214670 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Galveston, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
11.72 miles NW
11.92 miles SW
12.73 miles NW
14.29 miles NE
18.36 miles NW
18.71 miles NW
18.71 miles NW
21.96 miles NW
22.85 miles NW
23.65 miles NE
30.39 miles NW
30.51 miles NE
33.62 miles NW
38.86 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Merchant Prince
0.61 miles NE
Center For Transportation
0.64 miles N
Luigi'S Ristorante Ital
0.67 miles N
Strand Historical Distric
0.79 miles NE
The Elissa
0.79 miles NE
Galveston'S Texas Seap
0.92 miles NE
Bishop'S Palace
0.96 miles NE
Texas A&M University At
1.18 miles NE
Gaido's
1.33 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
6702 Seawall Blvd
3.11 miles SW
Air Galveston Flight Cent
3.49 miles SW
The Garden - Galveston
3.72 miles SW
Moody Gardens
3.74 miles SW
The Colonel
4.36 miles SW
Galveston Municipal Golf
5.12 miles SW
Galveston Island Spcg
11.92 miles SW
Gulf Greyhound Park
11.97 miles NW
Sandollar Rv
(409)684-2197
13.57 miles NE
Bolivar Peninsula Rv
(409)684-0939
13.87 miles NE
Bass & Bat Cg
15.86 miles NW
San Leon Estates Rv
(832)428-5031
16.46 miles NW
Texas
Galveston
Most Recently Reviewed
Jamaica Beach RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-12 02:20:40
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Galveston, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
84
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   1   6   7   4   9   5   5   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  no  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
We are here in a 45ft coach with 4 slides. There is plenty of room in site 32 and its right by the water. The other sites are smaller, but not bad. Its a great park and I was pleasantly surprised after reading bad reviews online. The employees are friendly. The only complaint I have is that there is dog poop on the grassy areas, but that caused by disrespectful campers that don't pick up after their pets. It would be hard for the park to monitor and police all pet owners all the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2014
$37
We were supposed to stay here 4 nights but checked out after one night. The sewer connection was open and about 18" above our sewer outlet so no gravity flow to drain tanks. There was an open sewer connection for the next site right outside our entry door with spilled sewage around it. The electrical box for our hookup had the ground wire dangling from the box and not connected and there were wires uncapped coming out of a conduit right next to the water connection. There was also dog feces right near our walk path to get to our door. The manager was totally unresponsive when we told him about the issues and of course refused to issue a refund. We had read some other reviews about the park but thought it couldn't be as bad as reported but found it to be worse. Don't stay at this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2014
$37
Sites are extremely narrow. With our slides open we were right up against the hookups for our site on that side and only had about 3 feet from our door to the next sites sewer connection. Sewer connections were open and appeared to have some spillage around them. We don't have pets but park must be pet friendly as "deposits" were in several places on our site. Site is grass and dirt. There were deep ruts due to mud when last renters were there. Due to issues with hookups and condition of site we left first thing next morning as soon as we could locate another park. Office person was unconcerned with our issues and refused to refund the remaining nights we had paid for. It was worth the money for us to move. Will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Bayou Shores RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   10   10   9   7   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
I called from the road and the ladies were very kind and found us a site for 10d ays with a great attitude. Upon arrival and after setting up, we walked down to the beach and it was horrid with seaweed. Now, this is no fault of the RV park, so we toughed it out. Apparently this has been an ongoing problem for the whole city since April, and it is really smelly! We did not get any beach time, and coming from CO that was disappointing! They do try and move it around, but it is still there. We did enjoy the city attractions, movies about the city, shopping, walking the Strand, Pleasure Pier, and delicious restaurant foods. We even brought some shrimp home with us frozen....for this winter in CO. The staff was friendly and kind, the park was clean, laundry was inexpensive (($1.25 wash, $.75 dry) and everyone there we met was friendly. Overall I would return, but will check in advance next time to assess the beaches. I suspect this park is amazing when the seaweed is not visiting! I would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
Excellent park! We had a spot that backed right up to the ocean. Lots of stuff to keep the kids entertained. The park was clean and easy to get to. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
This was a nice park, right on the beach, great showers, friendly office people, and a small store. We stopped for one night, after getting set up and taking it all in we went back to the office and stayed for a second night. One night was not going to be enough. I can't say enough for going to sleep with the sound of the surf. I'd come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Dellanera RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
August 2008
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   9   8   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
My understanding was that the sites were right on the beach, but they were not. They were certainly within walking distance (over a bridge over some dunes), but they were not "on" the beach. Make sure that you bring LOTS of bug spray, as the mosquitos were horrible. The inner loop sites have the picnic tables on the back side of the rig, while the outer loop sites have them right out the door, so consider that when choosing a site. Restrooms were fairly clean, but there was a line for the showers in the evenings, since there are no sewer hookups and most everyone wants to conserve the space in their tanks. There was also a line at the dump station when we got ready to leave, so keep that in mind when deciding what time to load up. Overall a nice enough stay, but next time we will look for a place with full hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Nice location right at the beach with spacious sites. You could not be closer to the beach. This is what we like about the park. There are also nice hiking paths on the other side towards the bay. Clean rest rooms and very friendly and helpful stuff. However they need to improve the fire sites. Not all sites have grills anymore and the fire pits cannot be used for grilling since they don't have grids. Also some of these pits are are 1' to 2' deep. Watch your little children. Another weird thing: The shelters are on the left side of the parking strips. But since we have small popup trailer I always turn the trailer 180 degrees with the tongue facing in. This is very easy since the sites are level. I just prefer my door and awning facing the campsite. And bring your own fire wood. The park ranger do not sell wood. The camp hosts sometimes do have wood. But not always. I also could not find any wood in the stores close by. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Very nice park even though there are no trees. Plenty of space between sites. Walk to the beach. WiFi works, but slow. Stayed 3 days and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Galveston Island RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   6   6   8   8   6   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
