206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Spearfish, South Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.81 miles SE
9.74 miles SE
12.45 miles N
14.53 miles NW
18.07 miles SE
26.00 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Black Hills Passion Pla
0.38 miles W
Black Hills State Univ
0.96 miles NW
Wal-Marti-90:12 2125 N Main (Located To Block)
1.46 miles N
High Plains Heritage Cen
1.90 miles N
Welcome Center
I-90 Mm1
9.46 miles NW
Old Style Saloon #10
9.83 miles SE
Jake'S Atop The Midnigh
9.84 miles SE
Broken Boot Gold Mine
9.87 miles SE
Adams Museum & House
9.94 miles SE
Mount Moriah Cemetery
10.07 miles SE
Deadwood Historic Distri
10.86 miles SE
Sand Creek Rv Office
(888)238-5249
10.96 miles NW
Terry Peak Ski Area
11.25 miles S
Deer Mountain Ski Area
12.72 miles SE
Tri-State Memorial Muse
12.88 miles N
Hidden Valley Cg
(605)578-1342
15.63 miles SE
South Dakota
Spearfish
Most Recently Reviewed
Chris' Camp
Latest Review Submited On
2013-10-11 11:43:14
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Spearfish, South Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
The owners were friendly and accommodating. However, the RV park was "unkempt" and dirty looking. The grounds were not mowed with grass and weeds growing. Gravel drive and campsites. There seemed to be a lot of permanent residents in older trailers. Just not a place I would care to return to. I was there one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
Centennial Campground is a nice little park, conveniently located on a frontage road right off I-90. The staff/owner couple were very helpful. For example, when I asked if they knew where we could drop off the recycling we'd been collecting for several days, the lady owner went above and beyond by calling around town to try to find us a drop off center. And the man owner came out to help us level our RV. Very friendly owners, super nice. The campground itself is a big, grassy, flat field. Very pretty. There are a few full timers here but it was 90% empty when we were here. We were the only non-full timers when we stayed. The laundry is fine and was clean; 3 washers for $1.25 each and $1 for 50 minutes for the dryers. What I especially love is the way the owners have an honor system for using their laundry supplies. There is a little cup and they ask you to pay "20 cents for a cup full of detergent, 10 cents for a dryer sheet" etc. Just very home town and thoughtful. The bathrooms and showers are clean, maybe a bit old style but the owners add paper towels and nice smelling soaps to make it nice. This is a no-frills type place but very reasonably priced at $24 when we stayed. They don't take Good Sam at such a low price, I can't blame them. We stayed 2 nights while hiking nearby parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
228
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   10   7   7   8   10   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
We really like the friendliness of this park. We have stayed here in the past and would stay here again. Only problem is we went to the newer area with pull through this time and Wi-Fi did not work. This was very disappointing and I am sure if we would have complained they would have moved us to another site but after all we were camping and not in rig very much so not an issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This is a delightful place to stay. The owners and staff are terrific, they will help you with everything from tour planning to pet care. They make you feel welcome from the first step through the office door. The facilities are immaculate and obviously constantly maintained. They take no credit/debit cards, but your personal check is fine. I would never stay anywhere but here when in the area. We look forward to returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Wow, talk about a fantastic camping experience. As soon as we arrived a staff member selected a number of different sites in the campground and had one of her boys drive us around in a golf cart to view each of them. Once we chose our site he took us back to the office and we were told to go set up and then come pay later. The place is beautiful, the sites have large established shade trees and there's plenty of grass so that you can sit outside and enjoy. The pool and laundry room were excellent. We will definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Chris' Camp
Camp Information
Sites
222
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   9   8   10   7   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
Really nice upscale park. Nice level concrete sites with properly placed utilities. Wi-Fi was iffy especially when sending pictures. Bathrooms were spotless, roomy and private. Dog run a great plus. Could use an extra dumpster for the section to the left looking at the office. Check in was fast an efficient. A smile from employees would have made it perfect. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
This is right off I-90 at exit 17, but you can't hear any highway noise. Roads and pads are all paved. There is quite a bit of space between sites. Landscaping is beautiful, but the drought has hurt the grass between the sites. There are trees, but they are too small for shade. The cabins are beautiful, and the landscaping around them is amazing with plants and sculptures. Beautiful. The office is huge and sells beautiful gifts (no Chinese stuff here) limited food items, and alcohol. The wine selection is actually pretty good. Nice large pool area. Staff is great. Two large off lease dog runs. There is also a nature walk. This place is just 10 minutes to Deadwood and a perfect place to stay while visiting the northern end of the Black Hills. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Most of what previous raters said is correct. This is a very new park and the landscaping is immature. However, I did have a grassy site in spite of the previous observations. Dog park is excellent even for medium to large dogs. This is by itself outstanding. Now on the down side. The Wi-Fi is worthless and it is important to me as I work on the road. Also, there are only 4 washing machines and 4 dryers for a park that has over 200 slots. This can, and does, cause problems for those that don't have their own. This park likely assumed that, being a high end park with a high percentage of high end rigs, that they don't need more machines. For me, it's important. This could easily be a 10 rating but for the above limitations. We would stay here again. It is well run and convenient to all or most of the attractions around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Elkhorn Ridge RV Resort & Cabins
Camp Information
Sites
357
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   4   8   9   8   8   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We liked this campground a lot except that the sites are pretty tight. I bet it's pretty crowded in the middle of the summer. It's close enough to downtown to walk or bike. There are walking/biking trails following the creek throughout town. We saw deer running thru the campground numerous times. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
The park is very nice as far as appearance is concerned. There is a nice stream running along the park. There is a nice walking path adjacent to the park. The sites are shaded and offer full hook-up. There are six premium sites offered at an additional charge of $5 per night. These sites offer a longer site and more room between sites. We camped in a premium site and the nightly rate reflects the additional charge. I was disappointed in the site as it was not even close to being level. After many attempts to move the trailer around the site to find the best level, I finally achieved a spot that only required 2 1/4" of boards on one side. So, if you choose a premium site and don't have jacks, bring some lumber. In addition, there is only one Wi-Fi antenna and it is at the office. So if you are not parked next to or very near the office, your signal will be poor if you are able to receive a signal at all. If you plan to use the Wi-Fi, my advice would be to get a site near the office and avoid the premium sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Nice large sites. Easy in easy out. Located downtown within easy walking distant. Quiet and dark in the night hours. WI-FI worked great. Cable TV with all the channels. Would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Spearfish City Campground
Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$57



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   9   9   8   7   8   3   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$57
This was quite a disappointment. Sites were very narrow as well as the access roads inside. Amenities were on up to the fees charged. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$95
The Staff was able to juggle us in the week before "Sturgis" festival,Since everything was booked. The park is beautiful and well kept. Plenty of activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
Here is one of those almost perfect campgrounds, but the bar is set high if it is a KOA along with the high fees. In the case of Spearfish KOA this is a fine example of where expectations, fees, facilities, and services are all in-line and acceptable. Unbelievably friendly owners/managers. All aspects of the Spearfish KOA are impeccable other than the fees perhaps being high or not in the budget for some if not many campers (one reason, but certainly not the main reason, a large family such as ours camps is to be more economic when traveling and vacationing). The stout KOA fee structure is the only negative especially when we start getting whacked with the extra person fees on top of the nightly fees. Most definitely the place to camp if en route along the I-90 corridor through South Dakota to other locals for example in Wyoming or Montana,but would also be a perfect place to camp if you were staying in the Black Hills for a weekend or week to see all the incredibly beautiful sites of the Black Hills, SD. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Spearfish KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com