, Nantahala Gorge We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
We did not stay in this campground but checked it out carefully for friends who will be visiting in October with a motorhome and 5th Wheel. We have a Travel Trailer so I evaluated it on that basis. It appears to be a clean, well-kept little campground beside US 64 between Murphy, NC and Ducktown, TN. There is a grassy area beside a stream and a small pond right in the middle of the campground. Bathhouse was new and clean albeit small. The access road is gravel but appeared to have enough clearance for our rig. The sites were grass and might require some leveling. There were a lot of tents with kayakers and bicyclist, and a few medium sized RV's. If we were looking for a campsite, I would not have hesitated to stay there. It didn't appear to rate a 10, but seemed to be a nice little campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   10   8   8   10   10   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
Owner/manager is very accommodating. Very nice park, well maintained. Great for big rigs with large pull-throughs and plenty of room to spread out between you and your neighbor. Nice back-ins next to the river as well. We spent some time here last summer and decided to return for a month this year. If you just want to relax and enjoy camping, plan a visit to this campground. You won't be sorry. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
This is a big rig friendly park. We had no problem with utilities and the water was good. It was impossible to get a spot with a friendly direction to point (we prefer facing NE or NW). All the sites face East or West so we chose to face West and have a shade on our door side. There are no activities planned. It is about 90 miles to the Great Smokey Mountain NP. Nanthala Gorge is about 40 miles. Tail of the Dragon is about 30 miles. The river is not usable for any water activity. The Knottly river is filled with downed trees and has a soft bottom. It is unpredictable when the Knottly Dam will release water for electricity production. The water level will dramatically raise at different times to flood levels. Do not allow your kids to play in this dangerous waterway. A high powered mower was used next to our coach with the rubber discharge guard removed. The high powered mower was used as a blower to clean off parking pads. There are rocks shooting everywhere due to no discharge guard keeping things directed at the ground. (we see this at lots of parks) We enjoyed fishing and boating at Blue Ridge lake in nearby Georgia. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$49
We are here for 2 weeks and the park is well maintained with large pull through sites. Owners/managers are very accommodating and friendly. Quiet park this time of year. Great area in the mountains and local N.C. crafts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Rivers Edge Mountain RV Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com