223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Hot Springs, South Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
23.81 miles NW
31.38 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Kemo Sabay Cg Rte
(605)745-4397
0.25 miles NW
Villa Theresa Guesthouse
0.41 miles NW
Mammoth Site
2.26 miles SW
Wind Cave National Park
8.36 miles N
Plenty Star Ranch On Hwy
(605)673-3012
15.36 miles NW
South Dakota
Hot Springs
Most Recently Reviewed
Allen Ranch
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-04 22:49:22
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Hot Springs, South Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2014
$18
Can you say sheep/horse poop...I've never seen so much of it in my life. This is a whole in the wall campground, very old and needs tons of work. The bathrooms were old but clean enough considering the campground. The price was crazy high if I was not so tired we would not of stayed, we paid $18.00 with passport America. Sign said $25.00 night for Bikes...CRAZY!! ATT cell worked ok, could not get DirecTV or local channels. Road is very rough going in, I would not stay again. FYI GPS was wrong going in. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$8
Allen ranch is a small rustic campground on the Fall River. Owner is very laid back and nice. There is a self check-in. Very good location for visiting Mammoth Site, Wind Cave, and Evan's Plunge. Bathrooms and showers are clean, but rustic. We had excellent Verizon cell phone and Mi-Fi service. Spots below are pull-ins and back right up to the river. Pull through's are on top of hill and will accommodate big rig's. Fifty amp, water, no sewer, but good sani-dump. Definitely no-frills, but I would return to camp when I'm back in the area. Our reasonable rate was based on a rate of 250$ per month after Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
This park is along the highway that goes into Hot Springs and therefore can be noisy but not overbearing. The setting is beautiful with many sites adjacent to a warm water stream. There is a small playground for the kids and tubes are provided for fun in the stream. No sewer hookup available, but the is a dump station. No office or attendant, you just place your money into an envelope and slide it into a slot near the restrooms. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
168
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   10   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
Absolutely beautiful state park. The camp hosts were very nice people. We had a huge site next to the lake and a paved trail to walk to the beach. Weekends are hard to get so book in advance. We would definitly stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
We stayed at Chinook Campground in the rec area. Quiet, spacious sites, that was really nice. Some shade. No water or sewer and since the beach area is sandy and muddy, water would have been really nice to have. There are several trees and our spot was shaded, however, the grassy areas are dry and dead, not maintained. The beach in front of our camp site would have been really nice, but it was muddy and weedy all along the shore, the kids would not go out in the water because they got stuck walking into the water. Play toys were really nice, but again, no maint. done on the area itself. Bathrooms were clean with showers. This park has HUGE possibilities, it could be great with some ground maintenance, but it doesn't live up to it's potential. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Price is for site. Must also pay $7.70 per reservation for out of state & have a SD camping sticker. ($6 per day or $28 year) Beautiful campground. Great, spacious spaces. Full power 20/30/50, unfortunately, no water or sewer. We stayed in Cascade park, overlooking the reservoir. Great staff & very friendly, helpful volunteers. Perfect place for family, especially if you are boaters. Very well laid out for boat trailers, & some boats were pulled up to lakefront sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Angostura SRA
Camp Information
Sites
13
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$8



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$8
This is a small campground with zero hookups and only pit toilets. It is a narrow dirt road to get to the campground, fine for tent campers, but use caution on curves and blind hills if in an RV. Sites are small and primarily intended for tent campers. This is NOT a big rig friendly campground, as gravel parking sites are small, but with decent sized grass areas, fire rings, and picnic tables on each site. RVs less than 32' fit OK. One or two sites will accommodate up to 36' if parking any tow vehicle separately in overflow parking. No parking on grass. 2 sites are on the water and not on the main campground loop. No reservations in advance, first come first serve, self register. Arrive on a Monday - Thursday during high season to be assured a site. Site MUST be occupied upon arrival and registration, and occupied each night (no holding sites in advance). Pets must be leashed. Rangers and sheriffs department drive through several times per day, on site camp hosts in high season. Nice for what it offers, at $8 per night. National park pass accepted for 1/2 price. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$5
Great small corps park to camp during cool weather. It is a very beautiful area to camp in with lots of hiking areas. Map Quest it before looking for it and it will save you anxiety and time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$5
