219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby New Bern, North Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
15.39 miles E
15.85 miles SE
18.92 miles E
24.28 miles SE
24.87 miles SW
27.45 miles S
27.45 miles S
29.29 miles N
29.86 miles NW
29.91 miles SE
32.51 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Henderson House
0.81 miles NW
Fred & Claire'S
0.81 miles NW
Tryon Palace Historical
1.06 miles NW
Craven County Regional A
2.21 miles SW
Beck'S Superstore Rv S
4.98 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
3105 Mlk Jr Blvd
5.03 miles SW
Cherry Pt. Famcamp
15.03 miles SE
Salter Path
18.36 miles SE
North Carolina
New Bern
Most Recently Reviewed
New Bern KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-19 00:51:01
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
New Bern, North Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   5   5   5   1   9   6   2   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
This campground offers the bare minimum. The water pressure and 50 amps were good as was the cable. I had an issue with the sewer connection but I used the hookup at an unused site. There are a few full time residents near the front but the back was very open and quiet. It is a little sandy but there was no other traffic to make it dusty. The office was closed but our paperwork was in the front door box. We did not have the right change so we put all bills in the envelope and left it in the mailbox as directed. Later that evening, the owner knocked on the coach door and returned our 20 cents change. The owners live on the property. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$16
Campground is a work in progress. Worth the Passport price. Minimal leveling and utilities can be an inconvenient distance. Campground provide 50 to 30 map adapter. New Bern is a short drive with a supermarket even closer. Main problem is contacting owner who is a construction contractor. There was no additional staff. Not a resort but worth the Passport cost. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$16
PA price. Okay for one night at that price. Mostly long term. Pot holes on the road in. Back in, close sites. Nobody in the office when we arrive or the next day. Envelope with our site number was waiting for us and we put in our cash and placed in mail slot. Farther from New Bern than we had anticipated. Full hook up. WIFI was pretty good and free. Water pressure weak. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Moonlight Lake RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$12
I concur with previous reviewer in all aspects. The campground was quiet and on a small cliff above the sound. We visited in November when there were 5 different sites occupied by bear hunters with their hounds. The hunters and dogs presented no problems. It was kind of nice to hear the hounds baying happily at 4:30 in the morning as they rose to go out for the day. The bathhouse was clean but unheated. The water in the shower is on a timer but the water is nice and hot. Still, showering is a bracing experience in November. The government doesn't have money to keep up the trails and the infrastructure. Our fist site didn't have any juice going to the electric panel. The shower faucet is on a timer to conserve water, but the faucet drips constantly. The host was friendly and our stay was happy. November is good time to avoid coastal bugs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$17
Electric sites $17 and non electric $12, but with the Senior pass its half price. These sites are in one big loop with some sites on the river (non electric). There are a number of sites with electricity, but none near the river. Most sites offer some privacy among the trees and most are quite large. There are two restrooms with hot showers one larger than the other. Each site has a grill, lamp post and picnic table. The main rest room and the entrance of the park are quite attractive with palm trees and flowers laid out in a pleasing arrangement. A one mile bike trail goes around the campground that is paved. A stairway leads to a sand beach, but after being on the outer banks there is no comparison. In the morning the campground was so peaceful especially with all the birds chirping away. There are two host sites if anyone had any problems or questions to be answered. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
Electric sites $17 and non $12 but with the pass its half price. These sites are in one big loop with some sites on the river. There are a number of sites with electricity but none near the river. Most sites offer some privacy among the trees and most are quite large. There is a restroom that was built in the last ten years with hot showers and another one that needs some work. We had problems finding water near out site but there was plenty available near the non-electric sites. Each site has a grill, lamp post and picnic table. The main rest room and the entrance of the park are quite attractive with palm trees and flowers laid out in a pleasing arrangement. A one mile bike trail goes around the campground but that also needs some work on it – we did not even take it and we ride our bikes everywhere! A stairway leads to a sand beach but after being on the outer banks there is no comparison. We have stayed in this forest before but at the other National Forest site Cedar Point and found we liked that campground so much better than this one. It is all right for one night and everyone we met was very nice! In the morning the campground was so peaceful especially with all the birds chirping away. There are two host sites if anyone had any problems or questions to be answered. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   8   7   10   9   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$52
Camped in a 35 foot rig. Site 18 is easy access pull-through, level, sand with modest grass patch. There is no shade. Staff is very friendly. Did not use, or look at, pool or laundry, and bath houses. Book exchange, DVD library, inside board games, miniature golf, playground, dock at Neuse River, lawn swings. Destination campground for young families. Convenient to New Bern. Quiet at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
People that work at the campground are all very nice and helpful. Interior roads are dirt/gravel but in good condition. The sites are level, gravel with grass between sites. There are several different "grades" of campsites. Some sites are bigger and nicer than others. All of the sites are very close together, making eating and sitting outside not great. They are able to manage big rigs. Confirm the size of the site before going. We did not spend much time at the campground so we did not care that ours was small. Although we do not camp with kids, this seems like it would be a nice campground for children. Good satellite reception; also very good Verizon cell phone signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
Staff was very friendly and helpful in getting parked. The park is typical of an older KOA in layout. The only real issue was with the roads needing some gravel and general grounds care. It was easy to see that in rain the park would be a little sloppy. The park was easy to access and if we pass through New Bern again, I'd certainly consider this park again. The bathhouse was clean, but dated and could use a little updating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for New Bern KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com