220929 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Charleston, South Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.66 miles NW
9.66 miles SE
10.34 miles SW
12.50 miles SW
13.34 miles NW
15.67 miles NW
26.23 miles NE
27.29 miles SW
29.97 miles NW
36.27 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Naval Station - Charlesto
6.36 miles SW
Charleston Naval Shipyar
7.96 miles SW
Wal-Mart
7400 Rivers Ave
8.85 miles SW
Charleston International
9.30 miles SW
Charleston Air Force Bas
9.46 miles SW
Shady Oaks Famcamp
9.97 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
605 St James Ave
10.07 miles NW
Charleston Southern Univ
10.40 miles NW
Sams Club?I-26:211B 6185 Rivers Ave (Located To Zip)
10.44 miles SW
Patriots Point Naval And
10.44 miles S
Wal-Marti-526:32 1481 Us Hwy 17 N (Located To Street)
10.64 miles S
J Bistro
11.31 miles S
Shem Creek Bar & Grill
11.36 miles S
Slightly Up The Creek
11.41 miles S
The Citadel
11.72 miles SW
Charleston Museum
11.85 miles SW
Charles Towne Landing
12.03 miles SW
Elliott'S On The Square
12.08 miles SW
College Of Charleston
12.15 miles SW
Anson
12.23 miles SW
Medical University Of Sou
12.26 miles SW
Sermet'S Corner
12.29 miles SW
Magnolia Plantation
12.29 miles SW
Charleston Historic Dist
12.32 miles SW
Aw Shucks
12.35 miles SW
Garibaldi'S - Charleston
12.35 miles SW
The Oyster Factory
12.37 miles SW
Charleston Grill
12.40 miles SW
Peninsula Grill
12.40 miles SW
The Palmetto Cafe
12.40 miles SW
JJ Hooks
12.41 miles SW
Slightly North Of Broad
12.41 miles SW
Beaumont'S Cafe
12.41 miles SW
Magnolias
12.42 miles SW
Blossom Cafe
12.45 miles SW
Middleton Place
12.49 miles SW
Fulton Five
12.49 miles SW
Mccrady'S Tavern
12.51 miles SW
Gibbes Museum Of Art
12.51 miles SW
Saracen
12.54 miles SW
Barbadoes Room
12.58 miles SW
Poogan'S Porch
12.58 miles SW
82 Queen
12.59 miles SW
Carolina's
12.59 miles SW
Charleston City Hall
12.66 miles SW
Edmonston-Alston House
12.95 miles SW
Calhoun Mansion
12.99 miles SW
One-Eyed Parrot
13.09 miles SE
Battery, The
13.12 miles SW
Wal-Marti-526:11 2245A Ashley Crossing Dr (Located To Block)
13.26 miles SW
Drayton Hall
13.39 miles SW
Wild Dunes Resort
13.55 miles SE
Charles Pinckney Nationa
13.63 miles S
Isle Of Palms
13.63 miles SE
Fort Sumter National Mon
13.63 miles S
Charleston Crab House
14.15 miles SW
Charleston Municipal Golf
14.97 miles SW
South Carolina
Charleston
Most Recently Reviewed
Oak Plantation Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-15 13:21:39
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Charleston, South Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
134
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$51



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   10   10   8   10   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$51
Beautiful setting and park. Gravel/grass sites easy to level with jacks. Good WiFi, We asked for site to receive Direct tv and we got it. Friendly staff and overall well kept. Gates locked at night but PW is given to open gate for after 8 pm reentry. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
This is a very well kept park. I have stayed twice. Big rig friendly and easy to drive. Staff keeps day visitors in check. Although I was given an access code for the gate, it was left open all night, every night, which was a bit disconcerting. High price and a too early checkout time make this a short stay park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
Overall, this is a GREAT campground! One of our favorites, as we have been here several other times. Check-in would have been a little easier however the guy behind the counter could not comprehend that my brother and I booked our sites together and I wanted to pay for my site separately and my brother pay for his. The guy seemed to go into shutdown mode when he became frustrated. Finally, I paid for both sites and worked it out later with my brother. The sites were reserved a year in advance. During that time the park increased their rates, which they charged us the new rate, not the rate the sites were booked at. The campground does have a store and is well stocked when compared to most. They do offer propane, firewood for $6/bundle, and bike rental. There is a grocery store not far from campground should you forget something. The park does have entertainment on select weekends and a pancake breakfast on Sunday mornings. The interior roads of the campground are all paved and easy to navigate even for big rigs. Each site is packed gravel. Our site, 25, did have standing water during rain and remained wet after. Most all of the sites are level and easy to back into. The bath houses was very clean and well stocked each time I visited. Wi-Fi is available but at times I was unable to get on. AT&T and 4G are usable with 1 - 2 bars. There is a water park and splash pad, both open to the public and can get a little crowded on the weekends. If you camp, discount tickets are available at the office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for James Island County Park
Camp Information
Sites
241
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   9   9   8   5   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Camped in 45 foot rig. Easy access from Highway 17 (Old Savannah Highway). Paved interior roads with some paved pad, gravel, and grass driveway sites. Good amount of grass space between your site and your neighbor. Pull-through and back-in sites are easy to get into. Some shade at pull-through sites and more at back-in sites. Sat TV is possible from most pull-through sites. Verizon cell service showed 5 bars. Free Wi-Fi connectivity was good, but the service was slow. Office staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$41
This is a well maintained park. The staff is friendly and helpful. The sites are level, and most have cement pads and are wide enough. One odd thing was (considering the park was not full at all) that we were first assigned a site that did not have a cement pad at the end of a row that would hardly have fit our RV. We asked it to be changed and it was. They probably have too many speed bumps. It is close to Charleston and many other attractions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
I will give all the positives first. Very clean and well maintained park. Nice paved road around the whole park. Our dog loved the dog run which is very big for a rv park. The sites we level for the most part. The first site the put us in had ALOT of pea gravel and I couldn't keep our motorhome level. We moved down a few sites and it was much better. Its about a 15 minute drive from Charleston depending on traffic. We stayed here for 3 months and paid monthly so I am not sure of the daily rate. Now the negatives. My biggest thing was the attitude of SOME of the employees and the owners. They were unfriendly a lot of the time. WATCH out for the excessive speed bumps. Getting in and out of the park is a challenge depending on which way you are going or coming from and time of day. The cable is fuzzy and the wifi is not very good. Go ahead and buy a bunch of ant traps as the sugar ants are every where. We got infested when we first got there and it was a constant battle keeping them out. If we get back to Charleston I would stay here again if nothing else was available. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Display older reviews for Oak Plantation Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com