Cold Brook Lake Corps of Engineers, just north of Hot Springs, SD. No reservations, $5 fee. No hookups. A few small shade trees. Pit toilets. Located near small reservoir with swimming beach. Many open sites mid week in June. Thirteen well separated sites, fairly level. Some deer flies. We would go there again. Evans Plunge, historic indoor and outdoor pools, is located in Hot Springs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   7   8   8   6   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Camped here in the early week so it was not real busy. Our site was plenty long but on quite a hill so had to pull way up to get to a "flat" area to level. This required that we unhitch and pull the truck up behind so the truck did not protrude into the street. Not a big deal for us as hitching up is not time consuming for us but a bit noisier for the neighbors in the a.m. Pool and restroom/showers are very clean and pleasant. Did not visit the laundry. Had a good a.m. and p.m. cafe menu if you didn't want to cook. A bit of road noise but nothing to interfere with sleeping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
A few miles south of Hot Springs, this quiet campground is situated on a slope in Ponderosa pine and juniper, and very convenient to many attractions in the Hot Springs area. The staff were very friendly and helpful, with lots of info on things to do (and there are lots). The restrooms were very clean and nicely appointed. The dirt/gravel spaces are rather narrow, although with all the trees, you don’t see a lot of spaces at once. The spaces we saw are pretty level from side to side, but slope substantially uphill from front to back; they could present a challenge for long, low-slung rigs. Wi-Fi is available and worked fine at our spot. The rate was $31 with a KOA card. We stayed in an Aliner popup on September 12th, 2013; we will definitely stay there again when we return to the Hot Springs area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
I'm conflicted on this KOA. The staff was friendly and check-in was painless. Our first site had a malfunctioning electrical hookup, but the staff was very accommodating in helping us find another site even though the park was at capacity. The main difficulty is that many of the sites should simply be closed as they are so far out of level as to be unusable. I had four wooden ramps and 10 plastic leveling pads and was unable to even approach level to the point that the fridge had to be switched to electric because the propane could not function on the slant. Adding to the problem is that the streets are very narrow and tree limbs have encroached on the sites making it hard to avoid damaging the RV. Having said that, there are some nice, reasonably level sites available. If you are able to reserve those sites, it would be a great park to base out of while exploring the Black Hills area. We did not use the showers/restrooms so no comment on that. I would use this park again but be very careful with my site reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Hot Springs KOA
Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   8   6   6   5   2   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  no  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  no  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
There is kindness in the host and beauty in the surrounding area. Travelers very much appreciate needed services and respect the effort it takes to run a place. This is a very small park. There is 1 shower stall for the entire park both men and women must use. The shower stall is very unsanitary: all the walls, floor, shower curtain and temp control handle, it was very sad and possibly due to backgrounds and educational upbringing because this host is a very kind woman. All it would take is Ajax abrasive cleanser, a ton of bleach, some really strong brushes of a few different sizes and a new $5 shower curtain a week from WalMart to get this acceptable, and a resealing job for the walls are disconnecting at their seams. It makes you very sad to be tired, pull in late, and face fear of even your finger tapping a wall accidentally or an accidental imbalance causing your skin to tap the shower curtain. Even what you attempt to set your things upon is in filth and the website is done so well, there is no real clue offered you. This is very small, only a couple spaces are to be found so be aware it is a rough stay as for cleanliness. There is no deep cleaning present in restrooms (there is 1 toilet for men/1 for women) and this is not stated as an unkind complaint, but as a courtesy warning. They do allow tents. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$21
We camped here for 3 nights using PPUSA. The first night was $15.83 and remaining were at $20.05 (inc tax). There were 3 others in the campground when we were here, so it's pretty quiet. The first site we pulled in didn't have working utilities. But, the owner appeared a few minutes after our arrival and guided us to a site, which didn't have working electric, but it was a side by side hookup so we just plugged into the adjacent receptacle, without having to move again. The campground is conveniently close to town and sightseeing. The grounds were mowed, but a weed-eater would have improved the appearance of the place a lot. I stuck my head in the restroom, which was old and dated. I would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$16
This park was a pleasant surprise. Looked pretty shaky when we drove in, but we were met by a very helpful host and soon were in place. Park is rustic. The view of the Black Hills is great and this park is close to town. It is a passport America Discount park so rates are very reasonable. Bathrooms and showers were rustic but clean and everything worked. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Kemo Sabay Campground
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
July 2006
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
Quiet park with many rules most of which are for RV'ers benefit. The Lake is more of a pond but is pretty and the pedallo boats were enjoyed by our twin daughters. Excellent wireless internet! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2004
$38
A very nice campground located near a small lake. Traffic noise from a nearby highway was minimal. Very clean restrooms and showers. High expectations for appropriate camper behavior, pet control, and cleanliness as evidenced by the multitude of signs - some of which insulted one's intelligence and common sense - throughout the campground and in the restroom facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com