214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Albany, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
22.38 miles E
23.90 miles SW
29.86 miles SE
30.64 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Ft.Griffin Spcg
13.86 miles NE
Texas
Albany
Most Recently Reviewed
Fort Griffin State Park & Historic Site
Latest Review Submited On
2013-06-28 00:27:46
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Albany, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
November 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
Good pull through site for one night. Level site with good power. Minimal noise even though close to US-180. Washer and drier in motel building. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
This is a very nice little park located in an area that has few options to offer. Sites are a bit short, and would probably require many motor homes with a toad to unhook. Otherwise, very adequate with some shade at each site. Much more quiet than we expected, given the proximity to main highway. Staff were very friendly. Hookups all worked fine. Great spot to spend a couple of days and see the area. The town is a mixed bag of contrasts. Excellent art museum, but few restaurants. Nowhere to buy decaffeinated coffee but a great group of shops along the main drag. Go figure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
It's clean, level and very easy to maneuver into and out of. If you need a spot for a night or two this is a good place. Albany offers a few interesting shops and is one of the cleanest small towns in the state. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This is no longer a Texas state park but has been turned over entirely to the Texas Historical Commission. They have spent a lot of time and money to update the facilities. Sites are large, gravel and level. The utility pedestals are new and in the correct spots. Each site has a fire ring, pedestal mounted grill and picnic table. The power was strong and dependable. We only used 30 amp but I think the full-hook-up sites had 50 amp as well. The grounds were kept in pristine condition and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a nice playground for the kids. The park is big rig friendly. Ft. Griffin is off the beaten path, therefore, it is very quiet and relaxing. Albany, 15 miles away is a very neat little town of historic significance. It has a world class art museum and some very good restaurants. If you are in this area this is a very worthwhile stay. The price reflects the $4 per person entry fee plus the $22 camping fee for two persons. The Texas official Longhorn cattle herd is located here and can be often seen grazing from the full hook-up sites. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$15
Excellent WTX, weak over-the-air TV, NO cell reception - you have to go to Albany about 15 miles south to get a signal. VERY poor shore power (site #5) and our friend (site #3) said he also had serious power fluctuations - I worried about brownouts but everything "seemed" to work alright. Birding and hiking very good. Ruins of Ft Griffin can been hiked to. Part of the Official State of Texas longhorn herd is here (others are in San Angelo SP). Parks touts itself as the second darkest sky sight in Texas and we saw folks with telescopes camping. Staff very friendly and courteous. If you stay, I recommend a day trip to Albany which has an excellent art museum (free admission) that everyone should see. Great story on the history of the museum and how the town got it's name. As with all Texas state parks, buy an annual pass and you will save $$$ in the long run. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
A nice secluded little park near old historic attractions. Very little shade. Due to the current monetary situation of Texas state park system, the park personnel are keeping the place in pretty good shape. We will definitely return when in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com