218147 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Charleston, South Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.66 miles NW
9.66 miles SE
10.34 miles SW
12.50 miles SW
13.34 miles NW
15.67 miles NW
26.23 miles NE
27.29 miles SW
29.97 miles NW
36.27 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Naval Station - Charlesto
6.36 miles SW
Charleston Naval Shipyar
7.96 miles SW
Wal-Mart
7400 Rivers Ave
8.85 miles SW
Charleston International
9.30 miles SW
Charleston Air Force Bas
9.46 miles SW
Shady Oaks Famcamp
9.97 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
605 St James Ave
10.07 miles NW
Charleston Southern Univ
10.40 miles NW
Sams Club?I-26:211B 6185 Rivers Ave (Located To Zip)
10.44 miles SW
Patriots Point Naval And
10.44 miles S
Wal-Marti-526:32 1481 Us Hwy 17 N (Located To Street)
10.64 miles S
J Bistro
11.31 miles S
Shem Creek Bar & Grill
11.36 miles S
Slightly Up The Creek
11.41 miles S
The Citadel
11.72 miles SW
Charleston Museum
11.85 miles SW
Charles Towne Landing
12.03 miles SW
Elliott'S On The Square
12.08 miles SW
College Of Charleston
12.15 miles SW
Anson
12.23 miles SW
Medical University Of Sou
12.26 miles SW
Sermet'S Corner
12.29 miles SW
Magnolia Plantation
12.29 miles SW
Charleston Historic Dist
12.32 miles SW
Aw Shucks
12.35 miles SW
Garibaldi'S - Charleston
12.35 miles SW
The Oyster Factory
12.37 miles SW
Charleston Grill
12.40 miles SW
Peninsula Grill
12.40 miles SW
The Palmetto Cafe
12.40 miles SW
JJ Hooks
12.41 miles SW
Slightly North Of Broad
12.41 miles SW
Beaumont'S Cafe
12.41 miles SW
Magnolias
12.42 miles SW
Blossom Cafe
12.45 miles SW
Middleton Place
12.49 miles SW
Fulton Five
12.49 miles SW
Mccrady'S Tavern
12.51 miles SW
Gibbes Museum Of Art
12.51 miles SW
Saracen
12.54 miles SW
Barbadoes Room
12.58 miles SW
Poogan'S Porch
12.58 miles SW
82 Queen
12.59 miles SW
Carolina's
12.59 miles SW
Charleston City Hall
12.66 miles SW
Edmonston-Alston House
12.95 miles SW
Calhoun Mansion
12.99 miles SW
One-Eyed Parrot
13.09 miles SE
Battery, The
13.12 miles SW
Wal-Marti-526:11 2245A Ashley Crossing Dr (Located To Block)
13.26 miles SW
Drayton Hall
13.39 miles SW
Wild Dunes Resort
13.55 miles SE
Charles Pinckney Nationa
13.63 miles S
Isle Of Palms
13.63 miles SE
Fort Sumter National Mon
13.63 miles S
Charleston Crab House
14.15 miles SW
Charleston Municipal Golf
14.97 miles SW
South Carolina
Charleston
Most Recently Reviewed
Oak Plantation Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-16 17:12:47
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Charleston, South Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
134
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   8   7   9   9   6   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
This is a very well kept park. I have stayed twice. Big rig friendly and easy to drive. Staff keeps day visitors in check. Although I was given an access code for the gate, it was left open all night, every night, which was a bit disconcerting. High price and a too early checkout time make this a short stay park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
Overall, this is a GREAT campground! One of our favorites, as we have been here several other times. Check-in would have been a little easier however the guy behind the counter could not comprehend that my brother and I booked our sites together and I wanted to pay for my site separately and my brother pay for his. The guy seemed to go into shutdown mode when he became frustrated. Finally, I paid for both sites and worked it out later with my brother. The sites were reserved a year in advance. During that time the park increased their rates, which they charged us the new rate, not the rate the sites were booked at. The campground does have a store and is well stocked when compared to most. They do offer propane, firewood for $6/bundle, and bike rental. There is a grocery store not far from campground should you forget something. The park does have entertainment on select weekends and a pancake breakfast on Sunday mornings. The interior roads of the campground are all paved and easy to navigate even for big rigs. Each site is packed gravel. Our site, 25, did have standing water during rain and remained wet after. Most all of the sites are level and easy to back into. The bath houses was very clean and well stocked each time I visited. Wi-Fi is available but at times I was unable to get on. AT&T and 4G are usable with 1 - 2 bars. There is a water park and splash pad, both open to the public and can get a little crowded on the weekends. If you camp, discount tickets are available at the office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
Great website where you can view a picture of each campsite and choose your site when you make your reservation. We chose site 17 which backs up to a pond and it was a great site. The sites are large, shady and for the most part private. If you are camping with a friend, they have several sites next to each other that connect. Closest park to downtown Charleston. Great amenities such as hiking trails, water park and dog park. Close to Folly Beach and about 20 minutes away from Kiawiah Island Park where they have an off-leash dog beach with free admission for campground guests. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for James Island County Park
Camp Information
Sites
241
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   5   7   9   9   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
This RV park has easy access to Charleston. It is kept very clean. It has a great dog run which was nice and grassy. The pool was nice. It has many shaded sites for smaller RV's, some grass some gravel, and some cement. We asked for a pull through. The one they gave us had a cement pad just long enough to get all 4 wheels of our 40 footer on and a small grassy area for the toad. After deploying 4 slides there was barely room to sit beside the coach. There were many other sites much larger. The staff was very friendly. It is a nice park we would recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
Immaculate park. Everything appeared neat and orderly, even the trash cans (which are spaced along the main road for easy access). All grass mowed and trimmed. Clean tiled restroom/shower areas, huge dog park, close to grocery and fuel, good cable TV. Good cell signal. To maintain the great high speed Internet, they do not allow you to watch videos on their Wi-Fi. If your life depends on this, you may want to find somewhere else or add to your Verizon data plan. Found them very accommodating when we had to extend stay unexpectedly. Definitely recommend this park. Would be a 10 if pads were paved. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$58
Overall the park is good. The rate was a bit high as we travel with four children and the base charge did not cover most of them. The park was conveniently located in relation to downtown Charleston. While the park was quiet and nice I often felt like we were being watched. On one hand it is great the staff is constantly driving around the grounds keeping an eye on things. On the other hand the reminders about what you could not do were a bit too much for me. I know that several people complained about the speed bumps, but I don't think they were that big of a deal; although, there are a lot of them. While the park is nice the next time in the area I'll search for better pricing in advance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Display older reviews for Oak Plantation Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com