214486 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Theodore Roosevelt National Park, North Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
18.87 miles SE
21.93 miles S
-Other Nearby Points-
Theodore Roosevelt Nation
10.85 miles S
Burning Hills Amphitheat
11.41 miles S
North Dakota
Theodore Roosevelt National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Cottonwood Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-12 15:00:50
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Theodore Roosevelt National Park, North Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   10   9   10   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  no  question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$5
A wonderful back to nature experience. Buffalo wander through the campground. Sites have privacy, but it's hard to find a site after mid-afternoon. Would surely return here if our travels ever take us that way again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Very nice campground - well treed, so a big tight for big rigs (ours is a 38' FW). Has fresh water fill, but no dump/sani station - need to pay $5 at local campground in Medora if you need to dump. Had one of the friendliest, most helpful, initiative-taking host we've ever experienced! Quiet & dark at night. Would come here again, for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
WOW. Loved this park and campground. The traffic jam on the way into the campground could be excused, due to the cause... Bison, lots of Bison, of all ages. There are volunteers that were more than helpful in pointing out open spots. The Bison came through while I was setting up, so that slowed things down, then one decided that my wee tent trailer looked like a likely scratching spot, so that made things rock for a bit! I had a spot near the entrance, where the self check in station is located. The downside were the other campers, why everyone feels the need to idle their rigs whilst yelling back and forth parking instructions and campground rules I'm not sure... But they did. Also, if you get to the park late, you can't try to park where you feel like it, the nice Ranger man will make you move, even if you have the largest rig this side if the rockies. This park is a gem, I hope to return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for Cottonwood Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$5
Stay here if you want to get away. No TV, No Verizon, no generator from 8 a.m to 8 p.m. Nice to tour the area and take hikes. We have a 40' MH and had no problems with the pull through sites. Host needs to trim some trees that encroach on the sides of the access road in the parking area. Will scrape any size vehicle. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$5
The off season price was a wonderful surprise, and the camp was very nice. We were alone in the camp much of the time. There were no hookups, and the restrooms were closed. Water and dump station were also closed for the season. Still, who can complain at $5 a night? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$5
We enjoyed this park very much. However, it is a hassle to get water and dump. The water faucets in the campground (Cottonwood at South Unit) are not threaded so you can't get water there. We got water twice at the Medora Campground. The first time, the young man at the front desk let us have it for free. The second time the man at the desk first wanted $10, then came down to $5. There is a dump station right along the main road before you drive under the Medora Campground sign, so we used it without asking, presuming it is for public use. We saw a wild horse in the campground, and evidence of buffalos. Very nice campground hosts, accommodating to our request to stay beyond the regular checkout time of noon. Price paid reflects Golden Age Passport discount of 50%. Would definitely go back, but better prepared. This place is not for the biggest rigs although there were a few smaller 5th wheel rigs there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com