214551 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Charlestown, Rhode Island (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.92 miles E
6.76 miles NE
6.83 miles NW
7.77 miles NW
9.20 miles E
12.22 miles NW
14.74 miles N
16.21 miles NE
16.23 miles NW
16.58 miles W
19.49 miles N
19.69 miles NW
19.88 miles NE
20.31 miles NW
21.20 miles NW
21.66 miles NW
21.66 miles NW
21.66 miles NW
21.66 miles NW
22.67 miles NE
23.80 miles NW
26.07 miles NW
26.20 miles N
29.52 miles NW
30.16 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Ninigret National Wildli
3.66 miles S
East Matunuck State Bea
5.97 miles SE
Salty Brine State Beac
7.21 miles SE
Yawgoo Valley Ski Area
7.36 miles NE
Wal-Mart
258 Post Rd
7.51 miles SW
Roger Wheeler State Bea
7.63 miles SE
Larchwood Inn - Kingston
7.71 miles NE
University Of Rhode Isla
7.72 miles NE
Villa Trombino
8.50 miles SW
Point Judith Lighthouse
8.73 miles SE
Scarborough State Beach
9.09 miles E
Narragansett Town Beach
9.42 miles NE
Coast Guard House
9.84 miles E
Highland Orchards Rv S
10.18 miles W
Highland Trailer Sales
I-95 X92
10.50 miles NW
Misquamicut State Beach
10.75 miles SW
Gilbert Stuart Birthplace
12.51 miles NE
Wal-Mart
1031 Ten Rod Rd
14.05 miles NE
Oak Embers Cg
(401)397-4042
14.23 miles NW
Smith'S Castle
15.29 miles NE
Rhode Island
Charlestown
Most Recently Reviewed
Charlestown Breachway
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-28 13:20:00
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Camp Information
Sites
900
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
What I loved about this campground was that the sites are woodsy and private (we stayed in the 500s area). Its a beautiful park with a nicely stocked camp store on site. I'd imagine off-season or even during the week would be a great place to camp. What I didn't like about it...when we stayed the campground was filled to capacity. The camp store, playground, and bathrooms were mobbed with people and long lines. Forget about the "beach", we couldn't get close enough to it. The line of traffic to get there was insane, and for good reason: there were only 4 parking spots. The campsites near the beach reminded me of a low scale trailer park...the sites were small and on top of each other, and roads were narrow. I would definitely recommend a site further from the beach, and bring a bike because nothing is in walking distance except maybe a bathroom. The bathroom I found were hit or miss. the first one we went to was tiny, crowded, dirty, and the 2 showers were shared behind one curtain not allowing any privacy. However the second bathroom we found had twice as many stalls and 4 showers. We still had to wait in long lines to use both. When booking a site, pay attention to the size because they aren't consistent. This makes it difficult for someone with a large tent (ours is 20x11) to find a suitable spot free of stumps to set up. Overall I did like this campground, but i don't think i will ever camp here again on a weekend during the the summer. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
Burlingame is a no frills kind of place. Lots of space though and there are some very nice lots in the woods. Fun place to bring your bike with lots of paved roads to ride on. The "beach" area is small and it's difficult to find a place to fish from if you want to cast from land. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This is one of the prettiest parks we've stayed at. Has big sites and lots of privacy. Fish pond area is nice for canoes and boats. 115 is waterfront on the pond. Has tall trees. Nearby, on route 1 is Dan's (the purple house on a hill), where you can get WiFi and the best blueberry muffins I've ever had. They have computers you can use. We would have stayed longer if they had some amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Burlingame State Park
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   7   10   7   8   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  no  no  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  no  no  no  no  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
This is an open area parking. Since it was off season only a few campers were here so it was pretty quiet. Extensive beach for walking, fishing, and small boating could be seen. We had cold evenings, nice sunsets and sunrises. There are no amenities so it's dry camping. Good restaurants nearby. We stayed 3 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$14
This is a State of Rhode Island park that is walking distance to the ocean. It is a parking lot that holds 75 RV's, and you must be self contained to stay here - no hookups. They do have about 7 bathrooms (fancy pits?), but they were not open when we were there, only opening up Memorial Weekend until Labor Day or the end of the season. There are about 10 sites right on the Breachway where one can fish off of rocks, and every site has a view of the Breachway or the pond. $14 is in state fee, the out of state fee is $20. There is no dump station here, but you can use the one at Burlingame State Park about 15 minutes away. This campground can be used as a base to tour all the seaside communities in this section of RI with some great seafood restaurants. What this campground has is a beautiful beach two minutes away from your site and a great fishing area and boating area. One can also kayak or canoe the pond. The weather was great when we were there, so the sunsets and sunrises were spectacular! Good spot to watch birds and deer across the pond. The only negative is that we do not tow a car behind our RV and others that do many times park their cars behind your RV so that you can't get out. If their RV or 5th wheel does not fit into their sites including their cars there is parking in the general public parking lot for them, but who wants to pay extra. It was not crowded in early May when we went so it was very enjoyable. If you did not know that this campground was there as you take the road to Charlestown Beach you might think you had taken the wrong road, but you continue between the beach and the public parking lot past a lot of summer houses and the road ends at the Breachway. Great place for a stopover or to spend a week at the beach. They do take reservations online through Reserve America. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Although we rated the park at a 7 due to a lack of amenities, we give it a fun factor of 10. If you've never been, "GPS" yourself to Charlestown Beach Road, and then follow it to the very end. We knew the sites would be tight, but we were surprised at how difficult it was to get into the site. The key to this park is to arrive early so you have more room to maneuver. The sites are also not clearly marked. When we arrived, our neighbor took the liberty of moving a couple of feet over into our campsite. When we arrived, he wanted us to move over even more since we were on the end (#40). By the time all was said and done, there was 5 feet from our doorstep to his class C. This park would do well to remove 6-8 campsites, spread them out a bit more, and clearly mark them. The other thing that makes parking tight is that you have to park your tow vehicle in front of your site, or use the parking lot on the western side of the campground, which fills up fast. We witnessed a Class A take off part of his bumper trying to get into his site around a parked truck. When they say "self contained", they mean it! There is not even a hose for a water fill-up. Water can be filled and you can dump at Burlingame State Park, which is 7 miles away. The people were very friendly and the scenery was spectacular. We swam, fished, rode bikes, went crabbing in the tide pools, and could see the fireworks at the nearby seafood festival. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Charlestown Breachway
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com