223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Hohenwald, Tennessee (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
18.86 miles NW
20.88 miles SE
24.46 miles SE
29.96 miles NW
31.02 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
608 E Main St
1.20 miles NE
Rpi- Tn Natchez Trace *Ta (Naco) 1363 Napier Rd Hohenwald
9.10 miles SE
Tt Tn Natchez Trace *Ta (Naco) 1363 Napier Rd Hohenwald (C 10/31-3/30) 931-796-3211,Ttnlt
9.10 miles SE
Tennessee
Hohenwald
Most Recently Reviewed
Fall Hollow Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-16 21:52:11
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Hohenwald, Tennessee
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$25
The campground is right off the Natchez Trace Pkw. Very easy on and off. Large pull through sites. Good electric and water, no sewer. We stayed 3 nights. The campground hosts were very friendly and informative. My only complaint is the Dump station is on an incline with low hanging trees. I did not want to use the dump station with my 13'2" fifthwheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
Nice large non-designated grassy areas with full hookups. By "non-designated" I mean you can park in any direction close to the hookups, to try to get level. The owner/managers are very nice and cordial. Excellent location just off the the Natchez Trace Parkway. Power and water were good with easy access. The sewer location was odd. Ours, which we didn't use, was under our rig by the time we leveled parallel to the campground interior road. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
This campground is not the easiest to find, signage from the road is very poor and major roadworks alongside the campground did not help. As mentioned before the hook ups were very strange, the placement of the water and electric was not logical. There was a dump station and we had 50 amps at our site. Set on thirty acres with a lovely walk to the creek. Easy access, gravel road with a grass pad, long pull through so no need to unhook the towed, big rig friendly. Plenty of space around the RV, lots of grass and shade trees. It was very quiet at night but come the morning the road works started up at 6:15 am. The campground had few RV’s and what were there was mainly permanent residents, probably the major road works had scared everyone else off, we were there for only one night. The bathrooms and laundry were very bad and needed a major update. Wi-Fi and cell were both good. The owners are both friendly folk, and have a small restaurant on site which is open for three nights during the week. This campground has great potential if the owners desired to develop it. We would probably stay here again, once the road works have been finished. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fall Hollow Campground
Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$65
I spent a great 6 days there. Although I didn't have a horse to ride their trails, there were many day riders and campground people that did and raved about them. I spent my time in two of their cabins and enjoyed my stay a lot. They offered a breakfast which I tried and enjoyed. Good place to check out if you are in the area. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$0



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$0
This campground was great! If you want solitude, level sites, nature sounds to lull you to sleep, this is the park for you. First night, shared the park with 2 other campers in the other loop closest to the restrooms. Didn't even know they were there until kids rode by on their bikes. Clean, large sites, beautiful scenery, a great park for a few day boon-dock stay. Definitely will return. On a cautionary note, there was a reported, but unconfirmed by officials, sighting of a timber rattlesnake. So, wildlife is present. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$1
This is an excellent FREE National Park campground along the Natchez Trace Parkway with paved sites, widely spaced, many pull through, all situated in a beautiful wooded setting. Rest rooms were modern and clean. Water taps were available in the campground but no dump station is provided. Verizon cell and data signal were available (3G) but not super fast. Very few sites were occupied when we visited in early May. If you like camping without hookups, this is as good as it gets. Each site had a picnic table, fire ring and NPS allows you to scavenge for campfire wood. Excellent visitor center and Meriwether Lewis monument adjoin the campground. Rate entered as $1 because $0 not an allowable value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
This a wonderful clean quiet campground, with widely spaced sites, picnic tables, fire pits and water available. Good selection of hiking trails and the information display at the museum is very well done. Don't miss the cemetery. One of my favorite campgrounds and it is free. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Meriwether Lewis
Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$26
Natchez Trace KOA is not a typical KOA. It seems like they have partnered with Thousand Trails who sells camp sites in the Natchez Trace Wilderness Preserve. KOA people check you in, give you a map that shows the section where they have 81 KOA sites of the advertised 653 sites, and they tell you "take any one". It is a mile or so over broken, pot holed asphalt. Up on a ridge. Far away from the lake, store, facilities, amenities. Sites are water (20 PSI) and electric (106 volts under load), concrete patio, table, and grill. Wash-outs are common and can make site access difficult if not impossible. You can see that the effort to develop this place was a long time ago and nature has taken its course since then. As an overnight stop with laundry, it was acceptable for us, with no car. To stay here for any period would require a golf cart, car or truck. In this way you could get to the good stuff to offset the negatives. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   9   10   10   8   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$1
