218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby McCormick, South Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.08 miles SW
14.61 miles SE
20.50 miles NE
21.30 miles NW
23.84 miles NE
25.70 miles S
31.15 miles NE
South Carolina
McCormick
Most Recently Reviewed
Hickory Knob State Resort Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-29 16:32:55
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
McCormick, South Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
May 2010
Latest Rate
$20


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Very tight for our motor home and tow (62'). Pull-throughs were angled. Has lots of trees, a beautiful lake (and sunsets). Road into the park is narrow and winding, but paved. Camping area has dirt roads. Dump area is in dire need of re-surfacing! Park accepts Golden Age Annual Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
Two separate campgrounds, one had water and electric and made for RVs. Park very nice, one way loop road in and out of campgrounds kinds of steep hills, but paved and smooth. Campground sites gravel, fairly level, about half on water and shady, but very close together. Gravel road through campground was narrow and kind of rutted. We were there on Memorial day, cars constantly in and out of campground and no rangers in site. Most campers had more than one vehicle on site and some not only an RV, but boat trailer as well parking anywhere and everywhere. Not a bad campground, but I wouldn't recommend on a holiday weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
Loved Hawe Creek and would easily recommend it. The sites are large with easy entrance and they have a super friendly staff. The only reason I didn't rate it higher was because the showers were a fair piece from the actual camp sites. I would have liked to seen those a little closer and I would have also liked to see some sort of playground for the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
This park is NOT hard to find if you follow the directions and look for the brown sign. These are some of the MOST spacious sites we have ever seen and very well spaced from the next site. The lake access was wonderful.Sites 12-24 are easier access to the water. As kayakers this is important to us. They even let you take fallen branches, etc for firewood...what a great perk! The bathroom could have had more than one shower, but other that that we loved it and would go back in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$11
First off park is hard to find. From from Hwy 378 & Hwy 221 in McCormick go 3 miles west on Hwy 378. Look for the Brown sign and turn south or left on to Chamberlains Ferry Road. Park is 4 miles on end of this road. Park is in a beautiful place on Strom Thurmond lake. Roads are asphalt, sites are hard gravel and a little off level. Most all sites set on the lake. Sites have ring rings, table, water, BBQ cooking equipment, most sites have 30/50 amps. 24 sites have 30 amps only. Dump station was in an odd place and on wrong side of the road. Boat launch inside the park. Loop in center has a very short turn. If you have a tow car you can not turn the loop. Some sites will be hard on big rigs to get in and out of, pick one with care. DTV was good and you have a number of channels. Verizon cell phone works very well. Price was on Golden Age card. Park hosts were very nice at check in. Place was close to empty first part of September. Park was noise free. Lake was very low on water due to low rains. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   4   9   5   7   8   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Not exactly sure how anyone could rate this campground above a 3. I know state parks are not receiving the most love right now with the economy, but there are much more inviting places to stay in the same area. The sites are tight, difficult to get into, curvy gravel paths (sorry can’t call what’s there a road) with trees in the way, and ruts and hills. Tent camping I suppose would be fine but unless you get one of the top sites along the entrance. Leave the RV or camper home if you do not wish to damage them. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
The sites are not very accurately described once you get there. We were to stay in #21 and it was too narrow to fit our camper even though on the web it said it could hold a 30' camper. We stayed in #30 and it was tight. All the sites looked very uneven. Make sure you bring extra blocking here! The bath houses were clean, but it was loud at night. We won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Fantastic place to RV. We reserved for 5 days and liked it so much we stayed for 7. Most sites are on the lake and have great views. The area has lots of hiking, the lake looked inviting but we didn't swim, and there are boats available for rent. Also, a great 18 hole golf course, where we played 9 holes and used free clubs. Restrooms and showers were clean and modern. This is the first campground where I have seen new Corian countertops! Showers are spacious and great hot water and pressure. The only downside was our site. When we pulled in, I thought someone left two big logs for firewood. Turns out we needed them under our rear stabilizer jacks, as the 5th wheel was about 4 feet off the ground. The other thing: you are in chigger and tick country and we fed a few of each. Proper care may have eliminated this issue. Most sites have great views, and I would come here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Hickory Knob State Resort Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com