223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Santee, South Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.62 miles NE
11.25 miles SE
13.35 miles NW
17.13 miles N
19.58 miles NE
19.61 miles SE
22.13 miles SW
23.26 miles W
24.27 miles SE
28.50 miles SE
28.67 miles N
-Other Nearby Points-
Big Water Resort-7860 Wash Davis Rd.
2.60 miles NE
Mountaineer Motel
(803)534-6453
11.96 miles SW
South Carolina
Santee
Most Recently Reviewed
Santee Lakes Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-07 14:02:07
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Santee, South Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2014
$28
We tried to get into the State Park but it was full. We decided to try this park that did not have any RV Park Reviews. It was adequate but just. It is almost completely taken up with full time and seasonal occupants, most with old trailers. It was somewhat noisy and the sites are not well kept. The campground roads, the ones to the sites, were dirt and extremely rutted. The main attraction to this campground is most likely the access to the lake but nothing here I would call a resort, as its name applies. We were in a 50 amp/water site that was out in the open; all the sites are grass, where it isn't dirt. The website lists a pool, but I never could find it. The park is close to the town of Santee and just over the bridge from the Wildlife Preserve and just about 5 miles from the State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   3   9   1   7   8   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2014
$38
There is no reason to stay at this former KOA unless you want to fish on the lake. We asked for a waterfront site and were told "I wouldn't put a nice rig like that in those sites!". This place is rundown and full of old trailers. We were told there was one site left for overnighters so we took it and saw at least 30 other empty sites when we drove through. Roads are narrow, sandy and uneven. Sites are sandy and uneven. No fire rings, no internet except at the office and no cable TV. We couldn't get satellite due to the trees. This rate included a Good Sam discount. There was a newer campground around the corner, but it was more expensive, had no cable and also had no internet except at the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
Older campground with dirt roads and sites. We were told to take specific site only to find another RV there - office didn't know that they weren't leaving for another week? We had to drive around campground to come back down the narrow lane to get in to a different site. Lots of tall old trees make the sites feel even tighter. We had trouble finding our sewer connector - was under leaves and dirt. Bathroom / laundry facility is clean (considering it's in the middle of woods), but the drains of the showers needed attention - one had a pile of dirt or something around the drain. Road noise from I95 is noticeable outdoors, but inside our trailer wasn't bad. Wi-Fi was good. no TV though. Only 30 AMP service. Price of $35 is a Good Sam on a full hook-ups. Too much of a charge for what the campground offers. If really stuck I'd stay here again, but rather find something with better services for less $. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
Depressing run down park even for an overnighter. I never saw so many "vintage" campers. No cable or internet and we didn't even get sewer so I thought price per night was high. Only seasonal people there, who were very nice. I guess the lake is the reason they stay because the park is a dump. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Santee Lakes Campground
Camp Information
Sites
188
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   4   5   7   8   8   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$19
This is a nice get away campground. I live about 40 miles from here and camp here often. Someone said they reserved a 50 amp site? There are no 50 amp sites there. This is an older campground kept up pretty well by the rangers and hosts. Fishing is mostly catfish and there are a few nice golf courses nearby. I have found that most of South Carolina State Parks are about the same. All built around the same time and not much updating. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
I agree with the previous review in regards to rough roads and sites with tree roots. The sites are spaciously apart from each other in most cases. There is free & very good Wi-Fi at the store and ranger station. It does not reach the campground area. Our Verizon My-Fi and cell service was spotty. We didn't have sewer at our site (lake front). Water pressure was good and power was stable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
This is our second stay at this park. It is about 70 miles from home so it makes a weekend get-a-way easy. There are many other state parks that are much better than this one. The check in process is easy and staff is very nice. We stayed on the Cypress loop (small campground). The road in the campground is dirt and filled with potholes. It is very rough and dusty. Navigation is not difficult even for large rigs as the roads are wide enough. The sites are all dirt. Some are more level than others. The sites have a lot of tree roots making leveling of a coach difficult. When we arrived at our site, it was not very clean. I had to rake the site of limbs, pine cones, and leaves. AT&T cell service and 4G is good. Mi-Fi had great reception. Over the air TV has about 8-10 channels. Bath house was clean and well stocked each time I visited. The rangers made rounds through the campground every couple of hours. The nearest stores are about 5 miles from the campground. There is a lakefront store in the park. However, it is stocked more with T-shirts, etc. and only a few camping or food related items. Firewood and ice is available at lake front store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Santee State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com