214551 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Fort Davis, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
27.66 miles NE
28.18 miles SW
29.30 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Fort Davis National His
7.43 miles SE
Historic Prude Ranch Hwy
(432)426-3202
7.75 miles SW
Texas
Fort Davis
Most Recently Reviewed
Fort Davis Motor Inn
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-23 13:51:29
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Fort Davis, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   8   10   5   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
We were in the full hook-up section which had cable TV which is really nice! Water pressure was good as was electric service. However, sewer connections were above grade and unusual. Good birding location with two bird blinds with water features. We had a pair of elf owls visit our campsite (number 6) for 3 nights in a row at dusk which was a big hit with us and our fellow campers. Excellent food at the Black Bear Restaurant at the Lodge. Each staff member with whom we had contact was absolutely great. We plan on returning! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Full hookup with cable sites available as well as just electric/water. Full hookups were all pull-through sites with nice picnic tables. Most had some shade available, but a few were without. Park is very convenient to McDonald Observatory and I would strongly recommend a visit to the facility. I attended an afternoon tour of facility and the Star Party offered 3 nights a week. What fantastic presentations for both programs. You do have to drive up a winding road to get there - it's the highest road in Texas - but it's well marked. Quite a few trails to hike at the park but my time was limited and I did not get to enjoy any of them. Two Javalinas walked through the campground one evening, helping themselves to any food left out. They were not intimidated by people nor were they aggressive toward people standing nearby to take photos. Park was clean, bathrooms spotless, ice and firewood available although fire restrictions at time of visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Excellent home base for McDonald Observatory and Ft. Davis State Park. Local grocery is limited and fuel is sparse, so be prepared. Sewer hook-up was difficult with the closure they had and not below grade level. Wonderful hiking areas and a nice drive loop and the scenery and 'quiet' were amazing! Must be close to sender for WiFi but is possible. Sites were mostly level and somewhat shaded. Would certainly stay here again if in the area......who needs a 'resort' when good enough will do! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Davis Mountains State Park
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   8   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$12
This really isn't a typical campground. Rather it is 20 sites for parking behind the motel units. That said, it is not an unpleasant place to stay. There are no amenities to speak of but what they offer is good. We have 50amp service, fresh water, a good sewer hookup and some 40 channels of cable, although some of them are snowy. Wifi is erratic so we are using our jetpack. We are a big rig but backed into site #4 quite nicely. This is a quiet place to stay and explore all Fort Davis and Alpine and Marfa have to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Great park, easy pull through sites, shady spots and awesome views. Plenty of birds here in April, lots of critters came up to the trailer. I had a deer stare at me from 5 feet away. There were lots of doves and hummingbirds around my site. The restaurant at the Indian Lodge was great. The park has friendly staff and good food. (I recommend the cheese enchiladas, yummy). The only internet connection I could find was at the Indian Lodge, so be sure and take your laptop when you eat. The cell service was best when I drove up to the scenic overlook. The cell tower was at the top. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
We camped here for a week using it as a base to see Fort Davis, Alpine, Marathon, Marfa and Balmorhea. We had 46 cable TV channels, although some were snowy. We were in site four and had excellent WiFi reception. Staff very friendly. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fort Davis Motor Inn
Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   9   2   9   8   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Nice campground for a few days. We were here to visit MacDonald Observatory and Marfa "lights". Internet good. Cable good. 50A only so bring 50-30A pigtail. If necessary, camp manager in Site #29 will loan one,. Fuel before arriving, perhaps Pecos or Fort Stockton, if coming from the East. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
This park has a new owner/manager who is very friendly & helpful. The roads & sites are gravel. Each site is wired for 50 amp. If you have a 30 amp unit, the park will loan you a 50-30 amp adapter if you don't have one. The voltage was excellent & the Wi-Fi worked well. The bath house is very clean & contains 2 women & 2 men shower rooms. Each room also contains a lavatory & toilet. The laundry room was very clean. Most of the sites are pull-thru of sufficient length to stay hooked up to your trailer or toad. The few long term sites were very clean. The entire park appeared very neat & clean. The credit card machine was being repaired during our stay, so I paid by check. We will definitely return when in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We stayed here three nights and would highly recommend this campground. The spacing between campers is good. The spaces are level with good hookup locations. Grass, some small trees, gravel roads in good condition, and a great picnic table on a slab with a cover (very nicely done). Good laundry and bathrooms. Owner and camp host friendly and helpful with things to see and do in the area. Easy walk to downtown Ft Davis (about a mile). Don't miss this one, we'll stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for MacMillen RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   6   4   4   8   1   6   2   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$16
Office was not open when we arrived at 11:00 am. Campground was small and in need of some TLC. Weeds, old cars, and old mobile homes made me feel like we were staying in an old trailer park instead of an RV park. Confusion on my part led to sarcasm from person who finally arrived late to open the office. I felt like I was interrupting his day by trying to check in. Good location, in the center of town, but will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
Older park in the middle of town. OK for the couple of nights we spent there, but other than a place to park not much to offer. Sites were small, but the one next to us was left empty so not overcrowded. Hookups have been upgraded and work well. Machines in the laundry are old and don't work all that well. Price seems high. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
Positive things first: Owner is a cool guy and gave us good advice where to go in town. Rates are cheap, WiFi was working excellent and all in all we felt comfortable on this campground. On the more negative side: As someone mentioned before, the park could use some maintenance and a little more attention. Laundry is equipped with quite old machines, bathroom/restroom is a bit shabby and it seems it doesn't get cleaned daily. Also there's only one bathroom for each men and women. And last but not least, the office is open a bit irregularly which can be a problem if you desperately need something - like quarters for the laundry. Bottom line - not my first choice but still ok for a couple of nights if you're looking for an affordable place with wifi and laundry. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Display older reviews for Overland Trail Campground
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
December 2009
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   8   8   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$10
This is not an RV park, but is a working Dude Ranch that has a number of RV hookups available. It's quiet, scenic and the staff is friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi is weak, but you can sit in the office and get a good signal 24/7 if you need it. We were there in a slow time of the year and had the whole place to ourselves. Bathrooms were tired and spartan, but clean and well supplied. Easy to get to town, the MacDonald observatory, the historic Fort Davis, the beautiful State Park and other locations. Would stay here again without question. PPA rate one night only, We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$19
Restrooms and showers were not so clean. Sites are narrow, way too close together. Wifi available at office sometimes. I was told they had 50 amp sites only to arrive and find only 30 amps. They mainly cater to those seeking a Dude Ranch experience. This was a quiet park because this is their off-season. It is centerally located between the beautiful little town of Fort Davis and the Mc Donald Observatory. It is also close to Davis Mountains State Park, and Alpine and Marfa,TX. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
This is a nice place to stay while touring the Davis Mountains. This is a working ranch so there may be some ranch odors, if the wind is in your direction. The swimming pool is covered and very nice. I did need to come to the office for the wifi, but I could work in the office area any time of day. The staff is friendly and helpful. No meals were available because they didn't have that many peple staying on the ranch at the time we were here. I will stay again when I'm in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Prude Ranch
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com