206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Hohenwald, Tennessee (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
18.86 miles NW
20.88 miles SE
24.46 miles SE
29.96 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
608 E Main St
1.20 miles NE
Tt Tn Natchez Trace *Ta (Naco) 1363 Napier Rd Hohenwald (C 10/31-3/30) 931-796-3211,Ttnlt
9.10 miles SE
Rpi- Tn Natchez Trace *Ta (Naco) 1363 Napier Rd Hohenwald
9.10 miles SE
Tennessee
Hohenwald
Most Recently Reviewed
Natchez Trace Thousand Trails NACO
Latest Review Submited On
2012-10-28 17:21:38
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Hohenwald, Tennessee
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
This campground is not the easiest to find, signage from the road is very poor and major roadworks alongside the campground did not help. As mentioned before the hook ups were very strange, the placement of the water and electric was not logical. There was a dump station and we had 50 amps at our site. Set on thirty acres with a lovely walk to the creek. Easy access, gravel road with a grass pad, long pull through so no need to unhook the towed, big rig friendly. Plenty of space around the RV, lots of grass and shade trees. It was very quiet at night but come the morning the road works started up at 6:15 am. The campground had few RV’s and what were there was mainly permanent residents, probably the major road works had scared everyone else off, we were there for only one night. The bathrooms and laundry were very bad and needed a major update. Wi-Fi and cell were both good. The owners are both friendly folk, and have a small restaurant on site which is open for three nights during the week. This campground has great potential if the owners desired to develop it. We would probably stay here again, once the road works have been finished. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
Strange hookups, electric on one side, water on the other, sewer almost too far away. Open field parking, with pretty little trees planted (will be nice when they mature)...Owner friendly, although directions were incomplete. Had to use my 50AMp to 30Amp dogbone to hookup, don't know if it was just my site or all. Right off the Trace, may it real handy. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
This place was one of those that is a newish campground that might not look like "wow" but what great people and this was one of the best times we had on a 3 week trip. Though we weren't there on the night of the fish fry, there were enough people that the owner had an impromptu one. Great company and we would stay here anytime coming up the Natchez Trace. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
November 2012
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
This a wonderful clean quiet campground, with widely spaced sites, picnic tables, fire pits and water available. Good selection of hiking trails and the information display at the museum is very well done. Don't miss the cemetery. One of my favorite campgrounds and it is free. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
We stopped at the Meriwether Lewis campground around noon and boy were we lucky to get a site. This campground is free (one of three on the parkway) and they were paving one of the two loops so campers could only camp in the first 15 sites. I have read before that the “snowbird” Canadians drive up the trace heading home and that they take most of the sites sometimes even doubling up and even save sites for their friends. I can’t believe the NPS allows this! There were only three sites left and fifteen minutes after we were settled five other RVs rolled in. Two of them could not fit in the remaining two sites so they moved on. All sites were taken within fifteen minutes of us getting here yet during the rest of the day others kept on driving through – 10 of the 15 sites were Canadians. There is a big parking lot with restrooms, water and picnic tables that they use for an overflow area. No electricity but it is free and very peaceful! Really enjoyed the drive today once we got on the trace – so relaxing especially since not one other camper or car was heading south everyone else was heading north! This was just a one night stop for us but we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$1
This park could have a bunch of ratings (other than the 8 out of 10 we gave it): Access - 6 because it is out of the way. Unless you are a local, it is in the middle of nothing. Nothing? you say? How about the Natchez Trace? Well, we were underwhelmed by the sights to see. Also, the park is old and roads are a little tight, but our 38' motorhome did fine. The sites are huge. They advertise that there are back ins only and 15X30 site sizes. Not so...there are plenty of pull-thrus for large rigs. Cost - 10; It is FREE! Yes, FREE! Ambiance 12 (out of 10); It is a lovely park...large oaks, quiet...there were never more than 6 occupants during our 4 day stay. Facilities - There aren't any; just water fountains spaced throughout the park, and a bathhouse. To sum, I would definitely come here again If I were going to be in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Meriwether Lewis
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   9   10   10   8   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$1
