214502 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Sonora (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Puerto Penasco
0.62 miles NE
Centro De Estudio De Desi
3.42 miles NE
Sonora
Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point)
Most Recently Reviewed
Playa Bonita Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-02-23 17:37:08
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Sonora
Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   8   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$27
Nice RV park in a good location. We checked all the other parks and happy we went with Playa Bonita. Park is clean with daily garbage pickup. 30 amp voltage was right on. Wi-Fi is fair to poor depending on the number of RVs in the park. Excellent HOT showers and laundromat. Vendors come by in the morning with fresh shrimp, tamales, etc. for sale. Excellent restaurant one minute walk from the park with well decorated interior/bar and large outdoor patio overlooking the water. $2 margaritas or $6 pitchers during happy hour. Security is good with nothing ever reported missing by long time residents. Office can arrange ANYTHING including insurance, painting, interior work, washing/waxing. Great dentists in town with state of the art equipment and painless excellent work. Will be back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$19
We will only stay at this park and have been at least 30 times over 16 years. If you want to back into or drive into a beach view space, call ahead and reserve it by sending in $75. It is a safe trip there and good security in the park. There are dogs loose at times and strays. Weekends are noisy and fun. The restaurant at adjacent hotel is quite nice as you can walk there. Holidays are quite busy, but you can always get a spot!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
We have come here four times and absolutely love it. If you come in January, there are not many people here, and you can get a beach site. You're in the RV park, with your front or back window looking right out to the Sea of Cortez. The park is located next to a hotel with a wonderful daily happy hour on their patio. Lots of good restaurants in the area, and we've never once felt unsafe. However, if you go to Rocky Point, this is definitely the park to come to! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Playa Bonita Resort
Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
January 2012
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$21
Spent three weeks here. Rate was 126.00 per week. Knowledgeable staff, and clean park. Dusty. On the beach. Nice park, returning next year for a month. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$21
We stayed two weeks and had some great weather, except for a couple windy days. Wide and level gravel sites, shared electric/water hookups. Two laundromats were open all hours. The beach is wide and clean, but the swimming area is rocky bottom. Some local vendors walk the beach, but aren't annoying. Loud music on weekends coming from a bar 1/2 block away was tolerable. Restaurants, Pemex gas, markets, banks and the Malecon are all within a ten minute drive. Wi-Fi had a good, fast signal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$21
Nice park right on the beach. Walking distance to restaurants. Spaces side by side and back to back. Shared hookups. Limited big rig sites. In "free zone", no papers needed except Mexican auto insurance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
216
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   7   1   5   9   1   1   1   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
Great venue for activities such as beach, kayaking, hiking. No activities, no pool. Full hook ups, watch the elecricity surges. A little out of town, but not as crowded as the in town parks. When we return, this is the park we'll come to. Very good staff and security. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
The rate cited reflects a monthly rate. This is our first time back in this park since 2007. There is now free Wi-Fi. There are finally functioning (clean) bathrooms and showers. There is a small laundromat; it had two working washers and two working driers while we were there. It takes US quarters, which can be obtained at the RV park office, but only occasionally. The sites are still very large, with 50 amp service at most of them. When we arrived we were allowed to pick our own site. We prefer the $20/night ($500/month) regular sites over the $35/night ($700/month) beachfront sites. The regular sites are oriented such that you can use your rig as a windbreak when the north winds blow, and they are isolated from the roving vendors on the beach. The vendors are not allowed to enter the park uninvited. To be fair, though, they all cheerfully move on when you tell them "No thanks". There are 48 beach-front sites and 168 other sites. At the first site we had, the voltage was quite high--132+ volts at night. We had to keep a space heater going all night to keep the voltage low enough that our surge protector didn't continually shut off power to the rig. We moved to another site later, and the voltage was down in the mid-120s. The park was virtually empty December and January (10-15 rigs), although a couple dozen rigs showed up between Xmas and New Years and on a few weekends. In February there were as many as 40-50 rigs on the weekends. When Spring Break started (second week of March), the park was about a third full, with all the beach-front sites taken. Before Spring Break, this is generally a very quiet place to be, although there are occasionally folks with noisy off-road vehicles in the park. During Spring Break people were shooting off fireworks on the beach every night. One bozo was exploding quarter sticks of dynamite, scaring our dog into a quivering mass of fear. The white-linen restaurant on site has a new chef. The meals are outstanding. The bar (Wrecked At The Reef) has been remodeled and is now a modern, pleasant place to have a drink and good food, either indoors and outdoors. A far cry from the dingy hole it was six years ago. Staff at the RV park and both restaurants were very pleasant and spoke excellent English. We think it’s the best RV park in town, and we have looked at them all. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
Came down from Las Vegas for Christmas week. Made fully paid reservation but when we arrived the park is absolutely EMPTY..A total of 12 various rigs here. Very sad actually. Strong 50 amp service..voltage a bit high..running around 132, water and sewer OK. We have beachfront. Wi-Fi included and very strong. Town is also quite barren of visitors and locals need business. No hassles/no problems...a nice getaway. Other parks were very empty as well. Would return. Hope things improve for these folks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for The Reef RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com