219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Mathis, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.60 miles SW
20.30 miles SE
22.31 miles SE
23.95 miles NW
28.64 miles NW
33.01 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Mathis Motor Inn
(800)251-7531
1.03 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
I-37 Exit 14
3829 Us Hwy 77
18.37 miles SE
Texas
Mathis
Most Recently Reviewed
Mustang Hollow Campground (formerly Lake Corpus Christi Mathis KOA)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-05-28 19:26:58
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Mathis, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   8   8   2   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
Rate reflects weekly rate. To call this a resort is a bit of a stretch. The office staff were very friendly. We noticed quite a bit of noise at night from the highway nearby. The washrooms and showers are in a trailer and are basic. The water is from a well and smells terrible, although they said it was fine for showering. We were given plenty of bottled water for drinking and cooking, and it was replaced whenever we needed. We were advised by the office and some of the residents not to use the laundry there as the clothes would be ruined. The garbage was picked up daily. The sites were gravel with a bit of grass near, were fairly level and wide. We stayed here as we wanted to tour around the Corpus Christi area, and it worked out well for our purpose. I would stay there again if the well water was better. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$32
Well run park with pull-through spots. Managers were knowledgeable and very helpful in locating a good place to eat and fuel. They have an RV store with many items and a repair place also. They give you a gallon of water and you can get more. There was cable, and my Verizon WiFi worked well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
This is a great park for an overnight stay, close to IH 37, but not a lot of highway noise. Some construction and pipeline folks stay here, but the spaces are large and well spaced (although they are gravel). The park has well water, and they tell me it does not taste too good, but we did not use it. They did provide a gallon of water at check in for coffee and drinking, a nice touch. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Adventure Texas RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   5   7   8   9   7   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$18
The sites here are a little close but we did meet friendly neighbors. There was a lot of trash in the brush behind our campsite. The cardinals, green jays, and squirrels were entertaining. There are no bike trails in the park but plenty of paved roads to ride on. They are in the planning stage for bike and nature trails. Lake Corpus Christi is down about 26 feet according to the locals. Mathis is close by and has an HEB grocery. We had lunch at Smolink's BBQ and thought it was very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
Good experiences. We had an awesome spot; however, due to no rain in Texas, there was no water to enjoy. We had plenty of room outside and enjoyed the full hookup. There was an HEB nearby to shop, but unfortunately not a lot else to do, but it was very relaxing and just hung out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$16
All RV sites are pull-through, no internet, showers in the full hook-up loop but no showers in the E/W loop, 1 dump station, tent camping. Sites are not necessarily level even though they all have concrete slabs. All sites have a picnic table (most covered) and ground level BBQ/fire pit combo. Interior roads are paved and in excellent condition. $16/N for E/W, $20/N for E/W/S, plus $4/day/person park access fee. As the campground surrounds a lake, fishing (no license), biking, swimming and canoe/kayaking (no rentals) are possible. In the village of Mathis (5 miles) there is a small HEB grocery store as well as gas stations that sell diesel; Corpus Christi is a 45 min drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Lake Corpus Christi State Park
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   4   2   6   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2014
$16
I did not actually stay overnight in this park although that was my intention. I pulled in, drove through, and pulled back out again. It appeared to be rundown with a few long term RVs disintegrating on site. I generally have excellent luck with Passport America parks...this was an exception. Although it might be okay for an overnight if you are exhausted, I wasn't so I chose to leave. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2011
$16
Rate is daily rate for 50 amp FHU pull thru site with PA discount. Roads and pads are dirt with small amount of gravel, though the road and parking area in front of the laundromat which is in the center of the park is paved. No shade. Site was long enough that we didn't need to unhook the toad. This is one of those parks that when you drive up you think, do we really want to stay here. And while it is rundown, it still makes for a convenient, inexpensive overnight stop with reliable hookups if that's all you're looking for. But if the rundown look turns you off, it's definitely not for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2009
$13
This is a Passport America Park . The man in office is friendly, however, the park is filthy. There is trash every where - not bags of it, but soda cans smashed into the dirt as well as all manner of candy wrappers, gum, etc. There is still the laundromat in the center of the RV park, and it is open 24/7 and very busy. However, to us that was a lot less distracting than the bugs and dirt. There were black beetle looking bugs that were 2 inches long running everywhere - yuck! There is a pool, but it was closed for the winter - but when I looked at it it was green and tons of bugs were floating on it as well as leaves and twigs. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mathis Motor Inn & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   2   9   8   3   2   7   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Rustic campground. Nice folks in the office. Level gravel, with table and tree, fire ring. Good bathrooms. Two toilets and three showers at the upper area. There are three other bathrooms down by the lakeside sites; but the roads down there very rutted. Wi-Fi very slow; no cable TV. Roads badly rutted. We had a nice big site in front and couldn't see the permanent trailer park further toward the lake. Pool too cold for me. Bathrooms old, but clean. Very little highway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2013
$37
I need to reiterate an earlier review. Although the staff is friendly, this is NOT the place to stay if you want a good night's sleep! Start with loud diesels coming in and out of the park until after 11 PM. Follow that up with a 4:30 AM train that sounds like it is coming straight at you. Should you be able to fall back asleep, you will be awoken at about 5:30 with more diesel pick ups running up and down the road as apparently these people are leaving for work. The one next to us "warmed his truck up" for about 30 minutes before pulling out. We will definitely not be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Our truck broke down again and we sat on the side of the freeway for 2 hours. Eventually, we found a KOA nearby and asked if they could help. The husband of the work camper couple came out, hooked up our trailer, and towed us to a beautiful site overlooking the wildlife reserve and pool area. We ended up staying 2 nights while figuring out what to do with our truck. We felt welcomed right away. Yes, there are a lot of permanent residents there, but the park was clean and inviting. There are several wild birds, including peacocks, walking around and they will even stop to pose for a picture. I am so grateful for all the help and hospitality we received from this KOA. We will stay here again when traveling through this part of TX. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Mustang Hollow Campground (formerly Lake Corpus Christi Mathis KOA)
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
April 2010
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$11
This is a family owned RV park located at the entrance of the Lake Corpus Christi State Park. It is a small and very neatly maintained park with full hookups. We stayed a relaxing 2 weeks here. The Nueces River runs along the back of the park. The office and park store services the area and the State Park by providing fishing supplies and some groceries. They only rent pads for 1 week or longer stays at $75.00 a week plus electricity or $180.00 a month plus electricity. We had very good Verizon cell phone and internet signal. Direct TV had a good signal and also regular TV stations of NBC, CBS, CW and ION channels. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   9   7   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  no  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$13
Nightly rate is monthly plus metered electric divided by 30 days. Entry road is a little rough, but it is paved. Roads in the park are gravel or dirt and dusty, but easy to get in and out of sites. Big rig friendly. Nicest staff you will ever meet. Lots of year-round residents, but lots of pride of ownership and no junky sites whatsoever. Constant new projects while we were there, including new dog park, new shower/laundry building, and adding about 50 new sites that should be ready by summer 2014. Many activities including bingo, guitar groups, exercise groups, pot luck dinners, nice library. Lots of campers have golf carts. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Good size sites at this park. Roads are gravel and dusty. Love the people here. Has an activity hall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
This is a little piece of heaven that has been secretly kept quiet, just like its serene peaceful surroundings. Everyone treats you like family. We will definitely come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Wilderness Lakes RV Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com