From the previous reviews this sounded like a great place to stay. There are 32 sites, lots are pull throughs, we walked the campground and found only two sites that might take our 40 foot motor home. The first site we could not get our slides out, the second site was marginally better, and after a lot of maneuvering we did get our slides out. It was a challenge with so many trees and low hanging branches, the sites were not huge nor were they a breeze to park a big rig in. It’s a pretty campground, no amenities, but there was a new and spotlessly clean bathroom, and of course it’s free. There seemed to be a lot of junky cars, tattered tents, old RV’s and someone living in a van. There is a 14 day stay limit, but it looked as if many of these folk had been there for a long time. In the short time we were there a couple of RV’s drove through and exited very quickly. We did not feel at all comfortable staying there, so moved onto a better campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$0
Great campsite for free. No sign up, just pull into an empty site. Very quiet and dark without the annoying security lights of RV parks. Good hiking trails along with the interesting Meriwether Lewis monument and pioneer cemetery. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
This campground has just been redone with newly paved roads and pads. The Restrooms looked like new and all the tables and benches were new this spring. PRICE $0 as in NO CHARGE! Can't beat that. Beautiful wooded setting, lots of space between campsites. Many pull through sites that make parking with a big rig a breeze. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Natchez Trace Parkway / Meriwether Lewis Campground
Camp Information
Sites
494
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   3   6   8   5   5   7   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$3
Roads are in disrepair. We camped in off season and very few people here. We are part of zonecamping and the cost reflects that. The lady at the reception area could not have been any friendlier and was that way on the phone when we set up reservations. Top of the Natchez Trail and offered lot of privacy since very few people was here. Will return. No 50 amp service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$5
Arriving at Natchez Trace Thousand Trails. One exits the parkway and immediately comes to an 11 foot overpass. However, a sort of bypass has been created that gives plenty of clearance. One eases off the pavement onto the gravel beside the road, drives through and then back up onto the road. Once you arrive at the campground and check in you are still a mile and a half or more down a rather worn-but-paved road to the primary Thousand Trails campground. This is away from the pool, mini-golf (needing lots of TLC), tennis courts (needing even more TLC), camp store, and other facilities. However, a quarter of a mile from the actual campground there’s a nice facility called the “Town Hall” which is where a lot of activities happen. A portion of this facility falls under the KOA umbrella. KOA customers can’t use TT campsites and TT members can’t use KOA. None of the KOA sites offer sewer hookups or are close to the lake. Also, there are lots of cabins, so with nice views of the lake. No TT traveler need to expect a lakeside campsite. Those spots are all taken by annual users who have old contracts that pre-date the merger of NACO and Thousand Trails. It may be worth noting that none of the occupied prime lakeside sites have sewer hookups. The rule of thumb is “sewer site=no lake view.” Of course, there are seasonals and annuals occupying many of the full hook up sites too, but if one arrives during the week and not in the middle of a busy weekend they have at least a fair chance of snagging a full hookup/30 amp site. I can’t imagine this place ever being clear full. There are lots of nice campsites for people who are satisfied with a water/electric site. Some of those sites aren’t suitable for a bigger rig, but many of them are. This place clearly needs upgrading: primarily road work, more full hook up sites, 50 amp electric (there’s none), and fresh gravel on the sites. One surprising plus is good Wi-Fi. My Verizon phone signal has been rather poor, but using my Wilson Sleek signal booster it is usable. To us, the draw here is the campground’s being so close to Natchez Trace Parkway. I don’t see it as a destination park aside from it being a good spot to let the kids have freedom to roam and enjoy the playground or simply as a place to enjoy some downtime. I know efforts are being made to catch up on various maintenance concerns and increase the appeal of this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
Apparently this is one of KOAs newest parks. Don’t know how KOA ever approved this mess. Difficult to get to. A mile to get to the KOA sites from the office (it’s still also a Thousand Trails campground). Low electric voltage; no cover on the 30 amp plug, and no outlet switch – switch is live all the time. Low water pressure. No sewer at the site. Poor TV reception – only one network channel. The only positive was very good Wi-Fi. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Display older reviews for Natchez Trace Thousand Trails NACO
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com