214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Thunder Bay, Ontario (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
18.25 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Centennial Park
5.65 miles SW
Big Thunder Sports Park
9.43 miles SW
Ontario
Thunder Bay
Most Recently Reviewed
Thunder Bay KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-18 00:45:57
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Very nice park, everything looks like new. Spacious, level pull through sites, no privacy in lack of any trees though. Good hookups, excellent washrooms. The dump station is on the way out, easy to access. Wi-Fi only at the office but it's fast and reliable there. Our rating reflects value for money, we feel the price to be a little ambitious. However, we liked the place for being far from any traffic and we had a good night's sleep here. Also it's convenient to explore Thunder Bay's attractions. The paved road to the park is pretty bumpy but we would stay again at Chippewa when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
The RV portion of the park is only a few years old but already shows signs of disrepair. All facilities need a good cleaning. Wi-Fi is only available near the office. I didn't count the tent sites as they are not well marked and could range from 10-20 to many more if people were together. We would however, stay again if in the area as it is the most convenient park in the area. For those with kids they have an amusement park, wildlife park and other activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Nice park at Fort William Historic site and not too far from the town of Thunder Bay. Really friendly staff, and the Fort is amazing. There is a dump station, and the wi-fi is good. Grass sites, and the lay out is a little different but good. I would stay here again. The rate is in Canadian dollars. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
179
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   4   8   6   9   7   8   3   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
Very good campground. Nice sites, not too close to your neighbor, and not bothered by highway noise. It is really not that loud. Pleasant and helpful staff. Site was nice graded, tidy with picnic table and fire/pit. We would recommend this park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
Very loud. Right next to the Trans-Canada highway (aka the busiest highway in Canada.) Vehicles are packed like sardines. Neither me or my family were able to sleep because of the excessive traffic noise. Clean park. Your basic KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$43
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The park is clean and well maintained. The store has lots of groceries, souvenirs, and camping equipment. They had lots of activities for the weekend, including hayrides, pancakes breakfast, and an ice cream social. The only things I did not like were the fact that the showers are in the main office building, which is a hike, and Wi-Fi is only available at the office, not at the sites. Taking my laptop down there a couple of times a day was inconvenient, especially since I am from the U.S. and this is my only way to keep in touch with family and friends (and not pay roaming charges on my cell phone). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Thunder Bay KOA
Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
July 2006
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
This campground lies on the north side of the city right on the Current River. Right off the Trans Canada Highway. It is in the middle of a boreal forest so there is abundant shade everywhere. Site are spacious but bring along adapters and extension cord as electricity is in odd locations. One section appears to be getting a 30amp upgrade with water at convenient plugs. Some sites could use levelling. Good TV reception of local channels. On site manager friendly and efficient. City crews do a good job maintaining we always saw them working during the day. Beware of Bears though, as they can visit at night. Falls are great for wading (they are only 3 feet high max) in dry weather. Watch out after rains though. Trails to Cascades in one direction and Centennial Park in the other. Not very crowded during mid week but people we did meet were pleasant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com