214532 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Gonzales, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
16.50 miles NW
17.49 miles SE
24.01 miles NE
26.04 miles NW
29.07 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
"Elks - E(50),W,D - Elks Children'S Svc"
9.72 miles NW
Rivershade Rv
(830)437-2428
11.06 miles W
Luling
13.30 miles NW
River Bend Cg
15.75 miles NW
River Bend Rv
(830)875-9548
15.94 miles NW
Texas
Gonzales
Most Recently Reviewed
Palmetto State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-18 14:18:07
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Gonzales, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   10   10   8   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
This park is not a destination, but it is a very good place for a night or two. The sites were well kept and neat,the electric and water pressure were low but useable. Very good wi-fi ,tv reception and cell phone (verizon) .The RR and Shower were old and needed a good cleaning,didn't use them. The laundry was OK,$1.00 / machine. Management was great, very nice, but there were no discounts PERIOD. Easy to get to and leave and we will be back in our 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$28
This is a very basic campground but the gravel pads are level and it is quiet (there are lots of trees around). The Wi-Fi is the best we have had since we left home at the beginning of November. The couple that own the park are very friendly. This was a one-night stop over for us and we could come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
I totally agree with one of the other reviewers, the Wi-Fi is one of the "best" we have had in an RV park. The owners as others have stated are great people, with a very good set of people skills. We stopped here planning on staying for two days and extended it to four. While there we had the pleasure of meeting the parents. It is easy to see why the kids are so easy to get along with. The campground is a work in progress and still needs more work but as new owners they are trying. If you are passing through the area please give this park a try, I don't think you will find a much more friendly place to drop your jacks.There is more than enough Texas History in this area to keep you from getting bored. The $14 fee reflects Passport America discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Hill Shade RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
19
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
A surprising little park. We chose this park because we knew the state and city parks in the area would be full due to the TX State Jr Hi Rodeo finals going on. The entrance/office is plain, but when you enter the campground you are under huge pecan trees with green lush grass growing down to the river. About half the sites were occupied by permanent residents (the new oil boom in this part of Texas). The only way to get satellite service is to run about 100 yards of cable to get out from under the tree's canopy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$16
The park is on the Guadalupe River, next to the H-5 dam. Great fishing, boating, and siteseeing. 18-20 miles south of I-10. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   9   9   9   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
Arrived well after dark, and the road from Luling to the park is a dark, narrow road. But, we had scoped the park earlier in the teip, and knew where we were going. Sites are asphalt paved and easy to back in to. Level, although we saw one site on a significant slope. Perfect utilities. Camp host registered us with no hassle. Beautiful tropical forest setting. Had to leave early because of an emergency. Will return again one day to see the CCC structures and hike the wide, beautiful woodland trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
This is a very nice, green, and shady park! It offers camping, picnicking, hiking, biking, swimming, fishing, playgrounds, and boating. For boating, you can launch your own, or rent one from the park store, which offers canoes, kayaks, and pedal boats for use on the lake. The store also rents inner tubes for floating on the San Marcos River, which runs through the park. The park has many trails available for hikers and bikers. It also has structures that were built in the 1930’s by the Civilian Conservation Corps, and an informative and scenic interpretive trail. There are a wide range of accommodations ranging from tent sites with water only, RV sites with water and electric, 1 full hookup RV site, and 1 mini-cabin. Some sites are very level, while others have a slope. Water and electric supplies are good. On the technology side, we received a few over-the-air TV stations, from Austin and San Antonio, but they were weak. Also got weak 3G cell phone service from Verizon. The park was quiet and peaceful, even on a holiday weekend, and it's sites are very shady to help keep you cool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
Just an overnight stop for us and I called from San Antonio to make sure they had vacancies in the RV area. Lady who checked us in was very nice and let us pick our spot (from her computer screen) We had a nice site with trees on one side and a large field and trail on the other side. Enjoyed walking some of the trails by the river and a very peaceful stay despite being only a few miles off I-10. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Palmetto State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com