206673 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Hill City, South Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.57 miles E
11.32 miles S
17.22 miles NE
18.85 miles N
19.90 miles NE
20.12 miles SE
20.76 miles NE
22.57 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Black Hills Institute Of
0.15 miles NW
Alpine Inn
0.21 miles N
1880 Train - Black Hil
0.33 miles SE
Crooked Creek Resort
605-574-2418
1.71 miles SW
Mount Rushmore National
6.66 miles SE
Rushmore Tramway
7.34 miles SE
Borglum Historical Center
8.54 miles SE
Crazy Horse Memorial
8.72 miles S
Big Thunder Gold Mine
9.79 miles SE
Skyway
11.03 miles S
Custer County 1881-Cour
11.43 miles S
Texaco ($2)
Custer
11.45 miles S
Spokane Creek Rv
(605)666-4609
11.50 miles SE
Fireside Inn Restaurant
12.09 miles NE
South Dakota
Hill City
Most Recently Reviewed
Mount Rushmore KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-01-25 21:42:41
9 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Hill City, South Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
This park is in the process of changing ownership. The new owners are a young couple with several children who live on site. I don't think they have much experience with RV's or parks, but if they work at it, there's a lot they could do with this campground. There are only three 50 amp sites here. Of the approximately 50 sites, 15 or so are tent sites and another dozen are electric/water only. FHU sites are gravel and not too level; we could not get our 43-ft rig completely level and had a 3-foot leap down from our steps. That said, this is a nice park and might be better if the new owners work at it. It's in a lovely setting, convenient to many Black Hills attractions, has free Wi-Fi, clean restrooms and showers and a small but reasonably priced laundry. Verizon wireless worked well here. I think the $40 daily rate (plus taxes) is high and they don't offer a discounted weekly rate. Apparently other campers feel the same way because there were only four RV's here during July 4th week and two of those were long term. We might stay here again if rates were lower. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
I love this park. We usually have a 36' travel trailer but we decided to stay in cabins on our trip through the Black Hills. It was a simple sleeping cabin - we were going to tent for a few nights but it was raining. The cabin seemed new, all made of pine logs. Simple full size bed and a nice set of bunk beds. It didn't come with bed linens or towels - but we had our own. The shower house was so nice. SO CLEAN. CLEANER THAN ANY CAMP SHOWER EVER! The playground was nice for the kids and they have a basketball court too. So friendly at check in - they even helped us with directions and gave us a great place to eat! Will be back on our way home from Seattle! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   8   7   10   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
We knew from prior reviews that this was just full hookups with no showers or restrooms. Staff was super helpful in getting us situated, and it's a great place to stay, close to Mt. Rushmore. Price reflects the Passport America rate. A little sloped getting into their park, but fairly level spots. The children enjoyed the little creek nearby and the teepee was cute too. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
We loved staying at this park. It was the most friendliest ever, not to mention animal friendly. The owners were very accommodating to our needs. We still keep in contact with them. We stayed 3 days longer than planned because it was a great small park. Good 50 amp power and good water pressure. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
This campground is definitely one my family and I will return to again. The new owners are wonderful people and really seemed to enjoy having us stay with them as much as we did staying there. They even supplied my mom with some 'flies' for fishing. Theres a neat little trail to the creek, large sites, easy access in and out, and just overall one of the cleanest parks I have seen. I am not sure how much the nightly rate was, but I do remember it was the best in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Creekside Mountain RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   2   7   3   2   8   10   2   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
The bathrooms were way too small for this size campground, were not clean, and are not handicap accessible as their website states. WiFi did not work anytime during our stay. The sites were grass covered and wet most of our stay and it had not been recently cut. Would not recommend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
The park sites were extremely close (3-4' apart). We had reservations for 5 days with full hookups. When we got there the owner said that "full hookups" to them meant the "honey truck" would come to your sight twice weekly and drain your black water. With the gray water we were told to drain the gray water on to the ground. This is very unsanitary. Due to a power failure on and off all night we left the next day. We made reservations 30 days in advance and received a horrible RV spot. The park was clean, but you were crammed in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
The location is ideal for exploring the Rapid City area, minutes from Mt Rushmore. Bathrooms and showers were always clean and laundry facility was great. Good breakfast at a reasonable price was served daily from 7-10 am. Staff was friendly and helpful. Be warned, the sites are very tight. My awning nearly touched my neighbor. And the "free" Wi-Fi does not include iOS devices, so no iPhone or iTouch can access it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Crooked Creek Resort & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   10   8   10   9   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
A nice quiet RV park, with friendly staff. Close to all the tourist sites in the Black Hills. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This was a great campsite and my favorite of the 2013 season. Sites are spaced good. Fires are aloud at each campsite. Bathrooms were clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
