206790 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.93 miles NE
8.93 miles NE
16.20 miles SW
17.69 miles NW
18.10 miles NE
19.20 miles SE
20.35 miles NW
21.73 miles S
21.86 miles SE
21.86 miles NE
23.46 miles SW
25.26 miles NE
25.68 miles SW
26.29 miles SW
30.12 miles NW
32.43 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Brass Lantern - Gatlinbur
0.13 miles SW
Heidelberg - Gatlinburg
0.25 miles E
The Peddler
0.27 miles SW
Guinness World Records
0.28 miles NW
The Race Track
0.33 miles NW
Fun Mountain
0.33 miles NW
Gatlinburg'S Sky Lift
0.39 miles NW
Park Grill - Gatlinburg
0.54 miles SW
Maxwell'S Beef And Seaf
0.54 miles SW
Ober Gatlinburg Ski Reso
1.14 miles NW
Open Hearth - Gatlinburg
3.94 miles NE
Great Smoky Mountains N
4.09 miles S
Shady Oaks Cg
(865)453-327
4.23 miles NW
Rpi- Tn Mill Creek Resort/Cg 449 W Mill Creek Rd Pigeon Forge Fcfs
4.34 miles NW
Dollywood
5.29 miles NW
Old Mill - Pigeon Forge
5.68 miles NW
Apple Tree Inn
6.22 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
1414 Parkway
7.05 miles NW
Eagle'S Nest Cg
(800)892-2714
7.40 miles NW
Creekside Rv
(800)498-4801
7.65 miles NW
Applewood Farm House
8.61 miles NW
Smoker Holler Cg
8.85 miles W
Oconaluftee Indian Villag
17.15 miles SE
Tennessee
Great Smoky Mountains National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Cades Cove Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2012-05-08 16:08:12
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee
Camp Information
Sites
159
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   4   7   10   9   10   8   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  yes  yes  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  no  no  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
If you want a campground that offers level sites, many in good shade and a most unique atmosphere then this is the place for you. Know this -- there are no hookup in all but 2 sites. There is fresh water available at each bath house and each loop has 2 bath houses. You will not get cell phone reception. Your laptop aircard will not get you online. You will (most likely) wake up to the sounds of a tom turkey calling his hens. You will probably get a little tired of seeing deer. We did not encounter any black bear and we got up early and stayed out late looking for them. My son was most impressed by the multitude of young people and how friendly everyone acted. A great campground for kids, adults, the young-at-heart and others. If you like amenities and pools and playgrounds and rec rooms, this is not your campground. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
This is a great campground. It's not for RV people who need their hookups and electricity. They have two sections, one allows generator use, the other does not. I stay in the non-generator section and it's very quiet. On weekends, people just driving through stop and make a mess of the restrooms, but the rest of the time they are clean. The best time to camp here is September through May. The summer is very crowded and you are more likely to experience noise, trash, dirty restrooms, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Wow. I look at the previous ratings and can tell some reviewers are letting the emotions get ahead of reality. Yes, Cades Cove is simply beautiful, the animals (bear, fox, owls, turkey, deer, etc.) are abundant and fascinating to observe. Everyone should visit this place at least once in their lives. But it's time to review the campground, and it was pitiful. The good news is that the bathrooms were clean, and there are three dump stations to accommodate traffic. Picnic tables were new. However, the roadways in the CG are in poor condition with potholes, disintegration, etc. Speeding on the outer loop of the non-generator area back to the group campsite is a serious problem. We easily estimated people driving 40 MPH at times, with children and pedestrians everwhere. Never saw a ranger patrol the area over two days. Park was far more concerned about confiscating ice chests from campsites (bear safety) than about high speed travel. Campsite was hemmed in by artificial concrete "logs", making it feel stuffy. Asphalt simply "ended" while backing into our site in an irregular, broken maze and off into gravel and crumbly asphalt we parked. Site was not level in any direction. No showers, (and with no hookups and lots of tenters, well, I'll let you imagine). Being Cades Cove, and being summer (the place was packed with people), one would expect evening campfire programs every night. There was only one, and it rained that night. Very disappointing. We were especially disappointed with Cades Cove when we visited Cosby CG at the other end of the park and compared it to Cades Cove CG. Cosby was totally renovated with perfect campsites. Enjoy the Cove, the horseback riding, hiking, and biking. But be prepared for a campground in need of modernization and speed enforcement. We would not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Cades Cove Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
220
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   7   8   10   9   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
We had family from Switzerland with us and had a large group of kids. This place was a blast! The younger kids were told about the Junior Park Ranger Program and we were on! Very educational ranger programs and lots of things to do! All the rangers were very helpful , knowledgeable and friendly! Can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
We arrived late one evening, got our site set up and drove into Gatlinburg to gather some supplies. Gatlinburg is kind of like a beach boardwalk, so it may or may not be what you enjoy. Even in the middle of July, the humidity was very high. It rained all 3 days we were there, so we never really felt dry. The campers beside us gave up and went to Knoxville. The river/stream is awesome. It has a good flow rate, and generates a nice sound when sleeping at night. We let the kids float part of the stream on some tubes. They loved it, but the water is cold, so have some nice big towels to bundle them up in when finished. The shade is very dense in the park due to the amount of very large shade trees. The restrooms were cleaned daily, but there are no showers in the park. I loved the park, but the damp/wet weather made our trip a bit difficult. If you had a few days of clear and dry skies, this might be an almost perfect place. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
No hookups whatsoever are available. Clean restrooms with flush toilets and water is available throughout park. No showers but you can take a dip in the river which runs through the park. Don't use soap in the river! Portable showers are not allowed in the park either! Construction is taking place just outside of camping area but it is quiet at night. The construction appears that it will be completed before winter. Lots of improvements such as paving has been done this year throughout the GSM NP. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for Elkmont Campground (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com