224343 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Big Bend National Park, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
24.80 miles NW
24.80 miles NW
Texas
Big Bend National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Rio Grande Village RV Campground--Full Hookups
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-19 16:03:57
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Big Bend National Park, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$14
Rate is full rate for dry camping. Senior Pass is $7 per night. Excellent tent campground. Fair campground for small pop-ups, travel trailers and motorhomes. Pull-through sites are really just parking along wide spot in road. Road side slides may not work. Small rigs only. Though some up to 30' will fit a few spots - they won't be level. No real level RV parking anywhere in campground. There are no showers available at any NPS campground in Big Bend NP. Only pay showers at Rio Grande Village. The scenery, and cooler weather in summer, makes Chisos Basin worth a visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$4
Extraordinary views surrounding campsite. Well worth the winding road into campground. Suggest you arrive in daylight because the campground is laid out curiously. Many spots are tight to get into and not very level. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$7
This campground has generator use areas, but if you're trying to get in there with anything over 30' forget it. The road is fine, but the sites are small and even 30' would be pushing it. On the plus side, it is up in the basin and close to hiking. They have wi-fi up in the lodge, and restaurant and bar service are available up there. Paved roads and gravel sites. Make reservations to insure you get a site that's big enough for your rig, and you can run a generator if you need it. Also remember that it's 10-15 degrees cooler up there than the Rio Grand campground. Note the price was with the 50% senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Chisos Basin Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$7



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$7
This is the place to escape the hustle and bustle of the big cities (even the small towns). Just a few yards from the Rio Grande, this no-generator campground is ideal for bird watchers and folks just wanting to relax. Thankfully, we stayed in a site shaded by large cottonwood trees. Daytime highs were in the upper 90s with lows around 70. Our fellow campers were quiet. The campground gets lots of day use from birders. Some may intrude on your site but most respect the invisible boundaries. The price reflects the National Park Service's Senior Pass rate (50% off). We'll definitely return, ideally when the temps are a little more moderate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$7
Nice Park Service campground, but there this is a no generator restriction for the whole campground. Not all the sites are big enough for a big rig, and it's a first come first served campground. It's a long way in to find that you won't fit anywhere. There's no phone and no wi-fi available, but there is good access to the west side of the park. You might consider camping just outside the park in some commercial parks if you need hook ups and big rig access. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
This is the place to come if you want to get away from it all. Cottonwood is in the southwestern corner of Big Bend. There are no hookups and no generators are allowed. The toilets are pit-style. There is drinking water. It's well shaded with tall cottonwoods and has picnic tables. It's very, very quiet. We saw a pack of javelinas grazing near an unoccupied campsite. There's a store with camping supplies and food a half-mile away. It's a great place to see the stars. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$7



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   6   9   8   8   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$7
No hookups but a section of the campground does allow generator use from 8am - 8pm. Sites are large and most have some shade for part of the day. Very windy and dusty. Wind storm came through one night and dust stayed in air for 3 days. Plenty of trails to explore in park but most are located away from this section of park. Campground is right next to Rio Grande River. Some illegal entry apparent - trails around campground have Mexican crafts available with 'donation'. I encountered some crossing river to check on their 'donations' but did not feel threatened by them. Pay showers available at the store - $1.50 for 5 minutes and laundry available at the store as well. Other campgrounds in park do not have showers available. Despite what some might feel are inconveniences, Big Bend is a must see Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$7
$7 per night was for a primitive site at the Rio Grande Village campground using the Golden Age Passport. Dirt/gravel sites are mostly level. Each site has a picnic table and BBQ grill but no wood fires are allowed - ever. Heavy vegetation surrounds the campground and there are spectacular views throughout the 800,000 acre NP. If it’s a clear night, the sky is brilliant with stars. It’s over 60 miles to the nearest town so stock up on supplies before arriving. There are a couple of camp stores if you’re stuck for something. They have a surprising selection, and gasoline/diesel is available but prices are, of course, higher. If you like hiking there are many miles of trails within the park. Biking is allowed on the many roads that allow vehicles. Spacing between the sites is very generous. There is no cell phone reception at all. Good Wi-Fi is available at the camp store. No OTA TV. There is an open-for-about-a-year border crossing into Boquillas, MX which takes you to the town where there are about 150 inhabitants. All the information you’ll need for a visit can be obtained at the camp store or visitor center. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
This is an oasis in the desert. Lots of nice shade trees and grassy areas. Generators are allowed from 8am - 8pm, except in generator free zone at the far end of the campground. The alternative RV park with hookups is literally a paved parking lot with tightly packed spaces and 90 degree back in spots. Dump station is nice but was a challenge for a 43' RV. . We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Rio Grande Village Campground--No Hookups (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   6   6   5   5   5   7   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2014
$38
I've stayed at Rio Grande Village RV, and the RV park in Lajitas. If your trip to BBNP is primarily going to consist of visiting the Chisos Mountains portion of the park, I recommend you stay at Lajitas instead - it's a few miles further away from the Chisos than RGV, but it's got better facilities. So - RGV RV park. It's a small, narrow parking lot. We had trouble backing our 32' trailer into our slots, because of the trailer across from us. Some of the 40+ foot RV's had even more trouble. Full hookups. it is conveniently located to see all of the eastern parts of the park. There is a small convenience store with a nice range of stuff you might be missing, a laundromat, and a gas station that requires you to leave your credit card with the cashier even though you're a paying RV park customer there for the week. We had no Verizon phone coverage in the park. The store has wifi, and with my Crane USB wifi antenna I was able to pick it up in the RV park. Fairly fast, 4 Mbp/s down, 1 Mbp/s up. The RV park is near the eastern trails. We visited the Boquillias Canyon trail, Ernst Tenaja, Hot Springs, Pine Canyon Trail, and the self-guided nature trail that takes you onto the bluff overseeing the river. It's a big park - be prepared to drive a lot. Do not try to drive down the dirt roads unless you have a high clearance vehicle. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
We did not stay at this park, but wished we would have. I couldn't get reservations. This is just 30 yards from the river, so you're staying in a riparian ecosystem, but this is also close to Daniel's Ranch which is a birders' paradise (peregrine, vermillion flycatchers, even some ducks). We inspected the hook-ups and nice roomy sites, all paved. Sites 1-12 are on the river side, the rest of the sites are on the bird side. The river side does not have a view of the water, but of the growth by the river. This is a beautiful site and lots of wildlife, for this area. But you have to make reservations early. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$38
Large asphalt parking lot with FHU. Located on the Rio Grande River border. Good location to check out the National park. Everything is a distance and very primitive. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Rio Grande Village RV Campground--Full Hookups
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com