From the previous reviews this sounded like a great place to stay. There are 32 sites, lots are pull throughs, we walked the campground and found only two sites that might take our 40 foot motor home. The first site we could not get our slides out, the second site was marginally better, and after a lot of maneuvering we did get our slides out. It was a challenge with so many trees and low hanging branches, the sites were not huge nor were they a breeze to park a big rig in. It’s a pretty campground, no amenities, but there was a new and spotlessly clean bathroom, and of course it’s free. There seemed to be a lot of junky cars, tattered tents, old RV’s and someone living in a van. There is a 14 day stay limit, but it looked as if many of these folk had been there for a long time. In the short time we were there a couple of RV’s drove through and exited very quickly. We did not feel at all comfortable staying there, so moved onto a better campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$0
Great campsite for free. No sign up, just pull into an empty site. Very quiet and dark without the annoying security lights of RV parks. Good hiking trails along with the interesting Meriwether Lewis monument and pioneer cemetery. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
This campground has just been redone with newly paved roads and pads. The Restrooms looked like new and all the tables and benches were new this spring. PRICE $0 as in NO CHARGE! Can't beat that. Beautiful wooded setting, lots of space between campsites. Many pull through sites that make parking with a big rig a breeze. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Natchez Trace Parkway / Meriwether Lewis Campground
Camp Information
Sites
494
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   6   3   6   8   5   5   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$1
Rate reflects Thousand Trails member rate. IMPORTANT: as noted in other reviews, you need to be very careful getting to the campground from the NT Parkway as we saw 2 folks have issues - when you get off the parkway there is an 11 foot overpass that has many RV roof marks on it... It is super simple to avoid though as just to the left is a dirt "bypass" with 13 foot+ clearance. The campground itself is a typical NACO park in that everything is rustic and spread out. The roads are worn-but-paved. There are nice facilities including a pool and mini-golf that has been refurbished, tennis courts (too worn to use), camp store, and other facilities. Also there’s a nice facility called the “Town Hall” which is where a lot of activities happen. Many of the campsites are unsuitable for large rigs but we did not have an issue as it was not very full. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$3
Roads are in disrepair. We camped in off season and very few people here. We are part of zonecamping and the cost reflects that. The lady at the reception area could not have been any friendlier and was that way on the phone when we set up reservations. Top of the Natchez Trail and offered lot of privacy since very few people was here. Will return. No 50 amp service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$5
Arriving at Natchez Trace Thousand Trails. One exits the parkway and immediately comes to an 11 foot overpass. However, a sort of bypass has been created that gives plenty of clearance. One eases off the pavement onto the gravel beside the road, drives through and then back up onto the road. Once you arrive at the campground and check in you are still a mile and a half or more down a rather worn-but-paved road to the primary Thousand Trails campground. This is away from the pool, mini-golf (needing lots of TLC), tennis courts (needing even more TLC), camp store, and other facilities. However, a quarter of a mile from the actual campground there’s a nice facility called the “Town Hall” which is where a lot of activities happen. A portion of this facility falls under the KOA umbrella. KOA customers can’t use TT campsites and TT members can’t use KOA. None of the KOA sites offer sewer hookups or are close to the lake. Also, there are lots of cabins, so with nice views of the lake. No TT traveler need to expect a lakeside campsite. Those spots are all taken by annual users who have old contracts that pre-date the merger of NACO and Thousand Trails. It may be worth noting that none of the occupied prime lakeside sites have sewer hookups. The rule of thumb is “sewer site=no lake view.” Of course, there are seasonals and annuals occupying many of the full hook up sites too, but if one arrives during the week and not in the middle of a busy weekend they have at least a fair chance of snagging a full hookup/30 amp site. I can’t imagine this place ever being clear full. There are lots of nice campsites for people who are satisfied with a water/electric site. Some of those sites aren’t suitable for a bigger rig, but many of them are. This place clearly needs upgrading: primarily road work, more full hook up sites, 50 amp electric (there’s none), and fresh gravel on the sites. One surprising plus is good Wi-Fi. My Verizon phone signal has been rather poor, but using my Wilson Sleek signal booster it is usable. To us, the draw here is the campground’s being so close to Natchez Trace Parkway. I don’t see it as a destination park aside from it being a good spot to let the kids have freedom to roam and enjoy the playground or simply as a place to enjoy some downtime. I know efforts are being made to catch up on various maintenance concerns and increase the appeal of this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Natchez Trace Thousand Trails NACO
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com