217661 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Medora, North Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.39 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Burning Hills Amphitheat
11.35 miles NW
Theodore Roosevelt Nation
11.74 miles NW
North Dakota
Medora
Most Recently Reviewed
Red Trail Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-15 21:24:17
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Medora, North Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Buffalo Gap Guest Ranch & RV Park, only 6 miles outside of Medora. Medora is I-94 Exits 27 and 24. Exit 18 is the Buffalo Gap Exit. After the exit, the last 1.5 miles is over a dirt road, wide but with several spots where it is like driving over a washboard. Do not be discouraged. Just GO SLOW and you'll be fine. We are a 36' MH with a tow car. What a different and interesting place to stay. They have 10 sites with full hookups (only 3 sites have 50A service). These sites weren't really laid out for RVs. They were laid out so that their customers can have a place to park their horse trailers. You see, about 30 yards in front of where we were parked, there is a rodeo arena corral. People come to this ranch to train their horses, to learn horsemanship, and to learn, with their horses, to work with cattle. We spent 3 nights here, and they were working their horses from about 7AM until close to dark. But, they weren't at all noisy. It certainly was interesting to, at night, hear horses neighing and nickering instead of trains or airplanes. The Ranch has full restaurant services serving 3 meals a day. The food wasn't great. They have rooms for people to stay in. They don't offer "guest ranch" type activities like trail rides, etc. If you want to go on a trail ride, you have to bring your own horse. There is no swimming pool or playground. The facilities were fine except the spaces were a little close to each other. It was certainly an experience watching people hone their riding skills, breaking and taming young horses, and then watching them learn how to cut cattle out of a herd. Our stay here certainly qualifies as one of our "mini" adventures! The owner told me that he has plans to add 30 more sites with pull-throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
209
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   6   7   7   7   7   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Okay place to stay. Sites could use a little TLC and sprucing up. A little muddy if it rains. Wi-Fi OK but not the fastest and is not always available. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This campground is on the west side of town. The showers were moderately clean. But the wi-fi does NOT work. We felt it was over-priced at $35/nightly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This campground was fine for a short visit to see the National Park. Gravel roads and sites and a bit dusty. Long pull through sites, however not all were level. They had shaded sites and open sites for satellite. Full hook ups. Would stay here again if in the area. It is a long way from the North Unit of the park, but convenient to the South Unit. Very limited groceries in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Medora Campground
Camp Information
Sites
113
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   8   8   7   8   8   8   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
Price of $31.50 reflects daily rate with Good Sam discount. Cable was an additional cost per day, which we didn't purchase. This is a large park, with easy access for big rigs (at least our 40' motor home). We arrived at a very busy time with new folks checking in. The person who was checking in new folks remained focused, yet friendly. There was an escort to the site. Sites were adequately spaced with a picnic table and grass between sites. Some of the sites are gravel and some are grass, and the park does get muddy when it rains. Park wifi was good, and our own Verizon service worked well. Laundry room had four washers and four dryers. There was a children's play area. Showers looked a bit worn, but they were clean. Medora is a neat town. The Little Missouri Scenic River runs along one side of the town, but the river has a rather unpleasant odor, which makes the entire town smell less than pleasant. Do make time to drive through the Teddy Roosevelt National Park if you're in the area, as it's a beautiful drive. We saw prairie dogs, bison, deer and wild horses while driving through. We would stay again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
We are a 39' 5th wheel. Since we were staying for just one night, we elected an electric/water hook up only. It had rained before we got here. Site was very muddy, and very tight to maneuver our rig into site. Took several tries by my semi-truck driver husband, and finally campground staff took over. We would have gotten in the same way he did, but were trying to get farther into the site so we had space in between us and next door neighbors. Cable TV is extra, which we opted not to use as we have satellite. Area is beautiful, but would not consider staying here for an extended period of time. Unfortunately, will not have time to explore the city of Medora, as it looked pretty interesting as we drove through. Will probably bypass this place next time, but not much in North Dakota to choose from! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
The rate shown is the daily portion of the weekly rate of $195. We enjoyed our stay here while visiting Medora. Our site (#46) was level, and had a clear view of the sky for the satellite. It is easy to walk into town from the campground, and the entrance to the South Unit of Teddy Roosevelt NP is less than a mile away. Would definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Red Trail Campground
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
$10 per night was for a primitive site on level gravel with a fire ring and picnic table. Additionally, we purchased the annual park permit for $20 for our RV and $20 for our tow vehicle. There were water spigots throughout the park as well as at the dump station. There were very nice pay shower stalls within the campground. If you like walking/hiking/biking/horse riding there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. The southern entrance to the 120-mile Mah Daah Hey trail begins in the campground. The main campground loop is out in the open and any size RV will fit on the sites. The Muddy Breaks loop, which includes corrals, is devoted to campers with horses. The Cedar loop of the park is set up for camping units that are no higher than 10’ or wider than 9’. The last half mile drive into the campground is on a red dirt road which is quite dusty when dry and muddy when wet. The night sky is gorgeous, as are the sunsets. The campground is out in the country but only three miles from the town of Medora and the southern unit of the Theodore Roosevelt NP. There is some shopping in Medora and several good restaurants but prices seem a bit high. Cell phone service on AT&T is two bars of 4G. Verizon data coverage is was 4G LTE so we used our Millenicom Jetpack for Internet access. There was no over-the-air TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com