220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Prospect, Oregon (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.75 miles SW
17.06 miles SW
21.87 miles SW
26.89 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Prospect State Scenic Viewpoint 36 2 3
1.77 miles E
Joseph H. Stewart State Recreation Area 36 2 3
6.26 miles SW
Casey State Recreation Site 36 2 3
10.67 miles SW
Butte Falls
14.04 miles S
Oregon
Prospect
Most Recently Reviewed
Crater Lake RV Park ( AKA Prospect RV Park)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-13 02:24:53
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Prospect, Oregon
Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   6   9   9   10   8   4   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$50
This is a very nice park. The owners are very friendly and the spaces are nice and big, adequate for our stay at Crater Lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
This park is well done for a remote location. We stayed in a pull through (site 6) that had asphalt pavement. Only objection was that it was not level. The park is situated in the trees and these do not present any problems for maneuvering. It is convenient to Crater Lake NP. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
This is a great RV park. We stayed three nights while visiting Crater Lake. There is a bit of noise from the highway. The campground hosts were very knowledgeable about the area. I would definitely recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Crater Lake RV Park ( AKA Prospect RV Park)
Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
We were lucky to get site 22 on the Rogue River. This site is first come, first served. We showed up on a Thursday morning in late June and there were several campsites available. Our family loved Farewell Bend. The campground is beautiful, under the shade of a tall evergreen forest. The campsites are large and most have some level of screening shrubs between them, so we felt very private. The campsites are back in, with picnic tables and fire rings. The bathrooms were clean and had electrical outlets. No showers, however. They had grey water dump stations by the bathrooms and tap water, but no hookups. The Rogue River rages through a narrow rock chute on the northern boundary of the campground. It's beautiful and sounds great, but be Very careful if you have little ones…it's quite dangerous. There was a near drowning the day we arrived when a kid fell in and had to be pulled from the river, unconscious and bloody, but alive. Just downstream from the campground is the Upper Rogue River gorge, which would be certain death to anybody swept down that way. So keep an eye on the kids around the river! On a positive note, the campground is criss-crossed with great forest trails, perfect for biking, and there is a kids play area in the center. The Rogue River gorge is a short hike downstream and is beautiful. Union Creek Resort is on the highway right at the gorge, with a general store, ice cream shop, and a fantastic restaurant called Beckie's. Overall I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$9
Beautiful campground with lush vegetation and lots of space between sites. Campground host very friendly and helpful. Excellent central base camp from which to explore the Rogue, Crater Lake, Diamond Lake and the North Umpqua's many waterfalls. If you camp next to the river you won't hear much of the highway. I would camp here again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$9
The cost reflects a 50% Federal Senior Pass discount (available to any U.S. citizen over 62 years of age for $10 for a lifetime pass). The campground is actually located close to Union Creek, Oregon, an unincorporated area. This is one of several Forest Service campgrounds along highway 62 between Medford, OR and Crater Lake National Park. Other than this campground, the other campground that is suitable for RV’s is Natural Bridges CG. (See review elsewhere). The campground is along the Rogue River and about half of the campsites are right next to the River with the views and the sound of the River. The negative is that, since the campground is right next to the highway, there are also the sounds of the highway, including the logging trucks. However, the highway calms down considerably at night, so we did not find that to be a big problem. The sites right along the road are much less desirable. The campground is nice and dark, which we like, except for overly-bright lights on the restrooms. The sites are paved and several of the sites are long enough for a big RV and most are fairly level. With the exception of some “buddy” sites, the sites are nice and far apart, often with no views of your neighbor. There are no hookups and no dump station. However, there is water available with nu-threaded taps, so you have to use a “cheater” to put on the faucets to fill your tank. There are also gray water dump sites throughout the campground. If you need a full dump station, it is available about 11 miles south in at the Crater Lake (Prospect) RV park for a fee. There are restrooms with flush toilets, but no showers and no hot water. Even though the sign at registration implies otherwise, generators (contained in the RV or on pavement) can be used between the hours of 7 am to 10 pm. The campground is run by a concessionaire, Rogue Recreation. The campground host sells wood for $6 per bundle. The host was very helpful and friendly. This is a good campground for visiting Crater Lake National Park, about 20 miles further along Highway 62. It is a lot less expensive than the campground within the park. There are trails and other natural features of interest within the area. Becky’s restaurant, famous for their pies is less than a mile from the campground. This is a first-come, first-served campground. No reservations are accepted and it does fill during the prime summer months. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
17
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$5
The cost reflects a 50% Federal Senior Pass discount (available to any U.S. citizen over 62 years of age for $10 for a lifetime pass). This campground is actually located close to Union Creek, an unincorporated area 11 miles north of Prospect. This is one of several Forest Service campgrounds along highway 62 between Medford, OR and Crater Lake National Park. Other than this campground, the other campground that is suitable for RV’s is Farewell Bend CG. (See review elsewhere). The campground is along the Rogue River and almost all of the campsites are right next to the River with the views and the sound of the River. The campground is far enough away from highway 62 that noise is not an issue. The campground is nice and dark at night, which we like. Some of the sites are long enough for a big RV and most are fairly level. It is a bit tight getting an RV into the campground, but can be done with care. There are no hookups, no dump station and no water available. If you need a full dump station, it is available about 11 miles south in at the Crater Lake (Prospect) RV park for a fee. There are only pit toilets. This is a good campground for visiting Crater Lake National Park, about 20 miles further along Highway 62. It is a lot less expensive than the campground within the park. There are trails and other natural features of interest within the area. Becky’s restaurant, famous for their pies is less than a mile from the campground. This is a first-come, first-served campground. No reservations are accepted and it does fill during the prime summer months. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com