218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Perryton, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
33.18 miles NE
Texas
Perryton
Most Recently Reviewed
Shady Acres RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2012-08-31 18:17:19
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Perryton, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Green Acres is a good example of a park that doesn't have all the amenities of some parks, but the staff is so very pleasant and helpful. Still they need to get a website!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$14
We stayed here for 3 months for work. It is one of two RV parks in town however the other is just a parking lot. The owners are great and very willing to help any time they can. I would not consider the park a "destination park" but its good for overnights, weekends to visit family, or to live in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
We have been here before and the park staff was very rude. This time they were as nice as we've ever seen. Park is very remote. Don't expect a TV signal or cell signal at all. Lots of places to swim in the lake. We fished for three days. We didn't see any fish big enough to eat but there were more than enough crappie and bluegill to keep my 6 year old tickled. Most sites are horribly unlevel. Ours (camp 3 site 9) was level side to side but was so unlevel front to back that the hitch was on the ground and the rear stabs needed 8 lynx levelers to reach the ground. One major con is that local kids will randomly show up behind your site and begin diving and swimming. Even if you are sitting there with hooks in the water. Park staff didn't seem to have a problem with it. Even though there is a designated swimming beach. Nearest fuel and groceries is 13 miles away in Perryton. There is a nice little cafe with a few food items at the park. Cafe is quite expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
This used to be a nice park, but now the emphasis seems to be on taking your money but not maintaining or improving the park. We camped there in a Fifth Wheel and tents, occupying 2 sites in campground 2. There were terrible ruts from previous rains, but it was hard and dry (at first) and very hard to level the trailer or find flat places for the tents. The charge is $16 a night for RV sites (a lot for public grounds in this area) $6 for tents, but no tents are allowed near tables, fire rings or water. (Strange). It began to rain the second day and within 30 minutes, because of a lack of proper maintenance it was a muddy quagmire. We called down to see if it might flood (this area is prone) and they said it might and we would have 40 minutes time to evacuate if they came by to tell us. We decided to go ahead and leave. Good things. If we had waited for a warning we could not have gotten out in 40 minutes. It was so muddy we sank 4-6 inches in mud, the tents were flooded and the roads were sticky, gummy clay. Maintenance would take care of that. Several other got stuck trying to leave and other campers had to pull them out. There was no sign of the deputy who lives on site and we were told he was at the Creek watching levels. (I left and never saw him here). We got out but had we waited we would had to have left our equipment behind and retrieve it later. The restrooms are fair but the showers are rather dirty (they used to be clean). I would not recommend this park to anyone anymore. Nearby at like Palo Duro near Spearman there is a fine park for $12 and $4 respectively and it is grassy, spotlessly clean and not prone to flooding. Black Mesa State Park in OK is nice too. Either are much better choices for your safety and recreational enjoyment. The people who run the lodge are quite nice and not a part of the problem. This is a county park and it is a county issue. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$16
This small, well-stocked fishing lake and county park is a peaceful surprise in the Texas Panhandle. Only about 10 miles south of Perryton, 94 campsites with electric and water hookups surround the lake, which is in a lovely creek valley with trees and canyons. Ask for a site on the south side of the lake and you may be right on the water, shaded by tall cottonwoods and elm trees. The campground headquarters, the Lobo Trading Post, includes a good diner-type restaurant. There is a bait shop near the boat dock and you can buy fishing permits in the Lobo. Two playgrounds are available, but most of the numerous kids in the campgrounds entertained themselves on inner tubes or anything else that floats. Skiing is allowed, but no jet skis. The campgrounds can be noisy (the 10 p.m. to 7 a.m. quiet time is not enforced) and some of the campsites are uncomfortably close together. But at anytime other than holiday weekends, you can find a campsite that is away from others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com