The secondary road to the park from the main US highway is a little tight for a 45 foot coach with a tow. Lucky, it was only 2 miles. It was freshly paved. The check in was great, very friendly!! The roads were all graveled, but very tight. Our site had a large trees, pine with a table. The site was not level. Had to reposition the coach. Was still barely able to level it. Needed a lot more gravel. While we were there we encountered several large thundershowers. On several occasions the gravel road washed out. The owner was quick to fix things, which was fine. When leaving it was a struggle to dodge large rocks and the washed out shoulders of the gravel internal roads. If you're 40 feet and less its a fine place to stay. They will need to do some work to keep large rigs coming in. Really need to address the roads. Finally, the owners were very nice, friendly and very helpful. Place was very clean!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Horse Thief Campground & RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Friendly staff. Very peaceful setting. Pleasant views of the surrounding forests and mountain peaks. Convenient location to Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore and other points of interest. Fair rate. Campground Wi-Fi didn't work for us, which isn't surprising given the rigged terrain. Our Verizon MiFi signal was weak as well. Pull-through sites were spacious and the distance to neighbors was decent as well. Fire rings and firewood available. Only down side to this campground was the internal access roads were a bit tight for big rigs and the roads had fairly deep washouts. Had to take care and proceed very slowly when maneuvering our 40' rig. Seemed better geared towards smaller RVs. That said, this is a nice place and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
Great rustic campsite. Can use generators. Great views and really close to Mount Rushmore. Big sites with cement areas under picnic tables and grill area. Very clean. Vault toilets. No showers. Faucets for water. Recycling available. Great hosts greet and will help you - they will help you with anything. Some sites right on the lake. Forested area. It is very rightly a popular choice and we are glad that we booked in advance. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
500
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   6   8   7   8   7   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
Great place to camp with kids as there are a lot of things for them to do, and most of it is included in the regular rate. If you're used to a "RV Park" type of place, where you don't have much space, then you'll be fine. I didn't expect the privacy of a state or provincial park as I chose the full hookups over the privacy since most of our days were spent checking out the Black Hills. Only gave it a 7 since I think they could knock about $10 off the nightly rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$79
Great for kids, otherwise, not so good. This is a campground not a resort. Little separation between sites, no trees, some grass, gravel and dirt. Very poorly managed, nice but untrained staff (many from out of state), lots to see in area. No, will not return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$78
This appears to be a great experience for youngsters. Adults camp as well. This is a campground, not a resort. The price is too high for what this camp provides for adults. No Wi-Fi, no cell service, bad cable, poor water pressure, poor litter pick-up, inadequately trained office staff. One concierge did not know how to book a stay at another KOA. The restaurant and tavern were under-staffed and the service was awful. Almost everyone travels with pets. They have spent a vast amount of money on enticing families with children. There is only one place to exercise your pet and it is not fenced. Can you put up a simple fence for a dog park? They need to police the speeding carts and ATVs. The best thing about this park is the staff at the Stables. We will look elsewhere next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mount Rushmore KOA
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$17


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
Although this is a no frills campground it was beautiful. We wish we had stayed longer, it is convenient to Custer, Rushmore, Wind Cave and Rapid City, Hill City and Deadwood, SD. Nice shaded sites with a mild breeze even in the mid to high 90 degree temperatures while we were there. Friendly/helpful host. Highly recommend if you are self contained and can dry camp for up to a week. Generator friendly campground.. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   10   7   8   7   10   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Cable in Base Camp only. Nice drive-thru in a meadow type setting with trees. Lots of open space for dog. Laundry clean. Wi-Fi poor. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
The park is very pleasant, clean, quiet, with nice wide and level gravel sites. The staff was very helpful and nice. Our complaints are that the advertised Wi-Fi is spotty at best and we was only able to log on a couple of times. Verizon signal was also spotty and sometimes we could not get on. Advertized cable TV is only available in certain areas. Our biggest complaint would be that the water is undrinkable. An inch of water in the sink and you couldn't see the drain. We would find another spot if returning to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
Nice campsite in the wooded hills with beautiful views. Very well maintained, and the staff we dealt with was pleasant and helpful. Not the cheapest, but we felt it was worth it. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Rafter J Bar Ranch Camping Resort
Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$41
This is a brand new RV park on the south end of Hill City. It is open, but not everything is completely finished. They still have some work to do on some of the RV sites, are currently working on the landscaping around the main building, and are still building cabins. The 34 sites I listed above is just for the projected number of RV sites. I do not know the total number of cabins. We spent one weekday night here. All RV sites are back-ins set on 10' wide gravel pads. Some are not big enough for large RVs. All are FHU with cable and free WI-FI. I did not hook up to the cable and the WI-FI worked well for us. That may be because we were the only RV customers in the park. All sites appear to be satellite friendly. The park roads are gravel and the site pads are raised causing a safety hazard for folks stepping out of their RVs onto a sloped surface. There is nothing (no pool or playground) for kids. All the sewer pipes are about 10" above the ground creating hookup and dumping headaches. The park is right off US385 and the traffic noise is steady and loud until dark. It picks up again first thing in the morning. Most of the town's attractions (shops, restaurants, museum, 1880 Train, etc.) are within a mile or so of the park. I thought the rate was high, and there are none of the usual discounts (GS, AAA, etc.). Even if they fix some of the problems (sewer height, for example), I don't think I would rate this park much higher because of the cost and noise issues. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com