206877 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Swannanoa, North Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.19 miles E
8.26 miles W
13.54 miles SW
14.12 miles SW
14.23 miles E
14.76 miles SE
15.95 miles SW
16.13 miles SE
18.10 miles SW
22.56 miles NE
22.64 miles SE
22.85 miles S
24.41 miles NE
25.26 miles SE
28.01 miles SW
28.62 miles NE
33.44 miles SW
37.07 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Warren Wilson College
1.70 miles W
Poseidon Steak And Seafoo
4.22 miles SW
Buncombe County Golf Cou
5.42 miles SW
Guadalahara Mexican Rest
6.40 miles SW
Greenery
6.88 miles SW
Windmill European Grill
6.94 miles W
Wal-Mart
29 Tunnell Rd
7.10 miles W
Annabelle'S Restaurant A
7.23 miles W
Grove Park Inn Resort -
7.47 miles NW
Blue Ridge Parkway
7.95 miles W
Vincenzo'S - Asheville
7.97 miles W
Criterion Grill
7.97 miles SW
Thomas Wolfe Memorial S
7.98 miles W
Tripps
8.04 miles W
Quincy'S Family Steak
8.05 miles SW
Bojangles Restaurant
8.08 miles W
23 Page
8.18 miles W
Biltmore Estate
8.20 miles W
The Market Place Restaur
8.21 miles W
Fine Friends
8.28 miles NW
Montreat College
8.42 miles NE
Battery Park Cafe
8.84 miles W
Wal-Marti-40:50;50B 1636 Hendersonville Rd (Located To Block)
9.14 miles SW
Southside Cafe
9.37 miles SW
Holiday Inn Sunspree R
9.54 miles W
Mcguffey'S Grill & Bar
9.59 miles SW
Sams Club 645 Patton Ave (Located To Block)
9.72 miles SW
Gabrielle'S
9.83 miles W
Wilson'S Riverfront Rv
(828)254-4676
10.02 miles SW
Catawba Falls Cg
(828)668-4831
10.34 miles E
Creekside Mountain Camping-Rt. 74A
10.39 miles SE
Calabash West
10.90 miles SW
Asheville Regional Airpor
13.77 miles SW
North Carolina
Swannanoa
Most Recently Reviewed
Mama Gertie's Hideaway Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-19 12:08:46
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Swannanoa, North Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   8   9   7   8   10   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
If you stay at an Asheville area KOA choose this one over the west side one, FAR better here. Large and park-like around 2 lakes and the creek, better in the back area than front. Good, free Wi-Fi with no codes, many TV channels. This is a popular spot, I've met a number of frequent visitors who reserve far ahead of time in the fall to get the nice water sites. Yes, there is highway and train noise, but they all seem to have that, otherwise this is the nicest KOA I've stayed at by far. I'm in #12 at the lake and my class B cargo doors open to the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
A very busy and crowded campground. The staff is helpful and the lake sites are nice. We have stayed here many times and will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$75
We enjoyed our stay at this KOA. Friendly staff, clean grounds, and a great area to explore. The front of the park is not too special as the pull thrus are on the tight side except #1 which is on the corner. The back ins offer more room, the best back in being the sites along the river. The special part of the park requires you to cross over the Swannanoa River. It's almost paradise with 30 amp full hook up sites 9 thru 15 along the lake as they offer beautiful views not only of water, but the mountains as well. Sites 24, 25, & 26 offer good depth for big rigs and still have a decent view. We would definitely stay here again. An excellent KOA and very easy access off Interstate 40. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Asheville East KOA
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   9   7   10   10   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
My first stay here. Used this campground as a base camp for a weekend of geocaching and brewery hopping in Asheville. There were only 2 other campers in the park so it was very quiet. As reported in previous reviews, the bathrooms and showers were spotless. I drove up to the top sites to check them out.....still a work in progress. My site was adequate and we were able to squeeze 2 vehicles in at the front and back. Beautiful campsites but they all are a tad tight. Did not try the Wi-Fi or cable. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
We loved this park. We stayed at the new section at the top of the mountain. There are no bath facilities built yet, which is fine with us as we are self contained. The views were incredible at our site. So peaceful and quiet. It was convenient to Asheville (more than I expected). We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
Very nice quiet campground. Everyone was extremely nice. It is also easy to get to from I-40 and very close to Asheville. One issue is the road leading to the campground. It is a bit hilly, but the road is extremely narrow. With traffic coming at you, it can be a bit unnerving. Also, the campground is exceptionally hilly. They do have pull thru sites along with back-in but maneuvering around again is extremely tight. I also noticed that in our site, pulling out (I had a pull-thru) the angle is a bit extreme and the jacks in the rear of the camper began to rub the ground. Overall, this is a very nice place to stay but wish they had a bit more room for the sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Mama Gertie's Hideaway Campground
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   6   5   9   7   7   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
The campground is closed. I talked to the owners today, and they said that it is unknown at this time if and when the campground will reopen under new ownership. I hope it does, as this was our favorite campground in the Asheville area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
What a deal! A little close together for the drive throughs, but you get 50 AMPS, sewage, water, TV and Wi-Fi. Nice grassy area surrounded by trees just off the interstate. There is a couple of trains that run a couple times at night, but the two other local CGs have the same problem. Some would consider the train nostalgic and not be bothered. A very nice RV store with all the things you may need. This is a trailer sales and service dealership with a mechanic on site. We stay here every time we come to Asheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
This park is right off I-40 and very convenient to Asheville, Black Mountain and many other beautiful locations in the area. It is not an RV resort by any means. It is an older campground with level, full hookup sites. You will not find a lot of amenities here. If you need a pool, entertainment, etc, this is not the place for you. If you want an inexpensive, easy to get to place to park your rig while you see the awesome sites around, it will do nicely. We left each morning early: by 9 a.m., and did not return until 7 or 8. Folks are very nice and have a nice supply of RV supplies. Other necessities can be found within minutes of the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Miles Motors RV Center & Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com