224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Canyon, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
20.90 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
2309 N 3Rd Ave
0.24 miles NE
Panhandle Plains Historica
0.41 miles SE
West Texas A & M Univer
7.20 miles S
West Rim Cg
7.47 miles E
Amarillo (1)
9.15 miles N
Southwest Golf Course
10.55 miles N
Palo Duro Airfield
12.21 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
4610 S Coulter
12.35 miles N
Jack Sisemore Traveland
13.08 miles NE
Buns Over Texas
13.46 miles N
Tradewind Airport
14.13 miles NE
David'S Steaks And Seaf
14.41 miles NE
Ruby Tequila'S Mexican
14.53 miles NE
Cadillac Ranch
14.61 miles NW
Amarillo (2)
14.82 miles NW
Cattle Call Restaurant
15.44 miles NE
Sams Club 2201 Ross-Osage Dr (Located To Street)
15.62 miles NE
Amarillo (3)
16.95 miles NE
Amarillo Truck Center 8007531556
17.03 miles NE
76 Travel Center
I-40 X74
17.13 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
I-40 Exit 72B
3700 I-40 E
17.19 miles NE
Flying J
I-40 X76
18.41 miles NE
Texas
Canyon
Most Recently Reviewed
Palo Duro Canyon State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-23 03:40:15
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Canyon, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
Unknown
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$15
We wound up at this campground after being evacuated from Palo Duro Canyon State Park because of an uncontained grass fire. The owners were very friendly and helpful and kept the office open late to accommodate us refugees from the State Park. It was nine at night but a young man offered to guide us to our site and make sure we got hooked up all right. I did not find the park to be the horror the previous poster claimed. I did not use the restrooms, and I did not see garbage piled up. We did see some broken sewer caps. The office building is run down, but we felt it more important that we were treated kindly and were not taken advantage of in a difficult situation. Bottom line is that the place is in need of some upgrades and maintenance, but it was quiet, and we would not hesitate to stay here again. The grounds were easy to maneuver in our 37' fifth wheel, and we had a great Verizon cell signal. We got a discounted fee I assume because of the late arrival and short stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
We ended up here for one night after heavy rain closed campground access at Palo Duro State Park. This place is next door to the park. The sites are behind a dilapidated building housing an across-the-canyon zip line. The camping area is a grassy field, with old electric pedestals, some of which appeared broken. Many sewer covers were broken. The bathrooms were filthy. There are no shower facilities. Garbage is piled next to two small containers at the corner of the main building. We were glad to leave for our park campsite the next morning when the road was finally accessible. Avoid this place for camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
114
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   10   9   8   7   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$35
There are 3 campgrounds in the park. We camped at Mesquite , which is the most remote and the furthest into the park, but I think the prettiest. Great hiking at many trails within the park. The sunrises and sunsets provide a spectacular show on the canyon walls. The full hookup campsites in mesquite are level, large, and have a covered picnic table. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2014
$30
This campground was on my wife's bucket list. Its billed as the 2nd largest canyon in the US and the Grand Canyon of Texas. While the topography was beautiful, the park was difficult to negotiate as the roads were narrow and steep, and Still only 1/4 repaired from the floods in March. There were 3 "water crossings" where you literally drove through the streams, being cautioned to observe the water level indicators so as not to go above your "safe water level". We observed several motorcycles declining to cross and a Prius watched us cross before following. I would not want to be in this park when it rains. Evidence of large earth moving equipment having scooped copious quantities of mud away from the roads was everywhere in the Mesquite campground. The alt 5 road was still washed out and closed. Rigs wider than 8 feet were "discouraged" from using the temporary bridges which were extremely tight (10 feet wide) for distances of well over 50 to 100 feet. Numerous gouges and paint scraping were apparent on the sides of the temp bridges. All this being said, it is a beautiful park with a wonderful, colorful history. Electrical Power was good as was water pressure(a bit high). The gift shop/museum were great and very tastefully done. The sites were long in Mesquite CG but very sloped. The coyotes were in full voice the 2nd night we were there so watch your pets. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$34
We camped here for three nights in the Hackberry section. This section is before any of the creek/river crossings. Bridge construction closed one end of the loop. The sites 1-9 had a nicer view, especially 7-9. Those sites also had fewer trees and seemed to have more space. Site 19 had just enough space for us to almost open our awning fully. The picnic table is located in the back. The bathhouses were well maintained except for one broken light on the women's side. I was told by the volunteer that the light was broken. Therefore, the bathhouse was pretty dark inside at night. The trails are great hiking. The store seemed to be well stocked. Meals were also available there. Internet is available at the park office but Verizon phones required a drive out of the park and down the road a few miles. We were able to get radio and satellite TV in our campsite. The park is used by many locals for hiking, running, and cycling. The park is very well run. There was always a ranger, volunteer, or host available. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Palo Duro Canyon State Park
Camp Information
Sites
71
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   9   5   5   5   6   7   8   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2014
$25
Host was friendly. Sites were ok, but the big negative is that traffic noise was so loud that it was hard to sleep. Wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Nice little park for a visit to Palo Duro State Park. Management very friendly. Tried to get us into a shady spot, but the trees came down too much so they tried to cut off the limbs to help us. Could get very tight if they were completely full, but otherwise good sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
This campground pretty much like the other reviews have stated - basic parking spot with electricity that is convenient to Palo Duro Canyon. Sites not too crammed together. Reasonable rate. We got in late the evening we arrived and didn't end up hooking up due to the wind/rain storm that was going on. Park management was nice enough not to even charge us for that night. Would recommend it as a overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Palo Duro RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com