Another great Texas State Park. There are two camping areas, Beach and Bay side. We stayed four nights in the Bay side and glad we did. Very windy and I'm guessing very sandy on the beach, not so much on the bay side but still had a nice water view. The showers are in the tent area, a few minutes walk from the RV area. The shower/rest rooms looked new and very nice. The park gates are closed and locked from 10pm to 7am but campers are given the lock combo in case you need to come or go during that period. The Bay side campground is very quiet. The Beach campground is right next to the main road and I suspect pretty noisy. It's about a 10 minute drive into town. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This park has two different sections. On section is beach front and the other is on the bay side of the island. We chose to stay on the bay side since I hate the corrosion problems that result from staying too close to the waterfront. The bay side sites are in a wagon wheel configuration, have no shelters or shade and are water and electric. We used the day use area to access the gulf to go swimming. The day use area has toilets and outdoor showers to get the sand off when you leave the beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
Lovely campsites with shaded picnic tables on the Gulf side. Wi-Fi access was recently added. AT&T cell phone reception was decent. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Galveston Island State Park
Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   8   10   9   8   8   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$43
While this park offers good pools, free movies at night and the staff was friendly, it had more negatives than positives for us. We were placed on back row next to horse stables, had several neighbors that looked to be full time - not quiet to the junky stage, but getting there. The one next to us had 3 vehicles that made our site seemed smaller than it was. The sewer stub was too high for our discharge so I had to get out, lift and jiggle the sewer hose occasionally - my response to the explanation that the "code" required the sewer stub to be 6 in. was that the pads should be higher. If you plan on doing Galveston, be aware it is a 15-20 min. drive. There is nothing around the park but beach homes and the beach. We paid to play their mini-golf at night, but lighting was so poor we could not see most holes. We will opt for one of the parks actually in Galveston for our next visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$43
This is decent little park. The sites are a little close together, and really not much of view as you are quite away from the water. Especially if you are on the bay side. The patio is nice, but a bit on the small side. The pool is nice, and is a "walk in" type. That is where there is no raised edge on the side, allowing you to pull lounge chairs into the shallows and sit partially in the water. A nice touch to keep cool. There is a swim up bar, bring your own drinks. They had an exercise room, but it was stacked with boxes and the equipment was broken. The owner said it would be fixed in the future. I would look at other parks in the future to be a little closer to the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Friendly staff and right across the road a wonderful stretch of beach. About 20 min. drive into Galveston that has any services you would need. If you love the beach and want a quiet place, this place is excellent. Would stay here again. A few full timers and workers, but not enough to ruin the atmosphere of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Jamaica Beach RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   9   10   10   9   10   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
Very clean park, as close to the beach as possible. You can see the waves breaking from your RV window. Some sites don't have a view but most do. The sites are level with full concrete pads. Very clean functional hookups, and the Wi-Fi is spectacular. The pool and hot tub area is worthy of calling this a resort. Park is far enough from the touristy stuff but still right on Stewart Beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
All cement sites and roads and GREAT Wi-Fi! I thought we had found the perfect 10 park on the beach, but alas, some failings. They have a push button system in the showers so the water shuts off every 60 seconds. I would rather pay into a machine than that. At least you get water for 5 minutes! One of the showers I could not get hot water so had to switch. I didn't find the staff particularly friendly. The other drawback is that we weren't able to enjoy the pool hot tub area two of the evenings. The first evening a couple of families from the area came . And the 2nd night, the park I assume had let the girls softball team have a party. I think they should have told us. When I asked the next day, front office guy said he didn't know anything about it. When we checked in, we were given a bunch of codes to "prevent the local KIDS from using the pool in the evening" there is no code for the pool gate and the locals know it. Someone is around in the evening because they shut the gates at 10 and turn off the music. I think they look the other way or those people are their friends. Very off putting. Now that we have done the touristy history stuff of Galveston, we would go to the other end of the island in the future. This place does have the best location. Access to beach wonderful. And like I said one of the strongest consistent Wi-Fi we have experienced. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$38
This is a very nice park. You can walk to the beach, but it's far enough not to get sand in your RV. It's close to "the strip", and many great places to eat. The Stop, and Big Daddy's Gumbo on Post Office street had great food. We really enjoyed this park and will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Sandpiper RV Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com